Hotels in Chicago

Chicago Getaway Hostel

Chicago Getaway Hostel

Chicago Getaway Hostel Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.6/10
616 West Arlington House
Chicago 60614

Hotel Guest Rating for Chicago Getaway Hostel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 23 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.6.0
5.6
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Getaway Hostel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Chicago Getaway Hostel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Columbus, OH
October 17, 2013
Group Traveler
6.0
Great location and friendly staff.
Room was tiny and cold; the blankets were very thin and the bunk-beds were uncomfortable and did not feel safe. Also the closet had an unpleasant odor.

Not worth the money; spend a little more and stay at a real hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Olmsted Township, OH
July 22, 2013
Couple
9.0
The staff was wonderful
Although they provided towels they did not provide washcloths

I can't brag enough about the staff. They were exceptionally nice. I would go back there for sure.

Solo Traveler
Roderick from Long Valley, NJ
March 18, 2013
Solo Traveler
8.0
This hostel has a beautiful atmosphere, where art fills entire rooms- not just in public spaces. Many fun events were planned; unfortunately I cannot rate any as I had a short trip.
The only complaint would be that the shared showers are not so great (only some rooms have full bath). But that's to be expected with a hostel.

If you're okay settling for the atmosphere of a hostel versus a hotel (may include shared showers and self-serve cafeteria) then this is a great place! They really go to an effort to both make this a beautiful social place and show you Chicago.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Mankato, MN
March 15, 2013
Group Traveler
8.0
Good location, ease of cooking your own food and not spending eating out, good staff.
The toilets are kinda dirty.

If you are a student visiting Chicago and want to be able to visit uptown, downtown and most of the happening places then Gateway is for you. Everything is close by and you can use the Lite Rail to almost everywhere. Safe location, cool people and good places to eat and club. Just make sure to ask Priceline to clear with Gateway how many people will be residing in the room. The one we booked (my 2 friends and I), it seemed to fit 3 people(which it did, if you share the bigger bed) said that the occupancy is for 2 people. We called the hostel and they said it shouldn't be a problem and they wouldn't charge us extra. But when we got there, they told us that Priceline hadn't informed them of the situation so we ended up paying $20 extra per night. ...read more

Group Traveler
Mike from Yorkville, IL
February 4, 2013
Group Traveler
4.0
The staff was nice and helpfull
I feel the hotel was no where near what the description was. I did not expect there to not be a shower and rstroom in the hotel room.

The oval trip in general was fun. I enjoyed the convenient location and accessability to the surrounding areas. Unfortunately the hotel did not smell to good in the room, it somewhat seemed like sauna.i did not realize the betters deal I could have gotten at a better hotel until after I payed the full bill. There was no problem with the staff at all, very nice people that had an answer for every question. The breakfast was also good for being on the house. ...read more

Couple
Sachin from Madison, WI
January 19, 2013
Couple
8.0
For the price, I don't think you can get a better deal in Chicago unless you're couch-surfing at a friend's place. Great room, fantastic location, excellent security / friendly neighborhood, comfortable beds, fairly good breakfast, and overall a very good
Some people in the adjoining room were a bit loud till 1 AM. Not rowdy or drunk, just loud. The walls seem kind of thin, but meh. The wi-fi internet is pretty good in the lobby area but very crappy in the actual rooms. But there is plenty of room to sit i

One word review: Awesome. Pros: Safe and friendly neighborhood; lots of security features; pretty good breakfast; nice, trendy, modern feel to the lobby. Excellent deal, considering it's Chicago. In the famous Lincoln Park neighborhood. A 5-minute walk from the Lincoln Park Zoo (Free), Conservatory (Free), and Nature Museum (cheap). Great restaurants nearby. CVS pharmacy within a few blocks, as well as a grocery store. We did all the free stuff in the area, and spent $ on good food instead. Oh, and the hostel was offering discount tickets to a whole bunch of places in Chicago. Good deals, including Art Institute. Front desk was friendly, helpful. Cons: Internet is good only in the lobby. You get a weak signal in the rooms. Walls are kind of thin, so if you use them you might want to bring along some sleeping aids. ...read more

Couple
Serena from Pomona, CA
October 3, 2012
Couple
8.0
Quite location, new facilities, and close to two different lines of Metro.
Shower doesn't have a real door. The bed is too thing that my back even feel the plank.

Great interior painting, comfortable lobby area, printing is free! Price is fair.

Solo Traveler
Janet from Atlanta, GA
July 20, 2012
Solo Traveler
10.0
The convenience and laid-back nature of the hostel was perfect.
Dirty sheets - but we were able to switch them out in a heartbeat!

The Chicago Getaway Hostel has improved a great deal over the years. This is my 3rd stay, and it's becoming more and more of a hotel, with better amenities, better training for front-line associates, and overall improvement of quality. I had a great stay, and I will absolutely return next year!

Solo Traveler
Carol from St Louis, MO
May 5, 2012
Solo Traveler
5.0
Considering the bad location, no bathroom in each room, the price is not cheap at all.

No bathroom in the room.

Business Traveler
Jim from Columbus, OH
April 5, 2012
Business Traveler
9.0
Convenient location near train station at unusually good price.
Shared bathrooms were old and did not "look" clean (but was probably clean enough).

Good for young people on a budget who are self-sufficient. Particularly good for one night when you don't need to shower. Love the free internet.

Reviews of Chicago Getaway Hostel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Getaway Hostel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg