The Sainte Claire Hotel

The Sainte Claire Hotel in San Jose

The Sainte Claire Hotel

The Sainte Claire Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.9/10
302 South Market Street
San Jose, CA 95113
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Sainte Claire Hotel in San Jose

# 3 of 56 hotels in San Jose
Based on 58 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Sainte Claire Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 9.5.0
9.5
Check Rates and Availability at the The Sainte Claire Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Sainte Claire Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Diane from Madera, CA
February 7, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
6.0
Location, friendly staff for the most part, comfortable bed, lovely lobby and great restaurant though expensive for what you get.
Carpets in hall and room were extremely dirty and old. Hotel smelled like marijuana the entire weekend. You could hear everything thru the thin walls. My television vol. was on #5 and a guard knocked on my door at 12:00 midnight to tell meit was too loud.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from San Francisco, CA
January 10, 2015
Solo Traveler
8.0
Top notch service. Everyone from bellman, car valet, front desk couldn't have been nicer
nothing. even the price was nice. the car valet price might seem high, but if you come and go more than twice a day, it's worth it.
Couple
Ryan from Edgewood, WA
November 18, 2014
Couple
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Carlos from San Jose, CA
September 30, 2014
Couple
9.0
Is clean and love the staf
Yes parking is too high

Love the location is nice and clean

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Concord, CA
September 21, 2014
Business Traveler
1.0
Great proximity to the SJ Convention Center.
Currently under construction (every other floor), drilling/ explosion noise starts promptly at 9am. Also at that time you may or may not get hot water (I certainly didn't). PHones don't work in the room, fixtures are old & chipped. Never again.

Hotel construction noise was never disclosed (it is jarring & starts promptly at 9am), no hot water for morning shower, no working phones in room (was that so we couldn't complain?), small room with over-sized furniture- almost as tiny as a NYC hotel room, carpet was wrinkled & stained and the shared portions of the hotel have a moldy smell. From the outside it looks lush, from the inside it's clear that the glory days are behind it and it hasn't been well maintained. Heed my advice and stay at the Fairmont instead (3 min walk), I wish I did! ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Jersey City, NJ
August 26, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
The Sainte Claire hotel was clean, the staff was helpful and accommodating. My room was tidy, spacious, clean and elegant. I used the fitness room which was also in very good condition. I would stay here again!
Parking in this area or for this hotel could be better. It is difficult to find a spot at a decent rate. The parking lot across the street charges $24 to park overnight.
Tianyu from Toronto, Canada
August 10, 2014
5.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Brooklyn, NY
August 9, 2014
Couple
7.0
Great location in downtown San Jose. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms on the 6th floor. It was well appointed; bed was very comfortable; great view of downtown San Jose and mountains.
The room in which we stayed was not the one in which we were originally booked. Our first two rooms were much older and the bath tubs were in desperate need of repair/replacement. The furniture was worn and the carpets were visibly dirty and stained.

We liked our stay and the St. Claire after we complained about about the poor state of our original rooms. St. Claire is an older hotel, which we didn't mind. We did mind being placed in obvious sub-standard rooms when we first arrived. For the price, the rooms should not be rented. The renovated area on the 6th floor is done well and should be the standard for the hotel. That aside, the staff is very courteous and helpful. Once they say our displeasure with our first room two rooms, they worked to satisfy us and keep us as clients. The hotel sits in a prime location. Most sites are easily walkable from the location and public transportation options are readily available as well. The hotel restaurant was a pleasant surprise as well. The food is really good and competitively priced. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Pfafftown, NC
July 17, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
The hotel staff are some of the nicest I've ever worked with, especially one particular lady at the counter who worked evenings.
All good. It is an older hotel but we had an updated room.

The walk-in shower is wonderful. Very comfy king size bed. Convenient walking distance to museums, entertainment venues and a few coffee shops/restaurants. Public parking lots convenient and reasonable.

Couple
Connie from Bakersfield, CA
July 14, 2014
Couple
10.0
Excellent staff..from check in to check out all were very courteous and made every effort to make our stay pleasant. The night desk lady even went out of her way to go downstairs to the staff lunch room and get us a diet coke at no charge.

Upgraded us from a regular room to a junior suite..really enjoyed all the old charm and characteristics of the hotel without it feeling old. Excellent water flow, air in the rooms worked well, huge big screen TV..all around great place to stay.

Reviews of The Sainte Claire Hotel
(1 - 10 of 36 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Sainte Claire Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg