The Wheeler Mansion

The Wheeler Mansion in Chicago

The Wheeler Mansion

The Wheeler Mansion Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.5/10
2020 South Calumet Avenue
Chicago, IL 60616

Hotel Guest Rating for The Wheeler Mansion in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 16 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Wheeler Mansion
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.9.0
5.9
Check Rates and Availability at the The Wheeler Mansion
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Wheeler Mansion

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Gary from Enumclaw, WA
August 20, 2011
Couple
10.0
It was amazing. The rooms are beautiful. This hotel is special. The breakfast will be better then any other in the city.
There was a billing issue that needs to be resolved.

This is a great hotel. I will stay here again when going to Chicago.

Couple
Weekend Vacationer from Ann Arbor, MI
August 11, 2011
Couple
7.0
Very charming. Loved the antiques, large comfortable bed and shower.
No individual thermastat for rooms...was too hot. If staying on bottom floor, lobby noise can easily be heard inside your room.
Business Traveler
Denise from Las Vegas, NV
May 26, 2011
Business Traveler
4.0
Beautiful room and nice atmosphere.
Practically everything they said they had, they didn't, no newspaper, no show shine, and no face towels.

After one night we called around town to find somewhere else to stay. There wasn't even an Ice machine.

Couple
George from Chicago, IL
October 28, 2010
Couple
10.0
Fascinating history, nice appointments, and unique locale.
Old place, so no elevator. A minor quibble.

A historic, well-appointed hotel built into an old mansion provided a great destination for my honeymoon and a short walk to the Bears game. Breakfast service, tea, and really comfortable suite. Thumbs up overall!

Couple
Jocelyn from Portland, OR
September 29, 2010
Couple
10.0
Absolutely lovely Mansion with an amazing history.
The breakfast was not anything close to what was described.

We had a wonderful and quite visit. The staff was very helpful for transportation advice and anything else needed! The 'gourmet' breakfast should be reworded to be 'simple continental'.

Business Traveler
Jennifer from Mcfarland, WI
September 27, 2010
Business Traveler
10.0
I like the small charm of the mansion and the excellent customer service from the staff.

The hotel is rich with history and furnished in antiques. The staff is extremely gracious and makes an effort to get to know each guest personally. They were very helpful in their recommendations for nearby restaurants, etc. The Wheeler Mansion is perfect for a traveler who prefers a more intimate stay.

Senior Travelers
Dan from Marietta, GA
July 5, 2010
Senior Travelers
7.0
Nice room with good location.
Breakfast was late one morning, one guest did not have AC.
Group Traveler
Jackie from Slidell, LA
July 4, 2010
Group Traveler
5.0
Convenient location.
Rude management.

If you like no air conditioning, bad plumbing and rude, condescending management and cold breakfast, you'll love this place.

Solo Traveler
Pat from Folsom, LA
June 28, 2010
Solo Traveler
7.0
Rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated.
Hotel staff was not available in the evenings and breakfast buffet was not as stated.

I really liked the Wheeler Mansion, however, there is no one on staff after 5 or 6 pm. Also, a full breakfast buffet was supposed to be served each morning from 7:30am, but was never ready before 8 am and was not a full breakfast. Staff was very pleasant.

Group Traveler
Amy from Wayne, OK
June 1, 2010
Group Traveler
10.0
the wheeler mansion was elegant. the staff was friendly and the rooms were comfortable.
i loved everything about our stay

The Wheeler Mansion exceeded our expectations. We had a pleasant stay and this hotel provided us with the perfect accomodations. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were elegant and impressive. The beds were comfortable. The location was safe and nearby the Roosevelt Train station so we got to experience and explore Chicago. We would love to stay again!

Reviews of The Wheeler Mansion
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Wheeler Mansion
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg