Waldorf Astoria New York

Waldorf Astoria New York

Waldorf Astoria New York Image
4 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
301 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10022

Hotel Guest Rating for Waldorf Astoria New York in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 669 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Waldorf Astoria New York
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Waldorf Astoria New York

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Bexley, OH
March 24, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
location and cleanliness
needs remodeling
Family Traveling with Young Children
Randy from Stratford, CT
March 24, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Best location and service was top notch.
Room was very old and could use renovation.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Lexington, MA
March 22, 2015
Couple
10.0
Large, comfortable room, great location, elegant hotel.
Couple
Maureen from Sayville, NY
March 21, 2015
Couple
10.0
Beautiful lobby.
Old furnishings.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Hauppauge, NY
March 18, 2015
Business Traveler
8.0
I really enjoyed staying in this landmark hotel! The lobby and public spaces are just as stunning as I imagined!
As with many landmark hotels, the guest room experience is a bit lackluster. But, I didn't go to NYC to sit in my hotel room! It met my needs fully.
Business Traveler
Adam from Highlands Ranch, CO
March 18, 2015
Business Traveler
10.0
The history and elegant design throughout. Very friendly staff as well.
The gym was very small and crowded and as much as I enjoyed the historic feel of the room...it was dated and needed some refurbishing.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Springfield, MA
March 17, 2015
Couple
5.0
Great old charm. Great service in restaurant. Room furnishings and fixtures very old and tired, but I'm sure it's on the list to be renovated soon. I'm sure that's why there was a big discount.
1. A $20 extra charge for wifi in the room. 2. Room temperature stuck at 78 degrees and not able to adjust. 3. Unable to stop and unload (and temporarily leave car) at front of hotel, even though I wanted to depart right away after checking in.

I'll be happy to return, at a higher price, when it's renovated.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Bragg Creek, Canada
March 16, 2015
Business Traveler
10.0
Classic old New York experience. The hotel though slightly worn is excellently maintained
The concierge was condescending and abrupt she asked about any recommendations for gluten free restaurants. Replied that "any restaurant could make meat and a salad". Did not even refer to their own restaurants which were very accommodating
Couple
Brandon from Halifax, Canada
March 14, 2015
Couple
9.0
Beautiful hotel. Great location. The service is second to none.
I expected the room to be nicer for such an upscale hotel.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Toronto, Canada
March 14, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
Other than the location not much.
The staff were rude, not one doorman opened a door, the porters had us put our bags on the cart and still wanted a tip. The rooms were disgusting - dirty, smelly, they allow smoking,and I suspect they have bed bugs. Stay far away from this place.

This was by far the worst hotel experience we have ever had. We arrived at 8 pm with our three children having just driven from the Hay Adams in DC (and so having had an excellent 5 star hotel experience). We checked in and were sent up to our room, which was a dirty mess. Wall paper was peeling, the toilet seat was dirty, the carpet was vile, there were dirty footprints on the floor. and it stank ( we later found out that they do allow smoking desp9ite stating the contrary on their website so if this is important to you please avoid). We called to complain and ere moved to another only marginally better room eventually This time we discovered the crib we requested (and which took 40 minutes to bring up) was too large for the room. We waited again and mmoved to our third room. This room was large enough for a crib but dirtier than the previous two - hari everywhere i the bathroom, dirty kleanexes on the window sills, god knows what under the radiators. It was now almost midnight and my kids were exhausted. Four hours after we checked in we called housekeeping to do a clean and went to bed. The next morning we had to pack all of our bags and move to another "better" room. It was better but again, it's all relative. THe shower dated from the 1940s, , it was rusty and required a stepping stool and an engineering degree to use. The room was shabby and the halls stank of smoke which every morning they covered with some vile glade product. Classy. The staff were rude and lazy, for the four nights we were there, not one door man opened the door for me despite me having a stroller and two other small children in tow. The porter had us load the cart when we left and then stood there, almost with hand out for a tip. Perhaps we didn't "look like" we would or could tip, but we do and we can and that shouldn't be a requisite for service. I have traveled the world and stayed in many hotels from backpacker hostels to five stars and this was by far the worst. ...read more

Reviews of Waldorf Astoria New York
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Waldorf Astoria New York
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg