Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.5/10
200 Coco Beach Boulevard Highway 955-I
Rio Grande, PR 00745
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico in Rio Grande

# 1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Based on 764 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Check Rates and Availability at the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
David from Key Wesr, FL
April 21, 2015
Couple
7.0
Room was clean and spacious. The property is well maintained and I really enjoyed the pool.
The walking distance between all the hotel accomadations.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Caguas, Puerto Rico
April 21, 2015
Solo Traveler
9.0
The pool area.
Waiting on the transportation
Couple
Gaylord from Bowie, MD
April 19, 2015
Couple
1.0
Nothing
Everything
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Brownsville, TX
April 19, 2015
Couple
8.0
I liked the location in regards to how close it was to other places we wanted to visit (El Yunque rainforest, Fajardo, Luquillo Beach, etc.)
The beach wasn't that great. I'm not sure if it was because we were in the "off season" but the resort was not as nice as I expected it to be. It needed some upkeep, things posted were outdated and it was not as high in quality as I expected.

The hotel is in a nice location - on it's own peninsula that's not far from some of the best tourist spots in North East Puerto Rico (El Yunque rainforest, Fajardo ferry dock (to get to Flamenco Beach), Luquillo Beach, etc. While the beach at the hotel was not clean white sand and clear blue water, it was still a fairly nice area to hang out and relax. The hammocks scattered throughout the resort are a nice touch. I assume they hadn't "prepped for the season" yet and maybe we were there during the off season, but there was still some things that needed to be updated or needed attention. Specifically in our room, our refrigerator would not keep anything cool and when we called, they replaced it, but instead of removing the old one that was stored nicely under the TV cabinet, they left it there and just put the replacement fridge in the floor next to the desk. Our maid wasn't that great either as (although this is a minor detail, it shows the lack of attention) every single day (after the first day) we had to call to get wash cloths as she would take the ones we had and not replace them (even though they were there when we checked in). I think the food is extremely overpriced and it is definitely not worth the price paid. I know you will pay higher at a resort, but you also expect the quality to be better as well. Unless you pay for a Red Level or Villa style room, the rooms don't really have a great view as they are blocked by other buildings. The thing I didn't understand is that it seemed like there were several empty rooms in the buildings with the better view - if they were vacant and it was the slow season, if I were the owner/manager of the resort I would give complimentary upgrades to the better rooms that weren't being used, as I believe it would help provide a better experience for the guests. ...read more

Couple
Joshua from Brooklyn, NY
April 18, 2015
Couple
10.0
Everything was perfect, from check in on it was , the golf carts to drive u around are a plus too
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Washington, DC
April 17, 2015
Couple
6.0
The public spaces were really nice as was the pool. Staff were very nice. The rooms were large. There was a good view of the rainforest from the resort.
The sand part of the beach was extremely tiny and the non-seaweed part of the ocean was small as well. The restaurants weren't great. The hotel rooms weren't very clean or updated. The hotel is extremely isolated. The food and drinks were expensive.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from New York, NY
April 17, 2015
Group Traveler
5.0
Beautiful hotel, visually pleasing. Pool is large and views of ocean are magnificent. Hotel room was extra large and elegant.
remote location. staff was primarily unhelpful (except for golf cart staff). Music was nonstop blasting from the pool bar and towel hut, which prohibited relaxation. Expensive parking for guests. Grass all over property was dead. Not enough pool umbrellas

No free breakfast for regular guests. Internet mostly did not work.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Davie, FL
April 16, 2015
Couple
5.0
Very pretty. The beach is nice. I like the fact that it has grass and then there is the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean.
It's too expensive to even breath there. They want to charge you for absolutely everything, from the parking ($21/day) to $50 per beach towel if you loose the room card, to the $24/person breakfast joke of a buffet. The service is not that good.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Kent, WA
April 15, 2015
Group Traveler
9.0
Loved the big clean pool. My favorite place was at the beach. Lots of tiny shells that I had fun looking at and play with them. I'm 37 yrs LOL Kids loved it too.
Breakfast Buffet prices were way to high. $23 for adult and 10 for child.
Family Traveling with Teens
Daniel from Madison, CT
April 14, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
7.0
Location was perfect. The main building, pool area and grounds are beautiful.
The hotel was frugal about small things. Although the Red Level concierge sat behind a computer, he was not granted access to the internet. We needed to exchange cards for pool towels and had to call for toilet paper.
Reviews of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
(1 - 10 of 202 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.