The Monterey Hotel

The Monterey Hotel

The Monterey Hotel Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.8/10
406 Alvarado Street
Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Guest Rating for The Monterey Hotel in Monterey

# 15 of 64 hotels in Monterey
Based on 20 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Monterey Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.0.0
6.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Monterey Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Monterey Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Mary from New Berlin, TX
February 26, 2015
Couple
7.0
The historic feel of hotel / furnishings were Awesome / corner room w/ Fireplace was Wonderful  / large bathroom / location / clean
No help w/ luggage & No elevator to the 4th floor / parking to unload was bad too / front desk help was non attentive
David from Colleyville, TX
August 7, 2014
9.0
Proximity, historic architecture, cleanliness & location.
Room a bit small.
Couple
Henning from Rindby Strand, Denmark
July 30, 2014
Couple
8.0
Nice and central hotel. Could use a eskalator
Only stairs. No eskalator.
Couple
Eric from Playa Del Rey, CA
July 15, 2014
Couple
3.0
Location and that is it.
The exterior is charming, but don't be fooled. Elevators have not worked in months maybe even years. it's a little scary when the hotel leaves ear plugs on the night stand. for the money spent it was definitely NOT worth it. this is a---- room max.

the hotel has good location, but we were very disappointed with the overall presentation. our room did not have wifi. the bathroom needs to be updated, the tv is from the 90's maybe 15". the elevator's did not work, the tub needed to be cleaned, the shower water pressure was from extreme hot to cold, fluctuating back and forth. not all was bad. it has a old victorian style which can be charming, but for all the negatives we would NEVER stay there again. sorry but that's the truth 3 out of 10 for that price range. ...read more

Couple
Joseph from San Jose, CA
June 27, 2014
Couple
1.0
Not much really. It was just a bad experience from the beginning
Everything. Iron was broken, the room was old and crickety, it didn't have any good pillows, or real blankets, the parking system was terrible, and the breakfast they served in the morning was so cheap and gross. For what I paid for one night not worth it

It's just a bad place to stay at in general. I would not recommend this place for the money I paid for. It's a learning experience for me, so I will not be back or recommend this place to anyone

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from San Leandro, CA
April 29, 2014
Couple
8.0
Location
Noise level but that's expected in an historic building.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Shemida from Concord, CA
April 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Monterey Hotel has a wonderful old world charm to it! My family and I enjoyed it as we wanted something with history. They loved climbing the stairs to our floor (yes, this hotel has no elevator)! Again, all part of the charm!!
The walls are a little thin, but with the hotel provided earplugs, that wasn't a problem.

The hotel is situated perfectly downtown. Close to lots of restaurants! The valet service provided (for only $17) is great especially since it has in and out privileges - the parking garage close by is $7 but no ins and outs.

Couple
Wendy from Shreveport, LA
February 24, 2014
Couple
9.0
I loved the antique charm and comfort. The lobby is beautiful with the comfy chairs and fireplace. The room was beautiful and comfortable - great bed and bathroom.
I had to ask for small washcloths, which was odd, but they brought them to my room as soon as I asked. The elevator is broken but the staff brought our luggage to the room for us, so it was no problem. Anyone who has a problem with stairs might be annoyed

Street parking was easy, so we didn't have to pay to park. Easy drive down to Cannery Row. Great location, would stay there again!

Couple
June from Walnut Creek, CA
November 12, 2013
Couple
10.0
Very cute and quaint space. Staff (Jones especially) was very friendly and willing to accommodate any needs. Recommended a great restaurant. Will stay there again.
Honestly no. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Great location and a fair price. Close to the warf and right downtown. Very clean and cute. Parking kind of sucked but it's not a deal breaker.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Grass Valley, CA
November 10, 2013
Couple
8.0
Beautifully maintained property with antique/period furniture. Great old Victorian feel. Staff was personable and helpful. Location is perfect with an easy walk all around downtown. Lots of good places to eat within two blocks.
Because it is very old, it is noisy if you are above the street (as we were). But it is an easy thing to overlook to stay in an historic property. There is no onsite parking but we were able to park on the street until 10am the next morning.

Great location. Historic hotel built in 1904 that is clean and well maintained with beautiful antique/authentic looking period furniture. Nice staff. Because it is right in the middle of town, the street noise is pretty loud in the room we had at the front of the hotel on the third floor. Room was not spacious but adequate for our needs.

Reviews of The Monterey Hotel
(1 - 10 of 16 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Monterey Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.