Old Country Motel

Old Country Motel

Old Country Motel Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 5.8/10
500 Cumberland Street North
Thunder Bay, ON P7A 4R8

Hotel Guest Rating for Old Country Motel in Thunder Bay

# 9 of 20 hotels in Thunder Bay
Based on 13 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Old Country Motel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 5.8.0
5.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.0.0
6.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.1.0
6.1
Check Rates and Availability at the Old Country Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Old Country Motel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Scott from Fargo, ND
January 7, 2015
Solo Traveler
9.0
The staff and owner were hardworking and accomodating, and the rooms were clean and well-maintained. Good value for the price.
The neighborhood could be described as "industrial," but that being said, there wasn't anything too crazy.

This is the classic "motor hotel" format, from the original motel era. That means you park right next to where you sleep. This was preferable to me, because I was on a motorcycle trip, and I would have been right there if something had happened to my bike. There is free WiFi in rooms, and it is walking distance from Tim Horton's. The exterior is visibly aged, but the rooms have been recently updated, and are well-kept. I would definitely stay there again. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Holly from Napanee, Canada
October 18, 2014
Solo Traveler
4.0
Staff was friendly, helpful.
The location was very inconvenient and in what looked to be a somewhat rough part of town. The traffic noise was loud. An over-powering air freshener made the room difficult to breath in.

It was exactly what I paid for. While the staff/owner was very nice and very helpful, the location was not at all convenient to the highway. The bed was comfortable and sheets/blankets clean.It was an okay place to stay for one night.

Solo Traveler
Jasen from Montreal, Canada
October 2, 2014
Solo Traveler
1.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Winnipeg, Canada
September 12, 2014
Couple
4.0
Door to outside is nice.
There were no blankets a sheet and what you would cover a blanket with, but no blankets. the "kitchenette" was a microwave and mini fridge.
Couple
Bruce from Duncraig, Australia
September 30, 2013
Couple
8.0
Intimate and good quality old style motel service.
Rooms a little small but nevertheless cozy.

Excellent old country service. Intimate. Very good value for money. Staff outstanding.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Park Rapids, MN
September 28, 2013
Couple
5.0
The guy running it was just lovely and friendly and helpful! And our bed was very comfy.
It was very old and out-dated, the rooms were tiny, and the kitchenettes were... kinda gross.

This place was cheap for a reason, but we were comfortable and the staff was great :)

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Tottenham, Canada
August 31, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
Nothing. It was very seedy, lots of people smoking outside, the druggie looking type. Did not look safe
Everything

Do not stay here, especially if you're a woman, alone or with children.

Couple
Jacqueline from Winnipeg, Canada
August 29, 2013
Couple
9.0
the staff was nice, room was clean, and the price was right.
small room
Solo Traveler
Steven from Port Arthur, TX
August 18, 2013
Solo Traveler
4.0

It was a hole. It was run by a hole. On the whole, it was not a good experience. It was not clean. It was not comfortable. The wi-fi was a joke. I'm not picky, but this was way beyond bad.

Verified Hotel Guest from Salem, OR
August 1, 2013
4.0
It was near the lake
The person at the desk was left alone with very little or no training. She was friendly and as helpful as much as she was able but definitely not ready to be on her own.
Reviews of Old Country Motel
(1 - 10 of 11 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Old Country Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.