Hotels in Washington Dc

The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row

The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row

The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row Image
4 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.6/10
2100 Massachusetts Ave Nw
Washington, DC 20008
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row in Washington Dc

See Most Popular hotels in Washington Dc
Based on 168 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Check Rates and Availability at the The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Ilene from Washington, DC
April 13, 2014
Couple
8.0
The service was very friendly and efficient and the amenities were top notch including bathrobes and umbrellas in the room and a free newspaper at the door every day.
The heating air conditioner unit in the room was a horror! Dry air heat that was very noisy and extremely uncomfortable making sleeping very difficult. The temperature was controlled by the AC coming on with a vengeance - absolutely terrible!

It's an old very elegant hotel that needs to redo its heating and AC system because the current one ruins all the positives and makes it unworthy of the 4.5 star rating which is a shame. The room was small but livable but the heat/ACTUALLY was not

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Northbrook, IL
April 13, 2014
Couple
10.0
Room was large, quiet and well appointed. Water pressure in shower very good.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Las Vegas, NV
April 2, 2014
Couple
8.0
The bathroom was fantastic. Great water pressure and soft, absorbent towels. Also had a magnifying make up mirror, which was convenient.
Business Traveler
Brenda from Atlanta, GA
April 1, 2014
Business Traveler
6.0
Nice, big clean rooms
Older furniture/decor. Absolutely no socializing area. No happy hour/bar area. Nowhere to really have drinks/read/hang out in the common areas.
Business Traveler
M from Tallahassee, FL
March 28, 2014
Business Traveler
8.0
Great price and spacious rooms.
Not close to the metro. It was cold and if I had tried to walk in the snow, I would have frozen to death!

Older property but good upkeep. The room was spacious and clean. I didn't have a good view from window and it was very cold near the windows. Not good insulation around the windows. However, over all, I would stay there again.

Business Traveler
Ed from Wilton Manors, FL
March 28, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0
Location
How they handled my concerns with the Heating in the room when it was in the 20's outside (see the additional remarks)

When I got there I told them the heating system was not working they sent someone but still didn't work so froze the first night went to the front desk in morning and again told them of the problem I came back in the afternoon and again it was not working so I told them again and went to dinner. When I came back again it was still blowing cold air. It was so cold that I had trouble getting my hair shampoo out of the bottle. I call down again they sent someone us and he said it was not working and that someone would call and probably move me. I waited an hour and I called down again. The lady said she was sorry but they were full and they still had two people to check in and asked if I had used the room. I said yes I had gotten under the covers because it was so cold.. and that when I had gotten back in the afternoon before I went to dinner I had taken a shower. She said the maids had gone home for the night. I said well I can't stay in this room as I thought I had already gotten a cold. So she checked and said someone would come up and move me. So I put all my stuff back in my bag at 10:30 that was at least 2 hours after I started trying again to get this resolved and they moved me into another room. This time the heating system worked fine. But I had forgotten some of my cloths back in my room and I was leaving early in the morning and needed them so I went back to the room and they were just tiding up the room, I'm sure they did not change the sheets or really clean the room but just got it ready to rent to someone else because as they said they were full.. I can't believe they put that room back in service and I'm sure that would not fit with Sheratan standards.. I found that despicable. The next morning under my door however I found a card for breakfast. But if they would do to my room what they did then it really made me wonder how clean they really do clean when you check in. ...read more

Couple
Harvey from Ridgewood, NJ
March 27, 2014
Couple
5.0
Nothing. Overpriced old dated hotel Rating Should Be three stars
Exl
Business Traveler
Eliza from Easthampton, MA
March 26, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
Very friendly staff! Comfortable bed, hot shower with excellent water pressure. But most of all, the staff!
Room was somewhat small, but no problem.
Business Traveler
Perry from North Attleboro, MA
March 26, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0
The location, right next to Dupont Circle, is a big plus for this property.
For a property that is supposed to be part of Starwood's "Luxury Collection" there didn't seem to be a lot of luxury.

The Fairfax is an older property and part of Starwood's Luxury Collection. It's located near Embassy Row at Dupont Circle, right next to the Indonesian embassy. I spent one night there in March for a recent trip. My overall impression was good. The property is clean and furnished in a Federalist style, and they've done a good job of carrying the theme throughout the property. The staff was very friendly, and my room was quiet and comfortable. When I think of high-end hotels that aspire to the 'luxury' moniker, I think of places like the Waldorf Astoria, or the Ritz-Carlton, or even the Fairmont. The Fairfax just doesn't come close to these properties in terms of elegance, service, decor, or style. There are none of the expansive, lavishly decorated spaces that you might expect; in fact, what I thought was the concierge station turned out to be a tiny check-in desk in what is essentially a stairwell. The bar and lounge are tiny and dark. The room suffered in details. For example, the wall had been patched, and the wallpaper covering the patch wasn't lined up properly. The grouting around a tile platform in the bath was shoddily applied. The downspout on the sink had been installed crooked. Luxury is in the details. This property has really good bones, but needs to step up the effort if they want to brandish the 'luxury' badge. That being said, I'd certainly stay again...it was a pleasant place and the location for me was ideal. I just have a high standard when you tell me up front to expect luxury. ...read more

Business Traveler
Ashley from Wytheville, VA
March 26, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
Staff was friendly, responsive, and prompt meeting requests.

Quaint, well located to events and staff was great.

Reviews of The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row
(1 - 10 of 78 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Fairfax Hotel At Embassy Row
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg