Hotels in Halifax

The Westin Nova Scotian

The Westin Nova Scotian

The Westin Nova Scotian Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.9/10
1181 Hollis Street
Halifax, NS B3H 2P6
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Westin Nova Scotian in Halifax

# 12 of 34 hotels in Halifax
Based on 829 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Westin Nova Scotian
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Check Rates and Availability at the The Westin Nova Scotian
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Westin Nova Scotian

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Terrence from Riverview, Canada
April 16, 2014
Couple
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Charlottetown, Canada
April 15, 2014
Couple
5.0
Location
Rooms outdated.. Paper thin walls.. Could hear every conversation and every "personal moment" between couples in adjoining room! Our particular room smelled of cat urine

For this star rating.. Very surprised !!

Couple
Wendall from Moncton, Canada
April 14, 2014
Couple
5.0
We were going to Halifax for an appointment at the hospital. It was close to the hospital
The bed was very uncomfortable. I am glad we got a reduced rate, because it certainly would not have been worth---- that the direct number to the hotel was charging. There was only an office chair to sit in, other than on the beds.

For the price we paid, it gave us an inexpensive place to stay for the night. Would not like to be there for a week.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Dieppe, Canada
April 14, 2014
Group Traveler
7.0
It was a nice hotel and very well located downtown.
The room we were given had two double beds. I would not have thought that a 4 star hotel offered anything less than queen beds.
Couple
Leslie from Middle Sackville, Canada
April 14, 2014
Couple
8.0
This is our go-to site for booking a hotel downtown, and we always get the Westin. I like everything about the hotel.
They used to have a big water container with lime or cucumber or lemon in it with water. You could help yourself in the lobby. I haven't seen that in a while, and it was nice to grab a drink of water either heading out or heading in.

Great price and decent location.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Louisdale, Canada
April 10, 2014
Couple
8.0
The room in the old section was outdated and the fan was not working at it's full capacity. The walls were thin and I could hear full conversations of the rooms next to us.

We typically have a great experience, but will be requesting the new section next time. The man who checked us in did not go above and beyond, and we had to ask him for all the things that could/should have been offered to us, and typically are by the staff. Odd experience, different than all the times before.

Couple
Angela from Dominion, Canada
April 8, 2014
Couple
7.0
The staff is amazing! Extremely impressed with the odd request I had they went above and beyond when they certainly did not need to. Best staff I've seen at any hotel!!
No air conditioning. We like our room cold while sleeping. It was unbearable to sleep. The tacky floor fan they provided was not acceptable for a hotel of this class.

I can not say enough about the staff. Just completely impressed!! Just a shame I will not return because of the lack of air conditioning. If I can't sleep at the hotel, no reason to stay when there are plenty of other options in the same area.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Clark'S Harbour, Canada
April 8, 2014
Couple
10.0
n/a
room was good but small, outside the room on the wall someone spit blood on the wall we called front desk and they treated us like we was playing a prank on them and the blood was never cleaned!!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Tignish, Canada
April 8, 2014
Couple
4.0
we liked the fact that we could walk to local bars and pubs.
The walls are paper thin, I could hear all conversation in next room. Had to leave hotel to get a reasonably priced dinner. seriously 16$ for A hamburger, When just down the street we had 2 burgers,fries,2 beers and milk for 32$.

Friendly staff at front desk, nice lounge music, didn't offer free breakfast.Good thing for the weekend as parking was free out on the street. Unreasonable parking fees I thought.

Family Traveling with Teens
Anne from Sydney, Canada
April 8, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
Very friendly and helpful staff.
For the most part no.
Reviews of The Westin Nova Scotian
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Westin Nova Scotian
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg