The Monterey Hotel

The Monterey Hotel

The Monterey Hotel Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
406 Alvarado Street
Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Guest Rating for The Monterey Hotel in Monterey

# 15 of 64 hotels in Monterey
Based on 23 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Monterey Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.0.0
6.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Monterey Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Monterey Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Eric from Mentone, CA
June 25, 2015
Couple
9.0
Love the character and decor of the room. Hotel is located in walking distance of the wharf and countless restaurants and bars. Staff was very nice. Next time we stay here we would ask for room 409 again.
We knew ahead of time this hotel does not have an elevator. We got our exercise staying on the 4th floor.

Built in 1904, staying here was like stepping back in time, in a good way.

Business Traveler
Kirk from Santa Rosa, CA
June 8, 2015
Business Traveler
1.0
Noisy is an understatement, ear plugs on the night stand did not work for that kind of noise level, loud bars nearby, fire engines, motorcycles, and drunk people screaming til 3:00 am
Couple
Chris from San Diego, CA
May 28, 2015
Couple
10.0
Great hotel, only thing I would change would be the parking situation. Perfect location and great hotel.
Parking
Couple
Mary from New Berlin, TX
February 26, 2015
Couple
7.0
The historic feel of hotel / furnishings were Awesome / corner room w/ Fireplace was Wonderful  / large bathroom / location / clean
No help w/ luggage & No elevator to the 4th floor / parking to unload was bad too / front desk help was non attentive
David from Colleyville, TX
August 7, 2014
9.0
Proximity, historic architecture, cleanliness & location.
Room a bit small.
Couple
Henning from Rindby Strand, Denmark
July 30, 2014
Couple
8.0
Nice and central hotel. Could use a eskalator
Only stairs. No eskalator.
Couple
Eric from Playa Del Rey, CA
July 15, 2014
Couple
3.0
Location and that is it.
The exterior is charming, but don't be fooled. Elevators have not worked in months maybe even years. it's a little scary when the hotel leaves ear plugs on the night stand. for the money spent it was definitely NOT worth it. this is a---- room max.

the hotel has good location, but we were very disappointed with the overall presentation. our room did not have wifi. the bathroom needs to be updated, the tv is from the 90's maybe 15". the elevator's did not work, the tub needed to be cleaned, the shower water pressure was from extreme hot to cold, fluctuating back and forth. not all was bad. it has a old victorian style which can be charming, but for all the negatives we would NEVER stay there again. sorry but that's the truth 3 out of 10 for that price range. ...read more

Couple
Joseph from San Jose, CA
June 27, 2014
Couple
1.0
Not much really. It was just a bad experience from the beginning
Everything. Iron was broken, the room was old and crickety, it didn't have any good pillows, or real blankets, the parking system was terrible, and the breakfast they served in the morning was so cheap and gross. For what I paid for one night not worth it

It's just a bad place to stay at in general. I would not recommend this place for the money I paid for. It's a learning experience for me, so I will not be back or recommend this place to anyone

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from San Leandro, CA
April 29, 2014
Couple
8.0
Location
Noise level but that's expected in an historic building.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Shemida from Concord, CA
April 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Monterey Hotel has a wonderful old world charm to it! My family and I enjoyed it as we wanted something with history. They loved climbing the stairs to our floor (yes, this hotel has no elevator)! Again, all part of the charm!!
The walls are a little thin, but with the hotel provided earplugs, that wasn't a problem.

The hotel is situated perfectly downtown. Close to lots of restaurants! The valet service provided (for only $17) is great especially since it has in and out privileges - the parking garage close by is $7 but no ins and outs.

Reviews of The Monterey Hotel
(1 - 10 of 18 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Monterey Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.