Hotels in San Francisco

The Wharf Inn

The Wharf Inn

The Wharf Inn Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.2/10
2601 Mason Street
San Francisco 94133

Hotel Guest Rating for The Wharf Inn in San Francisco

See Most Popular hotels in San Francisco
Based on 33 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Wharf Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.5.0
9.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Wharf Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Wharf Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Laura from Surrey, Canada
March 22, 2014
Solo Traveler
3.0
location was its only perk as it was close to fishermans wharf and close to the other piers you could walk or grab a hop on hop off bus
the room was TINY, had only a shower, tiny tv, no insulation so I could hear everything the neighbor was saying or doing, there was no AC and only window that opened had slats to allow air in, but my room was at the back of the building with NO air flow

I would not recommend it to anyone for the price it was horrible, I would rather pay another----/night and stay at a reputable hotel. The staff made a big deal when I said I needed to leave my car for the day and told me I had to pick it up by 3pm. I said that was not possible as I was on a tour till about 430pm. They finally made a note on my file so that my car would not be towed. Overall pretty crappy experience ...read more

Business Traveler
Steven from Sparks, NV
March 22, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0
Can't beat the location if you are planning time in the Wharf area of the city. Rooms kept clean. Older hotel but well kept.
Hotel as it is real close to the Wharf action, is pretty noisy until about 10pm or so.
Couple
Jan from Castro Valley, CA
October 29, 2013
Couple
10.0
The location is perfect. It is a block away from the piers.

The parking was great and the front desk people were extremely nice and accommodating.

Couple
Steven from Toledo, OH
October 23, 2013
Couple
6.0
It was wonderful to be able to leave our car while we experienced local attractions even though we only reserved one nite. It saved us the money for parking, downtown. Great idea.
No continental breakfast, seems as we traveled throughout California that this was a staple. Was a little disappointed that they only served coffee. For the price of this hotel a simple breakfast offering wouldn't be amiss.

Price was a little high but doable. Rooms were clean but didn't like 2 walls of nothing but windows. Beds very uncomfortable. But , overall the front desk clerk was very helpful and offered to extend our parking privlages so we could go see attractions this was above and beyond. No breakfast, but unlimited coffee in front office. Overall it was an okay place to stay. Very close to local attractions walking distance. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Springfield, OH
October 2, 2013
Couple
7.0
Location near Pier 39, bicycles, water front restaurants, and ferry boat lines. Free parking.
A little noise from the lower level parking garage. Window looked north into a 3 story cement wall.

This is a basic hotel in the heart of the wharf district. The rooms were large and clean with everything functioning. Room keys are required to access the elevators and stairs to the room levels so you felt reasonably safe. The 24hr staffed office was located with a good view of the street level parking. There was no other lot access which was surrounded by chain link fence with security camera's. The rooms have no A/C but do have ceiling fans with slat windows that open for air flow but are too small for access. The weather in SF is typically cooler so this would be ok 95% of the year. A good price based on location if you only spend your sleeping time in the room and otherwise out seeing the city. ...read more

Couple
James from Bakersfield, CA
September 15, 2013
Couple
9.0
Location
Toilet located behind the bathroom door was a little inconvenient

Overall great experience

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Folsom, CA
August 28, 2013
Couple
2.0
This hotel is in a great location!
Not so much the hotel but when booking I paid 14% sales tax to Priceline and then when checking out another 8 1/2 % in San Francisco and another 2% tourism fee. So I ended up paying way more in taxes than I wanted to and didn't see the fine print.

Overall the hotel is just what it says. Great location ok rooms, ok bed but watch out for the tax situation. I could have saved money by just calling and booking straight through the hotel because of that fine print that I didn't see until it was too late.

Group Traveler
Peggy from Villa Ridge, MO
August 17, 2013
Group Traveler
1.0
The location
Absolutely, their website does NOT represent what type of room you receive, I had ordered the king room, it didn't even have the couch, the chair, the pictures are very deceptive!! The rooms are old and dirty, I had to clean the hand prints off door!

When I went to front desk, and stated this was not what I reserved, and they replied well the rooms all have variations, this is not stated any where. The oriental desk clerk, was so RUDE and CONDESENDING I have never encountered any one like that before, the general manager really wasn't any better, he just told me he would contact his web master??? He did eventually give me one night for free, but the lower price of their fares. 1 night is
xxxx tax, then
xxx tax. Really I should probably take this up with my credit card since to room notice on the back of door states they should not charge over 200.00, this statement mind you it is from 1998, they should at least acknowledge it, obviously no one has looked at it in 15 years??? I will never recommend this hotel to anyone, I know the hotel has no control over homeless or street fighting at night, but they sure need to let their customers know. One night there was fighting and a gunshot!! We just made sure we were in before it got dark. I have been to San Francisco many, many times. I used to live in California in my 20's boy have people gotten so rude--no more of the customer is even a little right. I would probably pursue this a little harder, but I do not want any complimentary anything!!!!!from that hotel Peg Brand
...read more

Solo Traveler
Dennis from Sachse, TX
August 1, 2013
Solo Traveler
8.0
Not even a block away from all the action at Pier 39. Parking was fine in an enclosed garage. Restaurants around the corner as well as bars. 7-11 across street for other items and a grocery store a block away as well. Grab a cable car 1/4 mile away.
Room is seventies era and dated but bed was comfortable. Too close to the action to be hanging in the room. For the price its fine.

Just fine for the price. Staff was helpful and coffee and tea in the lobby. My pals stayed for 100 extra a night but weren't as close to the water and fun. Take the Blue and Gold tour it's fabulous and right across the street. Boudin restaurant is right around the corner and fabulous.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Carson City, NV
July 24, 2013
Couple
3.0
Location
No hair dryer in room, no lighting for shower, I heard the person in the next room snoring around 1 am, I heard the people in the room above us walking around and arguing until 1:15, doors slamming, bed too soft...
Reviews of The Wharf Inn
(1 - 10 of 21 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Wharf Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg