Universal Palms Hotel

Universal Palms Hotel in Fort Lauderdale

Universal Palms Hotel

Universal Palms Hotel Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 5.1/10
4900 Powerline Road
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Hotel Guest Rating for Universal Palms Hotel in Fort Lauderdale

See Most Popular hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Based on 347 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Universal Palms Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 5.1.0
5.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 5.9.0
5.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 4.8.0
4.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.7.0
5.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Universal Palms Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Universal Palms Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Spring Hill, FL
January 20, 2015
Business Traveler
9.0
I've stayed here multiple times and it's much nicer than you'd expect for a 1 star. The rooms are clean and smell fresh. The pool and pub are great. You always see the manager around...sweeping halls, behind the bar, etc...he seems very hands on.
My one and only complaint is the train...it's extremely loud. It comes with varying frequencies and the horns vary in intensity. The rooms facing the pool are quieter. I've stayed there enough to get used to it but others might be very annoyed by it.
Group Traveler
Veronica from London, Canada
January 18, 2015
Group Traveler
5.0
Lobby was nice. Garden looks good. Staff was very kind.
Location beside train track. Bed sheets & towels was so used . Hotel needs new furnitures bc those are so worn out. Pool walls was mouldy.

Overall renovation could help.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Winter Park, FL
January 11, 2015
Business Traveler
5.0
Appeared to be very hip and trendy. Would not have been so bad if I had paid less than $-- for this room, instead of almost $--.
Pictures make it look nicer than it really is. Who puts a hotel next to railroad tracks? I saw some comments about this, but could not believe how close the tracks are. Train whistles blow all night long.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Little Falls, NY
December 31, 2014
Couple
3.0
All the employees and staff were very nice and accommodating.The room was semi clean. The lobby looked nice.
The outside stairs were filthy and junky, the whole exterior of the building was very antequated and disappointing.The bedspreads were washed but stains were still apparent. It was the only place available otherwise we would have left. Needs renovation!
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Philadelphia, PA
December 29, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
The pool area!
Bed squeaking. Train tracks right next to hotel kept waking us up many time really early morning.

Overall very nice, nice designs and spacious lobby. Pool area was our favorite, heated and had private seating tables. Nice that is was open till 12am. The room was okay but really needed a microwave or mini fridge. One thing that really boggled my mind was why would they put the only outlet for coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron RIGHT NEXT TO THE SINK? On top of that the really nice looking sink was the kind that's not inward but a big glass bowl on top. Liked it, but The cords kept getting wet and that's very hazardous. The bed was comfortable but too much squeaking, just to get up to the bathroom would wake others and baby up. There is a chest with a flat screen on top, and a really useful desk with comfy leather office chair. One thing we didn't know before booking was that there were train tracks right outside, meaning every time a train passed and blew its horn it was a tremendous noise; really annoying in the morning when your trying to get down sleep after a long day before. I barely saw the friendly housekeeping staff which felt like they were swift yet discreet, a good thing. Theres a breakfeast buffet at a cheap price from 8am to 11 am. But we were disappointed to find that the only food they had available from the long description in the Lobby were 2 not too pleasing looking items. Free wifi and parking, but no pets allowed; a good thing for our family's allergies! ...read more

Couple
Richard from Moonachie, NJ
December 13, 2014
Couple
8.0
It's close to 95 and to the beaches2 very good central location
The gym was horrendous
Solo Traveler
Robert from Stockholm, NJ
December 4, 2014
Solo Traveler
9.0
Beautiful Pool area and hotel!
Amtrack train sounds like it goes through the center of the property.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from New Port Richey, FL
November 16, 2014
Solo Traveler
4.0
Pool area it was pretty
The bathroom shower had rust,

I hate the noise of the train like every hour

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Oviedo, FL
October 20, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
The hotel is way better than the star rating. The front desk staff is friendly. Maritxa was very professional and a pleasure. The house keeping keeps the room very clean
Solo Traveler
Julio from Fort Lauderdale, FL
September 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
I liked the fact that the staff was super friendly and great. They upgraded me twice while staying there and even gave me complimentary cocktail vouchers. They really care about their customer experience more than anything.
No complaints especially for the price I paid.

I think the hotel is great, just newly renovated and very comfortable. They are doing a great job in building a good reputation.

Reviews of Universal Palms Hotel
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Universal Palms Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg