Chicago's Essex Inn

Chicago's Essex Inn

Chicago's Essex Inn Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.2/10
800 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Chicago's Essex Inn in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 708 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Chicago's Essex Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.5.0
5.5
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago's Essex Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Chicago's Essex Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Newburgh, IN
July 24, 2015
Couple
1.0
We were extremely disappointed with the room at the Essex Inn. So much so, that we spent the money to move hotels without refund. The room had cobwebs in the corners, hand prints on the walls, stains on the floor, and the shower drain was rusty.
This hotel had a good location near parks.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Potomac, MD
July 22, 2015
Solo Traveler
2.0
located next to Grant Park with open space and next to Hilton Chicago, an upscale grand hotel.
This is small hotel by most standards. The lobby was modern and clean. However, the room was very small and the bathroom was the smallest one I've every seen. Hallway rugs were dark brown and dated. Minimum decor throughout. Would not stay here again.

There are lot of choices of hotels in the 3 star category and this one is not one I would put on that list. Most like a 2 star hotel.

Couple
Shelley from Normal, IL
July 20, 2015
Couple
10.0
Friendliness of staff.
The fact that the Grateful Dead fans had not checked out of their room on time making future guests inconvienced since they could not check in when expected.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Westfield, IN
July 20, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
Staff was helpful with directions to where we needed to go! Hotel was definitely not 3 stars! Very old/outdated. Glad we didn't pay the $------/night asking price. When we first arrived the bell hop took our luggage but then was no where to be found
We called at arrival bc our fridge was broke. We were there 4 days and it was never replaced despite notifying staff several times. Room and beds were so small! We had no control over room temp. Pool was big but only had small pvc stairs in and out.
Couple
Kelsey from Portage, MI
July 20, 2015
Couple
1.0
I didn't like anything about this hotel. We had an AWFUL stay here and it completely ruined my husband's birthday. I will NEVER go back.
The hotel was dirty and disgusting, the staff is rude, and the housekeeping is obviously incompetent. They also take your money to book in one room, and booked you in a completely different room. They're scammers.

I booked this hotel for us and other couple for my husband's birthday. We booked a Deluxe King room and were put into a TINY double bed room, while the other couple got the correct room. Furthermore, our room had all of the desk drawers and cupboards opened when we walked in, and there was a used water bottle sitting on the dresser. I was told by one front desk associate that they would refund the difference, but when I went down later to correct the situation (either to have a refund or be put in the correct room), a different front desk associate told me he wasn't "willing to put his neck out there" for me and that I would have to come back in the morning and either talk to the associate who originally told me that, or a manager. When we went back in the morning, I was disgusted to learn that the other couple we were with had a large blood stain on their sheets, as well as a long, black hair (the female of the couple has long, blonde hair-- so it obviously wasn't hers). I harshly complained to the manager the next morning, and he promised to look into it. After not hearing from him by the time that he promised to call me at, I had to call back to follow up, which aggravated me even more. Finally, a little later in the evening, he said he would refund both rooms, which I was pleased with. I wasn't going to write a scathing review, because I was happy with the refund and didn't want to bad-mouth them after they had made this situation right. However, it has been 2 weeks since the charges have posted on my account, and I have yet to see anything at all posting in terms of a refund. Now, I have to spend more of my time going 9 rounds with the people at this hotel to get what is rightfully mine in the first place. This whole situation has been a NIGHTMARE and it ruined my husband's birthday, which is very disappointing. Buyer beware-- their reviews show that our situation isn't the first time it's happened to people! DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL! ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Peoria, IL
July 19, 2015
Solo Traveler
4.0
It's location
It was not as clean or well maintained as I expected. The TV didn't work, the elevators were questionable.
Business Traveler
Tamara from San Jose, CA
July 18, 2015
Business Traveler
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Detroit, MI
June 29, 2015
Group Traveler
5.0
Great service from valet to housekeeping!
View was of another building, not what was shown.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Boca Raton, FL
June 29, 2015
Couple
8.0
This was the most reasonable rate for our travel dates. The room was fine. Overall it was clean. It met our needs for our time in Chicago.
The air was not cold enough. The sink in the bathroom was too small. The bathroom was old and needed to be updated.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Belleville, IL
June 23, 2015
Couple
5.0
The location.
Price was too high for each room. The bathroom sink was very tiny. One of the rooms had cleanliness issues. Another room needed maintenance.
Reviews of Chicago's Essex Inn
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago's Essex Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.