Hotels in Chicago

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.1/10
4900 S Lake Shore Dr
Chicago, IL 60615

Hotel Guest Rating for Chicago Lake Shore Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 272 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.1.0
6.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.1.0
7.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
David from Kokomo, IN
April 12, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
Location
Hotel is old and ran down. You have to walk up stairs no elevators. Upon checking in we were given the wrong key twice then moved to another room. At 11 at night the key to our room was given to someone else and they tried to get in our room waking all.

The ceiling was falling in the outside of the building had plaster hanging everywhere. How did price line ever rate this a three star? No breakfast,dirty floors, dirty windows. Just nasty. Very disappointed in price line for selling this as a three star hotel.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Shoshone, ID
March 29, 2014
Solo Traveler
3.0
The woman who worked the front desk for most of the time I was there was very friendly. The lobby was nice.
The room I had reserved was NOT available, because that entire section of the hotel was being renovated. Instead of a deluxe king room with a lake view in the hotel section, I was put in a regular room in the old motel section overlooking the parking lot.

The hotel will probably be nice when they finish the renovations. However, if they were renovating, then the room I booked should NOT have been allowed to be booked! They should have blocked out all of those rooms for that time period. They were apologetic, but the old musty parking-lot view room that I was hesitant to even open my curtains in did not meet my needs. I was having surgery and did not want to be confined to a dark little room for two weeks. They were nice enough to transfer a fridge and microwave to the new room for me (which was something guaranteed in the original deluxe king reservation). Also, the shuttle wasn't reliable. Due to all of this, after two nights I cancelled the rest of my stay and moved to the new Hyatt that was closer to the hospital, provided better shuttle service, had continental breakfast as well as a room fridge and available microwave, was a suite-type room, was in a much safer neighborhood and in walking distance to several shops and restaurants, for only $6 more per night. Totally worth it. In the long run, I was glad the Lakeshore ended up being so atrocious because I ended up moving to a much better location where I could recover well from surgery. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Ishanti from Chicago, IL
March 24, 2014
Solo Traveler
6.0
Parking was included and it's not far from downtown.
Key cards are extremely sensitive. First night I stayed 2 people were parked in front of my room in their car smoking marijuana. I felt security should have been patrolling the parking lot. Took to long to check me in my second stay.

The elevator is old makes noise. It could use a renovation as well as the hotel itself. The manager has yet to follow up with me regarding my complaints.It's not the most glamorous but if you need somewhere to crash close to downtown with parking included. I would recommend this hotel.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Cincinnati, OH
March 23, 2014
Business Traveler
4.0
The staff was very friendly. They also had a shuttle bus that went directly from downtown and back to the hotel. Plus, free Wi-Fi.
It was more of a motel than a hotel. The doors were basically outside. Our foyer door had no hydraulics on it so it slammed when people went in/out. Our door to our room didn't shut all the way. The walls were so thin, I could hear people just talking.

I love a hotel that can offer free breakfast, even if it's just bagels and coffee. This hotel does not. There was a café next door, which was convenient, a little high priced for average food, and I think our server was also the cook, and he was not so friendly. This was a very important business trip for me. The door situation was the biggest downfall. I got terrible sleep because I could hear people and slammed doors all night. My partner and I couldn't wait to get home because we were both so cranky from lack of sleep. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Overland Park, KS
March 19, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
3.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from North York, Canada
March 17, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Verified Hotel Guest from Austin, TX
March 12, 2014
3.0
The front desk staff--friendly, professional and helpful.
The place is a dump, and it is a crime for Priceline to carry it, much less represent it as a 3 star property. I am a longtime Priceline user, and this time, I called to express my distress that Pricrline was including it in Express Deal inventory.

Below Priceline standards.

Business Traveler
James from Springfield, IL
March 6, 2014
Business Traveler
1.0
The ovation was the only thing good. This was posted as a 3 star hotel and I can't begin to describe how bad t was . The outside appearance was the 1 st indication that we were in for some problems . The exterior was in disrepair . Holes in the exterior.
The lobby had 2 older gentleman , who were having a conversation . Which was fine . I heard a couple things they were saying and thought to myself they must stay here a lot . So I should have not been surprised to see door to rooms open on our floor

That had invalids in wheelchairs . Who lived there . There were holes I. The walls and ceiling in our room This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. The smell was horrible also . I was upset and called ASAP but had to check I. Due to my schedule . I am a touring musician . Use priceline 2-3 times a month , this is not a 3 star hotel

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Chicago, IL
February 13, 2014
Couple
2.0
Nothing
Everything. I thought the hotel would have been more up to date. The only modern piece of furniture was the tv.

Need a major upgrade. A new sign, but they need new everything else!

Group Traveler
Terence from Rosenort, Canada
February 6, 2014
Group Traveler
4.0
Was close to to the museum of science and industry.
Very shabby place, rundown old ramada. Definitely not worth 3 stars.
Reviews of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
(1 - 10 of 155 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg