The George Hotel

The George Hotel

The George Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.2/10
19-21 George St
Edinburgh EH2 2PB

Hotel Guest Rating for The George Hotel in Edinburgh

# 6 of 427 hotels in Edinburgh
Based on 17 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The George Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 10.0.0
10.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The George Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The George Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Dunfermline, United Kingdom
July 17, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
StaffLovely room
Poor breakfast
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Scottsdale, AZ
July 12, 2015
Couple
4.0
Size of room
No air, very noisy with windows open Public space very dirty on guest floors Our first floor room backed to back of bars and we heard dumping of bottles until wee hours of morning. No " individual climate control" as stated online

Not a four star hotel by any means. More a three star at best. The bartender turned away six guests and asked 4 to leave the bar at 10 pm on the dot as he wanted to close. To note it is not even dark out in Edinburgh at 10 pm in the summer.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Liberty Township, OH
July 12, 2015
Couple
4.0
Size of the room.
Public space was dirty on our floor. No AC although it said we had "individually climate controlled." It was too noisy (drunks and dumping bottles) all night long to open windows. Very tired looking hotel. One of two elevators out of order.

Bar closes at 10 pm. They asked 6 people to leave and turned 4 people away at 10 pm.

Solo Traveler
Bethany from Los Angeles, CA
April 4, 2015
Solo Traveler
5.0
The location is perfect walking distance to everything I wanted to do and see.
All you could hear was doors slamming from 6am on. I think there was some sort of utility closet situated near our room they kept slamming in and out of. The staff was cold and never greeted as we came in or out.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Boston, MA
January 7, 2015
Couple
7.0
Location excellent and convenient for both Old Town and New Town. Staff courteous and helpful, and for the most part Scottish.
Arrived late from EDI and was given room 222 which was tiny. Not acceptable for the price. We were moved the next day to 565 which was far better but still small. Watch out for seasonal pricing.
Senior Travelers
Larry from Manchester, PA
September 20, 2014
Senior Travelers
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Carmel from Burnaby, Canada
June 6, 2011
Solo Traveler
10.0
Front line staff and check in cocktail.
Slowness of the elevators.

Centrally located, friendly/helpful staff, clean.

Family Traveling with Teens
Mike. from Springfield, VA
December 14, 2010
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
Located close to major attractions. Rooms are very comfotable and immaculately clean.
No pool. No fitness room. Children are not allowed in the bar after 8pm (not family friendly).
Couple
Matt
November 25, 2006
Couple
1.0
Location.
Small room, out-dated and
dirty.

Not a very good experience. The room was quite small and had numerous stains and holes in the walls. Not worth the money at all.

Couple
Jamie
November 21, 2006
Couple
10.0
This hotel was fabulous.
There wasn't one thing I didn't like about it.

I would recommend anyone to stay there. Our room was beautiful and the location was perfect. The staff was helpful and friendly. I will stay there for all my trips to Scotland.

Reviews of The George Hotel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The George Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.