Hotels in Beijing

Redwall Hotel Beijing

Redwall Hotel Beijing

Redwall Hotel Beijing Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.1/10
No.31 North Shatan Street
Beijing 100009

Hotel Guest Rating for Redwall Hotel Beijing in Beijing

See Most Popular hotels in Beijing
Based on 10 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.1.0
6.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 5.7.0
5.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 4.7.0
4.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Redwall Hotel Beijing
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Redwall Hotel Beijing

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Vancouver, WA
September 24, 2013
Group Traveler
5.0
Location near the Forbidden City
Cleanliness

This hotel had excellent location as it is right across the street from the Forbidden City and very close to many other attractions. The staff are competent and able to speak English and are willing to give directions and help for local attractions.

Solo Traveler
Thomasz from Stevens Point, WI
September 19, 2011
Solo Traveler
3.0
Concierge personnel were friendly and helpful, and spoke adequate amount of English. Management was sincere.
Room was old, dumpy, tiny, mildewy shower, hard/uncomforable bed, poor climate control, restaurant staff were nazi-like.

Redwall Hotel Beijing is conveniently located to Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Jingshan Park, Dongsi subway station (Line 5), and offers tour packages in their business center. Read tour details carefully, and ask questions - get what you want. Buy drinking water in the lobby, not in the room, and don't believe that the tap water is safe if boiled. Buy the buffet breakfast ad hoc instead of pre-paying - I found the western buffet really sub-par, like much of the rest of the hotel. Strongly consider upgrading to a better room than I chose (Standard Double); can't imagine how spartan a standard or twin would have been! ...read more

Couple
Mike from Durham, NC
June 1, 2011
Couple
6.0
location
hidden costs

Beware- Buffet breakfast advertised is not free and there will be a 15% service charge on top of the "total price" advertised by Priceline. I am not sure if that is pricelines fault or the hotels. But I felt ripped off. Location is good and rooms a little dumpy but adequate.

Couple
Beth from Morro Bay, CA
May 6, 2011
Couple
5.0
The Redwall is fairly close to the Forbidden City and if you like to walk close enough to subway station.
The Redwall is older and carpets are dirty. Bedding seemed fine but our room had a water problem with the tub.

The Redwall staff is friendly and we enjoyed the immediate neighborhood as there is a fruit vendor and small market as well as two local restaurants to take care of immediate needs. The hotel is several blocks from the Forbidden City as well as several blocks to the closest subway station. Unfortunately, our room had a water leak somewhere under the bathtub which every time you showered would cause a good sized puddle to seep into the carpet in the room. Carpets throughout the hotel seemed dirty, but the bedding seemed fine. ...read more

Couple
Gustavo from Caracas, El Salvador
May 3, 2011
Couple
8.0
The concierges were very helpfull, also the people when we need to send fax or booking air tickets
The western food restaurant was not very good, the hotel had just one computer to use internet.

The hotel is very near from forbidden city, very easy to find, do not have any metro station very near, but about 10 minutes walk, however the taxis in China are very cheap.

Couple
Matt from Barrie, Canada
February 13, 2011
Couple
7.0
Bell hop helped us communicate with locals and wrote translations for us to transverse the city and cites.
With 3 stars you get coffee makers in room usually for free not here and turn down service didn't change sheets for 4 nights.

Excellent staff especially the bell hops who will get you around town with translations and everything in-between, but don't expect too much from the maid service or the room itself, it isn't bad just not very good if your planning on staying in the room too long.

Couple
Teresita from Schiller Park, IL
January 21, 2011
Couple
9.0
Minutes walking distance away from the forbidden city, near by street market if you are into checking out markets, very friendly staff that speaks English.
Rooms are small, beds a little firm, but when you are in China why would you stay in hotel room the whole day!

Staff is friendly and very accommodating.
I would stay at this hotel again.

Solo Traveler
Elaine from Brattleboro, VT
January 14, 2011
Solo Traveler
8.0
Location! Staff helpful. Room was fine.
Rooms a bit dingy, bed not that comfortable.

I highly recommend this place for the location. It is basically across the street from the Forbidden city. Great neighborhood to walk around in. The comfort level of the hotel is high enough, but it's not luxurious at all. A bit dingy, but fine. Staff is great and helpful. There's a tour agent, restaurant, cafe and gift shop, plus currency exchange. I'd stay here again for sure. ...read more

Reviews of Redwall Hotel Beijing
(1 - 8 of 8 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Redwall Hotel Beijing
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg