The Varden Hotel

The Varden Hotel

The Varden Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.7/10
335 Pacific Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Guest Rating for The Varden Hotel in Long Beach

# 8 of 60 hotels in Long Beach
Based on 48 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Varden Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Varden Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Varden Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Ron from Encinitas, CA
March 16, 2015
Solo Traveler
9.0
Hotel was very clean .Great staff comfortable bed, small room ,but I knew that going in. It was a nice stay
Very small sink, glass shelf above the sink would get in your way trying to brush your teeth.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Santa Barbara, CA
March 10, 2015
Solo Traveler
8.0
The staff; the continental breakfast
The bathroom sink and shower were ridiculously small. There is no way a couple where one person is over 6' would be comfortable in a double bed. The shower was also extremely small. I felt like I was either in a inexpensive European hotel or in a train.

If you want a clean but no frills hotel for a short stay, this one is perfect. But you also need to be no taller than 5' 6".

Solo Traveler
Bernardo from Ontario, CA
March 9, 2015
Solo Traveler
10.0
Comfortable bed, one of the best showers i have been in, quiet, excellent staff, lovely all in all.
parking was a bit tight even for my small car.
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Chicago, IL
February 19, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
2.0
easy to find
1. room tiny.2. full size bed barely slept two.3. closet converted into toilet and shower. Sink in room with wire rod that purported to be closet rack.4. third floor walk up. no elevator.5. complimentary breakfast conceptual at best.
Couple
Terri from Indio, CA
February 18, 2015
Couple
6.0
The room was decorated nicely.
It is not in a desirable location. Did not feel real secure about leaving my car in their parking lot. Staff was very limited. One person was doing everything.No elevator. Room was tiny with limited space to set anything. Shower was very small.

Having lived in Long Beach I was shocked when I pulled up to the hotel. This used to be known as a live in hotel with not the greatest caliber of residents. The original signs are still on it which is the Dolly Varden???

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Pomona, CA
February 3, 2015
Business Traveler
2.0
The room are small and arrangement is awkward. The sink is in the bedroom and tiny....can't even brush your teeth unless standing at an awkward angle. The bed is pushed against the wall making it inconvenient for two people.

I like boutique hotels and have traveled all over the world, but this just isn't good value to me. Hotel staff tries hard, but cannot make up for lacking of hotel rooms. When I bid in Long Beach again, I'm going to not bid in the 3 star range anymore just to avoid getting the Varden.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Rancho Cucamonga, CA
January 5, 2015
Couple
10.0
The staff was so friendly when we checked in, and gave us tips about the area and the event. Fresh macarons and sparkling water in the room. Very small room, but just fine for a couple for one night, especially when we came for a NYE event.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from San Francisco, CA
January 5, 2015
Couple
8.0
Unique, clean, location, staff.
Very small rooms, but OK as we just needed a place to sleep not hang out in.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Riverside, CA
January 4, 2015
Solo Traveler
10.0
I was completely blown away by the level of service and the friendliness of every single staff member!! I felt like they would break out singing "Be our Guest" at any minute!! Love them!!
When I first drove up I was a little worried about the area. As long as I was inside I felt perfectly safe though.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from El Sobrante, CA
November 18, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0
Great Staff and wonderful owners, absolutely went out of their way to make us happy. Very European feel to the property and very handy as far as location.
The room was incredibly small, 10X18 outside of the bathroom and the shower was around 3X3. Just not a hotel you would spend much time in comfortably as you are on top of one another even as a couple.

It is truly a small boutique hotel. I can appreciate this if I was in town for a weekend of fun, but unfortunately I was in town on business and it was difficult to do any as space was very limited and there was no desk to speak of. Travel light as there was one drawer under the bed and no closet. I do not want to speak despairingly about this property as the friendly staff, cleanliness and great location work. As a business traveler for this weekend it was just not the property I should have reserved. ...read more

Reviews of The Varden Hotel
(1 - 10 of 36 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Varden Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.