Chicago's Essex Inn

Chicago's Essex Inn

Chicago's Essex Inn Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.3/10
800 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Chicago's Essex Inn in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 662 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Chicago's Essex Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.5.0
5.5
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago's Essex Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Chicago's Essex Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from South Whitley, IN
April 14, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
5.0
The Staff was professional. The hotel was pretty good for it's age. It has been updated, and it has everything that the competitors have, it's just older. It is within walking distance to the aquarium, planetarium, south shore train, and field museum.
There was some surface mildew in bathroom and the roof leaked in the gym area when it was raining. Also, there is no sanitizer in gym, so bring your own....no spray for equipment, and no hand sanitizer.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Milwaukee, WI
April 11, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Staff was friendly. Great location if you plan to go to the museums. Room was clean. Pool was big and warm.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Marthasville, MO
April 9, 2015
Solo Traveler
4.0
Location was great. Staff was very nice.
Very dated and no charm for its age. No shampoo in the room. Kind of pricey compared to other similar star hotels in the area.

The Essex is just okay. I would stay there again if I couldn't find somewhere else for same price or less. The beds were comfortable and clean ( which is really what anyone needs).

Family Traveling with Teens
Lisa from Kewanee, IL
April 9, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
We got a free presidential suite upgrade. The staff was very helpful and nice. Shower in suite =AMAZING
The rooms are pretty outdated. The only advantage to that is if they update the rooms I'm sure the price will go up significantly.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Saint Louis, MO
April 6, 2015
Business Traveler
5.0
The public spaces including the hotel lobby, gym and pool area were clean and well maintained.
The bathroom was somewhat small but clean and acceptable. The only big problem we encountered was that our room key would stop working the first and second day. We had to return to the lobby multiple times to get it re-activated which was a nuisance.
Solo Traveler
Terry from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
March 31, 2015
Solo Traveler
9.0
Front staff were incredible helpful. Hotel employee went out of his way to help me with my smart phone which decided not to work. He fixed it, got it charged, and I was able to buy the correct charger for it while on this trip. THANKS!!
Family Traveling with Teens
James from Colorado Springs, CO
March 31, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Location is highly recommended
Couple
Judy from Haines, AK
March 26, 2015
Couple
8.0
Close to the train station
I reserved a room with a King sized bed, but they gave me a room with 2 Queen sized beds.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Merrillville, IN
March 26, 2015
Group Traveler
9.0
The swimming pool and sauna.
The bathroom was small.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Moline, IL
March 24, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
Location, closeness to millenium park and other places to visit.
Cleanliness is very bad. For the money that I have spent I would have got a 4 start with better facilities and cleanliness. Room is average sized.
Reviews of Chicago's Essex Inn
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago's Essex Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.