Hotels in South Padre Island

Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 5.0/10
5701 Padre Boulevard
South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Guest Rating for Windwater Magnuson Hotel in South Padre Island

# 18 of 36 hotels in South Padre Island
Based on 98 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Windwater Magnuson Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 5.0.0
5.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 4.9.0
4.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 5.9.0
5.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 3.3.0
3.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Windwater Magnuson Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Maplewood, MN
March 21, 2014
Couple
7.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Mcallen, TX
March 4, 2014
Couple
1.0
Really cheap.
You get what you pay for. Old looking rooms. Looks crusty, old furniture. Dingy towels. Nieghbors had loud music all night. Air conditioner worked only for short periods, & really humming noise.

Close to beach access. Next time booking i will be looking for a better star rating

Couple
Patricia from Indianapolis, IN
December 26, 2013
Couple
9.0
The fact that our room faced directly out to the canal and it was just a beautiful view
We are not high maintenance so we don't require a lot of amenities nor do we have real high expectations but there was nothing that we can say we didn't like about this property

I believe for the money who could go wrong with this hotel. If your room faces the canal and you like having a king bed, then you will love this property and its amenities. If you are a high end client wanting top notch bedding and other items, then maybe this isn't for you but if you are a MONEY SAVER, then I recommend this property hands down.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Leander, TX
December 4, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
location
no continental breakfast as advertised

better than some of the other posts made it out to be

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Edinburg, TX
November 5, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
The purpose of my trip was a family fishing trip and this hotel was a great fishing spot and had some really great catches. I do reccomend getting the bay side suites for convience. but over all great time with easy fishing point.
The only part that was a bit inconvienent was the parking spaces that were a bit cramped since there were many people there but even at that it was still a great time just had to be careful when trying to park near our room.

I stayed in a 2 queen size room well all of our party we had 4 rooms and the guest clerk made great accomidations to get us all together in the same area. The roo was very clean and included a fridge and microwave which helped with the snacks for the kiddos. We did only book the room one day on a sturday but we would have defenitley stayed 2 nights had we been able to. The a/c was very fresh and truley cooled the room all night and had no issues. the elevator was a bit slow and took some time but the stairs were easily accessed next to the elevator. In our group we had kids ranging from 8 to 16 and they had a blast. The pool size was fine but was a little cloudy possibly from people wearing dark shirts in the pool and hot tub worked great. Parking was a bit cramped but there was plenty of space in front of the building street side if you were willing to walk. The Bay side fishing area was awsome it even had a grill so incase you wanted to throw fresh fish on the grill but there is only one grill so out of courtesy you shouldnt try to hold it up so long. The staff were very nice and proffesional and very helpful with anything but were a little dry on sense of humor not that that is a part of there job but a bit of humor is always appreciated when dealing in customer service. I also only payed 35 bucks for the room and fro that price i had an awsome experience and would recommend people to stay if you feel like not spending to much money and having a great time. But ofcourse dont expect a Sheraton but for the price this hotel meets great expectations. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Ricardo from Beeville, TX
October 28, 2013
Solo Traveler
5.0
The view was beautiful. It is currently being remodeled and Im sure when its done it will be nice. For off season price it was fine.
porch light was out, light by fridge & micro wave out

The hotel is being redmodeled I guess, for an off season price it was fine. The lights to back porch was out and so was light by fridge and micro wave. The TVs were old but overall for the price it was acceptable. The view to the water was really nice, with some updating and landscaping it could really be a nice hotel. If your on a tight budget in the off season it is worth the price. ...read more

Couple
Myra from Brownsville, TX
July 22, 2013
Couple
7.0
Room had tile instead of carpet. Nice view of bayside through balcony.
very little power plugs

Room was bigger than expected, provided small fridge and microwave with 2 TVs. Hot tub was not too hot, pool was ok.

Couple
Leonel from Mcallen, TX
July 2, 2013
Couple
4.0
Balcony bayview
Internet took hours to activate, employees in Office werent patient or very helpful.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Doraelia from Mission, TX
June 14, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
Close to the bay and able to fish off pier.
Their was mold, curtains got in the way of the ac was very hot first night, hot tub made your hair fry up too much bleach. Staff was not available 24 hrs, no phones in room, breakfast sucked.

I would never stay there again, it's true what they say you get what u pay for. Hot tub water missed up my girls hair really bad. Mold made all my kids sick and room very ugly, poor staff services, breakfast was not enough for the little amount of people who stayed there. Won't recommend to anyone.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Kylie from Laredo, TX
June 11, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
Staff was pleasant.
Parking is an accident waiting to happen. Spaces were entirely too tight. The room smelled smokey, the shower had one little tiny packet of shampoo that wouldn't have washed your hair and there were 4 of us in the room.

The pictures are completely off from the actual room. It looked like a really nice place, but when we walked in the room, it was completely a different scene. The parking was so tight that we just prayed that no one would park behind us or on one of the sides in hopes of being able to get out. The room itself was tight, not spacious at all. I had a good laugh when I saw the tiny packet of shampoo that wasn't enough for one person, let alone 4 and then the coffee pot, didn't have coffee. For a room that cost XXX, I did not feel like we got our money worth. A place I will not be returning to. ...read more

Reviews of Windwater Magnuson Hotel
(1 - 10 of 48 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Windwater Magnuson Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg