Hotel Des Arts

Hotel Des Arts in San Francisco

Hotel Des Arts

Hotel Des Arts Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.4/10
447 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Des Arts in San Francisco

See Most Popular hotels in San Francisco
Based on 14 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Des Arts
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Des Arts
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Des Arts

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Adam from West Hollywood, CA
January 17, 2014
Couple
6.0
You can't beat the location for the price.
Pictures are misleading. Was expecting a more modern-ish artsy hotel. No lobby. Think a railroad type, thin and long style building. No key to front door, buzz in (hope front desk there to buzz) Super small rooms. Art is graffiti art.. skulls..etc.

So we didn't know the is a THEMED ROOM hotel. All the rooms are painted/decorated differently by different artists and the hallways have different rotating ART shows every 3 months. As with all "ART," taste levels are subject to personal preferences. Walking down a hallway of broken skateboards hung on the walls, painted with skulls and dead people... graffiti art.... not the most pleasant or welcoming experience. Our room the first night was literally called "THE UNABOMBER." room. It was decorated to match the una-bombers cabin. The wall was wallpapered with an outdoor cabin scene. The furniture was an old plank wooden desk and rickety bookshelves packed with undesirable trinkets, used lightbulbs, old encyclopedia set. etc... Like the unabomber had... really yucky. Bathroom was only big enough to fit one person and wallpapered in old maps of the US. Creepiest thing was the fake set of stolen moneybags, tied to a bunch of twine and hung very low over the bed (where your head is).. the twine going from one end of the room to where it hung over you. It was unsettling. I never complain, but this was what ultimately led me (at 6am cause I couldn't sleep) to ask for a room change. Originally I would have had to check out by noon, store our bags, then recheck in at 3pm if I wanted another room. I wasn't to pleased with this and then just decided to suck it up for only one more night... However.. the front desk clerk got me another room early, literally the one next door and I was very pleased. This was the PEACOCK room... think deco 50's, giant peacock with gold leaf painted on walls... Bathroom so so so much better with an old club footed tub. Still super small room, but just not creepily decorated. IT made the trip 10x better and we were grateful. Overall... don't know if I would stay there again. It was clean, but not sure if I liked the hippie / graffiti style art, and it is super small accommodations. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Jennifer from Portland, OR
May 26, 2013
Solo Traveler
10.0
The room was very clean and fun. The area was great, walking distance to everything I wanted. The staff was very nice and helpful. I'm really glad I stayed there. For the price, no other place could have been as good.
Only small thing. It advertised breakfast. That was toast, juice, and coffee, everyday. I think there could have been a small improvement in that area. I ended up eating toast only one morning. I ended up going other places for breakfast.

Overall, it was great and I would definitely stay there again.

Couple
Michelle from Brooklyn, NY
July 26, 2012
Couple
9.0
Different without being cloying, unique, comfortable, incredibly convenient location
Bedside lamp was a little weird, too bright for reading

Loved this unique hotel! I really enjoyed all the art up everywhere. The room was cozy and welcoming - not somewhere I'd hang out, but perfect for relaxing after a long day out in the city. Looking forward to staying there again, and will be recommending it to anyone I know visiting San Francisco.

Couple
Denise from Ood River, OR
November 15, 2011
Couple
8.0
Decor was very unique and fun. Rooms small but comfortable and for the price it was perfect!
Light continental breakfast could have been better. Real butter would be a plus! Parking wasn't super close by.

Love the local art inspired decor! Funky, hip, convenient and everything you need all in a compact little room.

Solo Traveler
Uyen from San Jose, CA
September 7, 2011
Solo Traveler
10.0
staff was great! i loved them from the beginning of check in to the time i checked out :)
i just wished all bedrooms had their private baths..

Loved it! would come back. its perfect for a local getaway :)

Couple
Renee from Yelm, WA
July 12, 2011
Couple
1.0

I chose not to stay at the Hotel Des Arts. No loading zone was available, so my husband double parked while I was going to check us in. I had to ring the door bell to be let in, and it was only early evening. I couldn't make the elevator work, so I climbed Rickety Stairs without a rail to the second floor lobby. Then they told me that the nearest parking was a "block and a half" away, but gave me a map with one three blocks away circled. When my husband heard of the issues he refused to stay. I canceled from the curb (rather than risk the stairs) and we left. I have not stayed in a place with a doorbell and non-functional elevator since my hostel days. Things like doorbells, poor repair, shared bathrooms, no parking and no loading zone should not be surprises. I would not have booked at Hotel Des Arts if I had known any of the above. ...read more

Business Traveler
Kimberly from Baltimore, MD
March 31, 2011
Business Traveler
10.0
The staff was extremely friendly and the artwork made the place unique.
Solo Traveler
Daniel from Tampa, FL
November 30, 2010
Solo Traveler
7.0
The artwork
The bathtub.

It's great for a couple night stay. It's unique and different. I would suggest getting the Deluxe Queen rooms as opposed to standard Queen Rooms. Deluxe Queen you have your own bathroom.

Couple
Daisy from Carson,CA
April 28, 2010
Couple
8.0
We loved the room overall. The art displayed was beautiful
Absolutely hated the fact that the entire floor had only one bathroom.

Overall okay hotel. Loved the art but only one bathroom on each floor and parking was horrible. We had to pay a mandatory parking fee at the hotel and at the parking structure so we were charged twice. Watch out for those hidden fees.

Reviews of Hotel Des Arts
(1 - 9 of 9 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Des Arts
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg