Hotels in Melbourne

Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins

Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins

Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.2/10
623 Collins Street
Melbourne 3000

Hotel Guest Rating for Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins in Melbourne

# 2 of 379 hotels in Melbourne
Based on 13 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.2.0
6.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.5.0
6.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.5.0
5.5
Check Rates and Availability at the Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Jameel from Sugar Land, TX
March 24, 2014
1.0
Great location
The room was dirty, I found a hair on the bed and had to move to 3 different rooms until we found a room that was clean. The staff did not even apologize. I would not stay here again.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Rotterdam, Netherlands
February 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0
Good central location, value for money, friendly staff.
Rooms are 3.5 star, not as advertised. However I was given a free upgrade to a jacuzzi room which made up for that.
Couple
David from Hoodsport, WA
January 30, 2014
Couple
9.0

I was lead to believe that free wifi was included in this 4 star property by your description but it was not. I also used name your own price and specified southbank as the only location - the hotel was not located on southbank (but was nearby). The hotel and room were good but was surprised they wanted $10 a day for internet.

Family Traveling with Teens
Lori from London, Canada
January 12, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0
No free internet, our first room was so small and strange layout, with a glassed in bathroom/kitchen combo? I complained and the staff changed our room the next morning to a bigger room at no additional cost, very appreciated.

Well situated , right in the heart of Melbourne, so close to the train/bus station, which made it tremendously convenient to get to and from the airport.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Shaine from Chicago, IL
December 2, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
The in house diner was o
Uncomfortable mattress with low quality bedding. Upon exiting an elevator or room, hallway lighting are set on a movement sensor & completely blacked out until the sensor detects movement. Room service food trays sat in the hallway 15+ hours.

As a traveler 40+ weeks per month, this is definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in claiming to be 4 star. This is not a 4 star by any other countries standard. When I arrived, the room which was assigned to me & designated (by the hotel itself) as a 3.5 star room although I booked a 4 star hotel. I paid for an upgrade to a 4 star room (for which I never heard of a hotel having various star rated rooms). I checked into the hotel at 8pm. I exited the elevator to my floor and tripped over a food tray from someone else's (room service). The hallways were blacked out, set on a motion detector. So when I 1st stepped off the elevator the hallway is blacked out for 1-2 seconds until it detects movement. Same as when you exit your room, the hallways are blacked out until you actually step into the hallway. There were dirty food trays & dishes (room service) outside of 2 other guests rooms sitting in the hallway from the time I checked in at 8pm and still there when I checked out at 11am the following day (14 hours later). I booked a 5 night stay, prepaid reservation but I just cut my losses and checked into a different hotel. The hotel deck clerk was good about giving me a refund for 3 of the 5 days and it was worth the loss. The gentleman I checked in with the evening before wouldn't let me out of the reservation. Terrible hotel in a terrible neighborhood. I enjoy walking around the areas I stay almost everywhere around the world. This is not a safe neighborhood. It's misleading because it's on famous Collins street but, way far away from the good part of town. The room was not clean including a few stains on the carpeting. when I walked in there were 3 single sized beds I nearly tripped over when I entered. Then some really cheap furniture including a loveseat, a few wooden chairs and a desk made of pressboard complete with fake wood grain look. The furniture looks like it came from a discount department store. Avoid this hotel... ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Seoul, Republic Of Korea
November 30, 2013
Couple
6.0
Big beds. 1 hr complimentary internet access. Towels.
unkind Staff at the reception. unable to access the internet as a guest.

Rooms are old but clean and the beds are quite big. Rocation is very nice - just across the Southern cross station. Relatively satisfactory affordable, except the staff.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Stillwater, MN
November 20, 2013
Solo Traveler
5.0
Convenient location -- close to Southern Cross station for easy train/tram/bus transportation. Walking distance to many locations in Melbourne.
A bit outdated. Smoking is allowed in some rooms -- yuck. NOT desirable as the smell of musty smoke is evident in halls.

Hotel is very average. A bit outdated, but it's clean and quite. The beds are saggy -- not terribly comfortable, and smoking is allowed in some rooms which makes the place smell of musty smoke. I would definitely not call this a four star hotel. Staff was accommodating, though when I asked if they give frequent flyer credit for airlines, the man at the desk said, "not at the price you paid for the room." Now, if a hotel doesn't like the price, why is it offered or accepted? And why make the guest feel badly about booking the room at the price offered on Priceline? The front desk will try to up-sell to a better suite for an additional $30/day -- hotel just isn't worthy more money per day. ...read more

Couple
David from Rock Hill, SC
October 15, 2013
Couple
1.0
The location is convenient to the Southern Cross station and buses to/from the airport
There appear to be decent quality rooms in another wing of the same hotel, but as a Priceline customer you won't be assigned one of those. The night staff is both incompetent and surly.

The location is quite convenient to the Southern Cross station (and buses to/from the airport). The positive ends there, however. We arrived fairly late in the evening, and the night staff was neither efficient nor friendly. For a long time they couldn't find our reservation, then sent us to a room only to call us back to the desk saying no, that room was occupied, and they would have to give us another. Before ultimately deciding that it was indeed unoccupied and sending us back to the same room. But the bigger issues were: 1) we had specifically bid on a four-star hotel. This property - as clearly explained by posters on the wall behind their reception desk - apparently has both 3-star and 4-star rooms available. Even after I showed them the receipt for the 4-star reservation, they without apology assigned us a 3-star room 2) that room was quite cramped and poorly designed, and generally did not represent what most people would consider even a three-star experience 3) upon arrival, I was asked if I wanted a double bed or two twins and I indicated that I definitely preferred a double bed. Without explanation or apology we were instead given a room with two awkwardly arranged (separated, arranged in an L arrangement) twin beds. I had the impression that this may have been related to disapproval toward us for some reason. Just because we had booked the room at a "good" price (they had whined a bit about that)? Because we are a same-sex couple? Because we are an interracial couple? The property was definitely disappointing. And though the service from the ladies at the front desk the next morning was fine, the service from the night staff unquestionably warrants a "poor" rating for this property. ...read more

Couple
John from Horsham, Australia
July 10, 2013
Couple
8.0
Location,friendly staff, generally good feeling as one used the hotel and its facilities.
Couple
Ted from Centreville,VA
May 3, 2009
Couple
10.0
Location.
Prefer internet access included.

It was great. Provided excellent access to downtown Melbourne and Southern Cross Station.

Reviews of Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Quality Hotel Batmans Hill On Collins
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg