Hotels in Orlando

Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando

Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando

Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Image
4 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.6/10
5601 Universal Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32819
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando in Orlando

See Most Popular hotels in Orlando
Based on 20 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Check Rates and Availability at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Ashley from Tampa, FL
March 18, 2014
Couple
6.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Nepean, Canada
February 4, 2014
Couple
6.0
Location ideal for visiting theme parks, beautiful architecture and grounds and friendly, attentive staff.
Restaurants were not open at times shown in hotel brochure so opted to eat off site.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from New York, NY
December 3, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Nice setting - good value for money
Retail (or lack of ) was quite sad looking, food selection very limited - pizza / pasta....not a fruit or vegetable in sight.

Great location, good value for money. You are well and truly isolated if you don't have a car so food options are very limited and expensive. You need to pay for everything - there is no fresh water available in the rooms (unless you pay 7$ for a small bottle), you need to pay for the gym and the internet connection. Bice restaurant is nice but $$$ - if you can be bothered with the snarly girl at entrance, you will enjoy an nice evening. Mamma Della's is not so great - rich, creamy and greasy offerings. "Mixed greens" in all restaurants means piles of lettuce with tiny portions of meat or cheese on top - really not worth the money. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Trina from West Palm Beach, FL
September 28, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Staff was very friendly and accommodating to any questions or requests we had from getting a mini fridge to booking reservations for dinner.
Construction going on by piazza visually took away from hotel.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Arcadia, CA
August 25, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
The express pass for Universal.
They were doing renovations.

I have stayed at this hotel before and it seems like when you reserve a room through priceline they give you the least desirable room. Usually the rooms have a separate shower but the room we were given had a shower/tub combo. There are usually robes in the closet but not this time. I had to call for the ironing board that is usually in the closet. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable. The beds are comfortable and there were plenty of pillows.I loved how spacious the room was. The housekeeping staff was very friendly but I do think they could do a little better job cleaning each day. It seems like they are a little rushed. The service at the pool was great, but they don't allow you to bring any of your own snacks, not even for the kids. The grounds are kept very clean. They were doing some renovations and many of the guests were perterbed that no one had mentioned the renovations when they made their reservations. I would have been upset except that I was very happy with the deal I got on priceline. The food at Sal's market was great, however when I called to order over the phone they left me on hold for over 15 minutes. We decided to head down there instead and when we got there they told me that they don't take phone orders. They should have mentioned that before they put me on hold. The boat ride to the parks was awesome. The boats come very frequently and the operators are very nice. The best part was the express passes and early entry for Universal and IOA. They saved us so much time. Overall, we had a wonderful time and I feel it was a great value for the price we paid. If I had paid more, I am not sure that I would feel the same way. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Madison, IN
July 14, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
The pet friendliness...however, very displeased that they have started charging the pet fee when for years it was never done.
Just the pet fee and the fact that internet was not free....really!

We stayed in room 1152 with our medium sized dog. No problems at all other than since we didn't have a crate for the dog, we had to prearrange cleaning times or call housekeeping while we were walking the dog. Housekeeping was decent, they always asked what we would like to have done and always replenished all keurig cups and bathroom amenities. One strange thing, when we put the robes in the towel pile to be replenished, we never received new robes. Small items but at this price, it should be a no brainer. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Gettysburg, PA
May 19, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The staff was fantastic-went out of their way to make sure we had everything we might need or want. Extremely friendly and personable.
They were doing some construction that detracted from the ambience.

We highly recommend this hotel for family travel. We felt comfortable letting our preteen children play and have a little freedom. The staff were all fabulous. I travel a lot for work, and they were some of the friendliest staff I've ever met. The location is perfect for visiting Universal, so easy,

Couple
Dustin from West Monroe, LA
March 29, 2013
Couple
9.0
The greatest aspect of this hotel is the location to the parks. You no longer feel obligated to squeeze every possible minute out of the theme park. If you need a break take the free water taxi or walk about 3/4 a mile back to the hotel.
I believe each resort only has two boats for transport ( I would like to know if it's possible to increase the number of boats). It seemed like we always decided to walk because we didn't want to wait 20 mins or longer for a boat ride.

We enjoyed the hotel as a whole. One of the restaurants was absolutely terrible. Please do not eat @ the Trattoria del Porto ( terrible service and terrible food. I wasn't even about to get a refill on water.) The express pass for the parks cuts in wait times a great deal depending on which ride. Not all rides accept the express pass which is stupid since those are the rides you really need them. The local of the hotel is great. I expected the bath towels to be nicer but were very ruff (good luck getting more than 2). We had a light out in the bathroom and never got it replaced. Overall still positive experience. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Richmond, VA
March 16, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Beautiful grounds, incredibly comfortable beds, and the perk of getting an express pass into the Universal parks is a fantastic benefit
No refrigerator in the room. Also, I wish I had known about the express pass being included, because I bought express passes separately. Fortunately the park was willing to refund my money, but it would have been really nice to know.
Family Traveling with Teens
Catherine from Melbourne, FL
January 5, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
We love the Portifino and will go back. The staff is amazing, the hotel is extremely clean and the location is great.
For the room price, I would think that things like free internet, free parking and free gym use would be included. These were all extra charges and they added up. This was frustrating.

We love the Portifino but hate how they nickel and dime you. They charge for things that Disney hotels include in their rates.

Reviews of Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando
(1 - 10 of 12 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg