The George Hotel

The George Hotel

The George Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.5/10
19-21 George St
Edinburgh EH2 2PB

Hotel Guest Rating for The George Hotel in Edinburgh

# 6 of 427 hotels in Edinburgh
Based on 12 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The George Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 10.0.0
10.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The George Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The George Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Boston, MA
January 7, 2015
Couple
7.0
Location excellent and convenient for both Old Town and New Town. Staff courteous and helpful, and for the most part Scottish.
Arrived late from EDI and was given room 222 which was tiny. Not acceptable for the price. We were moved the next day to 565 which was far better but still small. Watch out for seasonal pricing.
Senior Travelers
Larry from Manchester, PA
September 20, 2014
Senior Travelers
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Carmel from Burnaby, Canada
June 6, 2011
Solo Traveler
10.0
Front line staff and check in cocktail.
Slowness of the elevators.

Centrally located, friendly/helpful staff, clean.

Family Traveling with Teens
Mike. from Springfield, VA
December 14, 2010
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
Located close to major attractions. Rooms are very comfotable and immaculately clean.
No pool. No fitness room. Children are not allowed in the bar after 8pm (not family friendly).
Couple
Matt
November 25, 2006
Couple
1.0
Location.
Small room, out-dated and
dirty.

Not a very good experience. The room was quite small and had numerous stains and holes in the walls. Not worth the money at all.

Couple
Jamie
November 21, 2006
Couple
10.0
This hotel was fabulous.
There wasn't one thing I didn't like about it.

I would recommend anyone to stay there. Our room was beautiful and the location was perfect. The staff was helpful and friendly. I will stay there for all my trips to Scotland.

Solo Traveler
Grete
August 17, 2006
Solo Traveler
8.0
Great location, walking to dining, shopping and theaters.
No air conditioning in our room - our room overlooked the kitchen ventilation system.

This was a great hotel located in the heart of New Town in Edinburgh. We hopped on a bus to get to the top of the hill in Old Town, but it is definitely a walk able distance. The location was close to theaters, great food and shopping.

Brandon
July 27, 2005
9.0
Great location, great price
No iron/ironing board in room.

Very nice hotel at a reasonable price. Great ambiance and the location is close to everything in historic Edinburgh.

Liz
June 25, 2005
9.0
Allowed us to keep our car in their valet lot several hours after check-out without extra charge.
No air conditioning, no fan, able to open window only about 5 inches.

Exceptionally friendly staff, even those you met simply passing in hall. Located walking distance to the main tourist attractions in city. Older facility but clean and well-maintained. Not having air conditioning resulted in an uncomfortable night. Hotels of this caliber and price range should have A/C in every room and be prepared for the unusual heat wave we experienced.

Ted
March 21, 2005
10.0
Excellent corner room, location great, and staff treated us like royalty.
Reviews of The George Hotel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The George Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg