Waterbird Lakeside Inn

Waterbird Lakeside Inn

Waterbird Lakeside Inn Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 5.8/10
556 Indian Boundary Road
Chesterton, IN 46304

Hotel Guest Rating for Waterbird Lakeside Inn in Chesterton

# 5 of 5 hotels in Chesterton
Based on 16 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Waterbird Lakeside Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 5.8.0
5.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 5.3.0
5.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.5.0
6.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Check Rates and Availability at the Waterbird Lakeside Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Waterbird Lakeside Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Norwalk, CT
May 31, 2017
Couple
6.0
The pond behind it.
It's very outdated, dusty and musky.
Karen from Wanatah, IN
March 27, 2017
7.0
The scenery, price, location & spacious room
They did not provide toilet paper or tissues. I bought my own.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Yorkville, IL
July 4, 2016
Couple
10.0
Close to shopping & restaurants, very clean. Looks to be newly refurbished. Yes the pond in back is full of algea. However, if you value nature in its finest, there was a swan family. Listen to the bullfrogs at night & in the am watch the turtles.
Bed was a little too soft for our liking.
Verified Hotel Guest from Omaha, NE
August 4, 2015
Big room.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Saginaw, MI
July 9, 2015
Couple
8.0
I liked the lake view and balcony. The room set-up was also different.
Sad that there was no real lobby area or breakfast.
Senior Travelers
Lawrence from Port Orange, FL
June 12, 2015
Senior Travelers
8.0
The Waterbird Lakeside Inn was an unexpected pleasure to stay at. While a little dated, the room was clean and very spacious; quiet at night with a great view of the water. Watching the geese and swans was relaxing as well.
Very happy with the room and area.
Couple
Debbie from Windermere, FL
April 13, 2015
Couple
1.0
The view
It was dirty no water pressure. Our lock to the slide door didn't lock so we had to put the table & a chair up against it couldn't sleep all night cuz scared someone could of came in. Then the fridge was unplugged so it to for ever for our food & drinks
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Xenia, OH
August 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
3.0
"Lake Chubb" is more of a large moss filled pond than a lake, but it was nice being able to throw bread to the ducks and seagulls from the balcony. Only 10 minutes from Indiana Dunes. Surrounded by restaurants and shops.
I'm sure this hotel was nice when it was built, but today the place is falling apart. Stained furniture, Musty odors and a general feeling of neglect. Balcony was more of an insect habitat than a lookout. Outside the hotel the garbage was overflowing.

If you are planning on a "party" vacation at the dunes then this hotel is probably okay for you. If you have a family then steer clear; it's old and falling apart... so much so that I didn't want to sit on the furniture. The lake is kind of cool, but the novelty wears off quick when you realize it's dirtier than a Motel 6.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Katherine from Indianapolis, IN
July 31, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
The location was great with easy access to downtown, restaurants, and the dunes!
The staff was not friendly. The hallways were dirty and the room looked like it needed to be reprinted.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Berrien Center, MI
July 16, 2014
Couple
5.0
The view of the lake was very nice. Hot tub in room was nice. Flat screen TV, DVD player and mini fridge were nice to have.
The fan on the climate control did not stay on when selected. It acted as it was on auto at all times.

The hotel is ok, but needs updating. The other half, which is a Best Western; has kept up with the updating. Overall it is a great setting, just would like to see the outside property kept up better by both hotels.

Reviews of Waterbird Lakeside Inn
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Waterbird Lakeside Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.