Gansevoort Meatpacking

Gansevoort Meatpacking

Gansevoort Meatpacking Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.8/10
18 9th Avenue
New York, NY 10014

Hotel Guest Rating for Gansevoort Meatpacking in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 27 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Gansevoort Meatpacking
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Gansevoort Meatpacking

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
David from New Canaan, CT
October 6, 2014
Couple
7.0
Room was great with seating area and view of the Hudson.
Didn't care for the late night congestion in the lobby and didn't feel as secure given the stream of people going to the rooftop bar. Maybe I'm not the preferred demographic.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Shaker Heights, OH
June 3, 2014
Couple
7.0
room was comfortable
It's for a very hip 20's crowd - parties going on in the hall at night and all sorts of photo shoots in the lobby. The roof top bar was good in concept except the music was so loud - definitely the place to be if you're single.

Bar served generous drinks - neighborhood is quaint with lots of local restaurants and shops - lots of outside seating too which makes it feel very different from the upper east side. a block from the high line and a subway stop nearby. check in was quite delayed which the hotel compensated for with 4 rooftop bar drink coupons. View from the roof is fantastic.

Solo Traveler
Andrew from San Francisco, CA
August 22, 2013
Solo Traveler
1.0
The location, and the roof.
The front desk receptionists were extremely rude and disrespectful. They double charged me for a room and you're required to put down a $641 deposit.

The hotel looks down upon guests that come from price line. The first night I checked in the front desk person (biddy) required a $641 deposit for the room (that's unheard of.) I had to call and get authorization from my bank for the charge, because I don't allow charges over $600 to process without approval. It took about an hour. When I added an extra night to my stay the next morning the man (Patrick) at the front desk said everything was taken care of, however when I returned to the hotel at 6:30pm and my card didn't work, this is when I had to sit in the business center for 5 hours (on a Friday night.) Bank froze my card b/c of irregular activity. I asked Patrick if there was a phone I could borrow to call the bank, he said there was not. He made no effort to offer a complimentary cocktail for the inconvenience of having to go through this and waste my last night in NYC on the phone with Bank of America. They refused to let me deal with bank in my room, even though it was my second night staying there. They made no effort whatsoever to offer any condolences while I was hysterically crying in their business center trying to get a bank rep on the phone (5-11pm on a fri night.)Ironically, the only member of the entire hotel staff that made any effort to brighten my situation was the elevator man/bouncer/door man, very tall African American with heart of gold. Because I really appreciated his gesture I wrote him a $50 tip. I gave the tip & check for glass of wine to doorman wearing a suit standing outside. I was rushed & asked him to run it inside for me (literally-car was running.) Rudely the man pointed at where I could bring it in myself. Regrettably, I scowled at the man for being so rude, and got in my car and left. I was astounded that I could be treated with such disrespect while trying to offer the doormen a tip! The gansevoort, was very disappointing and the perks of having a club in your hotel, and rooftop pool doesn't make up for the way I was treated. ...read more

Couple
Daniel from Ridgewood, NJ
July 30, 2013
Couple
1.0
Clean room, decent bed.
The crime scene I saw on my first night and absolute lack of security.

Stayed here for two nights and took the time to check out the rooftop bar. I expected a 5 star experience given how the property was promoted, but the management of this establishment need to go back to hospitality school and get a full IT/Security audit of the premises. A couple days before my stay I called to confirm my reservation, the phone was dead due to technical issue. Not a big deal, but it makes you wonder when they have no alternative communication mechanism. Check in was normal and the room was well kept though oriented towards a certain element. During the day, rooftop bar staff was attentive and normal. At night the place changes, and this is due to the fact that they really let anyone in. The line at the front is merely for show as people can get past "security" with a puppy dog look, a "come on man", lying about staying or just showing a white plastic card, something I tested during my stay and subsequently. Rooftop bar staff changes at night, more pushy, more aggressive, which is probably a response to the flood of non-guests at night. On 7/18/2013 I went to the rooftop bar, but left my wallet in my room. The wait for the elevator was pretty crowded so I took the stars as I was staying on one of the higher levels, a "luxury" suite. On my floor I saw what could only be described as a crime scene, blood on the walls floor, bloody handprints and blood on the door. There was no staff there, caution signs or anything to indicate it was an accident, but given my experience with the night rooftop staff, I figured a staff member had an accident and wasn't trained on Health Code Laws, which in NYS you must have a staff member at any accident with bodily fluid until it is cleaned properly. I was very surprised when two hours later it was still there telling me a few things: 1) This was not a staff member 2) Maybe this was an accident, but could be a possible rape or assault 3) There are no cameras in the stairwell ...read more

Group Traveler
Debora from Smithfield, RI
May 10, 2013
Group Traveler
10.0
Close to Chelsea Market, restaurants, shops, Soho, Tribeca areas as well. Loved walk to Bleeker Street.
I found the food and drinks a little pricey so we ate away from the Hotel. Even the breakfast was high priced.

It was comfortable and I will go back and stay there again.

Couple
Rebecca from Needham Heights, MA
April 16, 2013
Couple
9.0
Highly recommended!! Lovely ambiance, welcoming and friendly staff, clean and contemporary styled rooms. Very chic NY experience. Plan on staying again!
No complaints, expensive, but money well spent.

Great stay for all travelers, one of my favorite hotels in the city. Clean, attentive, and comfortable.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from London, United Kingdom
April 4, 2013
Couple
8.0
location
bed was only a double, queen or king more standard at this price range

n/a

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Bentonville, AR
March 17, 2013
Business Traveler
10.0
Great location near shopping.
The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the food and room service. The food was not good and there was a mistake with what I ordered plus a mistake in not bringing the whole order.

Great place to stay, I just do not recommend the food from TOY, their restaurant.

Group Traveler
Karen from Nahunta, GA
March 5, 2013
Group Traveler
10.0
The front desk staff were extremely helpful. I checked in really early but was unhappy with the view, they arranged for me to move to another room as soon as possible.
I wish that I had gone up to the penthouse to admire the view before the bar became so busy. It was jam packed and extremely loud when I did venture up there.

I stayed to the Hotel Gansevoort to attend my nephew's wedding that was held at the Spice Market right across the street. The location was perfect! The entire staff was very pleasant and called you by name when they saw you. I loved the decor as purple is my favorite color!

Group Traveler
Kailin from Bronx, NY
December 25, 2012
Group Traveler
10.0
They offered me a hotel upgrade for my birthday!
For some reason, I was charged way more than my bill on my email, might be because of the room upgrade

The hotel is beautiful, the ambiance is great. The concierge and hotel workers were awesome and really helped us out with what we needed. I had a great 23rd birthday.

Reviews of Gansevoort Meatpacking
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Gansevoort Meatpacking
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.