Hotels in Ottawa

The Westin Ottawa

The Westin Ottawa

The Westin Ottawa Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.8/10
11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Westin Ottawa in Ottawa

# 2 of 53 hotels in Ottawa
Based on 80 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Westin Ottawa
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.7.0
9.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Westin Ottawa
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Westin Ottawa

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Montreal, Canada
April 9, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
Very large, clean new looking rooms
no free wifi in rooms

Beautiful hotel, excellent location right in the market and attached to the Rideau Centre, but it is quite expensive, and there is no free wifi in the rooms. Also, while the restaurant is excellent, it is again, quite expensive, for what it is. Room service is almost half the price and just as good.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Kingston, Canada
February 27, 2014
Group Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Michael from Huntsville, Canada
February 22, 2014
Couple
10.0
Location and the view was amazing!
Our bedding was not changed on day 2 even though we left the card on the bed requesting it to be made up. Also the wifi costs 10.95 for 24 hrs but the service was intermittent frustrating as it was not always available when we needed access.

Our room was spacious & beautiful and the bed was very comfortable.

Couple
Wayne from Guelph, Canada
February 12, 2014
Couple
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Gatineau, Canada
January 3, 2014
Couple
7.0
Rooms were spacious and modern
Our room was next to the elevator and the noise in the hallway was disturbing
Couple
Louis from Ottawa, Canada
January 3, 2014
Couple
9.0
You cannot beat the location if you wish to be downtown in Ottawa
Couple
George from Sudbury, Canada
January 2, 2014
Couple
8.0
Service and convenient location.
Internet not included.
Jason from Guelph, Canada
December 29, 2013
5.0
Very appealing to the eye, nicely decorated.
Yes, I was asked to join some Starwood preferred guest program. The receptionist at the desk said it was free and we'd receive free wifi in our room. We did not get the wifi but our final bill had a charge of 4.65 plus tax for a "Destination Marketing

Program". Somewhat disappointed they feel they can charge things like this when given a credit card.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Mont-Royal, Canada
October 15, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Beds were very comfortable, my 3 years old loved the pool and I enjoyed the sauna.
They charge for the WiFi.

Nice Hotel, steps away from the By ward market and Parliament Hill

Family Traveling with Teens
Daniel from Windsor, Canada
September 3, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
The hotel location was perfect, just 2 blocks from uOttawa, physically attached to the Rideau Centre, within walking distance of Parliament, the Byward market, the National Arts Centre, the Rideau canal and the National Gallery.
The hotel only has double beds rather than queen size. With 4 of us in the room it was a little cramped for sleeping but certainly not a show stopper. The bathroom uses a sliding door that was rather stiff and heavy. Wifi was available for a fee.

The hotel address is 11 Colonel By Drv but the actual entrance is on Daly right at the intersection. If approaching on Daly from Waller or Nelson use the left hand turn lane until the intersection then swing right into the entrance. The right hand turn lane has been turned into a taxi stand. We used the valet parking at $35/day rather than the self park at $20/day. There are extra changes for taking your car in and out if you self park. The valet parking was a time saver and they dealt with finding a spot and cramped spaces. They ask for 15 minutes notice to retrieve the car but it was usually pulling up as we walked out. We were offered a room upgrade at $20/day which we took. The upgrade rooms are wider which is great for a family of 4 and the view was excellent. Our room overlooked Parliament, the Rideau canal, the National Arts Centre, and the Chateau Laurier (renamed Hogwarts by the kids). The hotel was very clean but looked like it was in need of some updates. The staff were great and very service oriented. The breakfast at the Daly Restaurant was very expensive so we ate at the Richtree in the lower level of the Rideau Centre for about half price. I was a little disappointed that wifi was not included in the room price but could be added at a fee. I believe we paidXXX which included 3 devices connected for the 5 days. The bathroom used a sliding door which was very heavy and needed some momentum to close. In general we were very pleased with the hotel and enjoyed the convenience of the valet parking. We checked out at a busy time but they had no issues getting our car up to the door and still took a few minutes to help me with directions out of the downtown core. We will be staying here again in the future. The room price through priceline.com was billed to my credit card when we booked so be aware that you may wind up paying before you even check in. Also, be aware of the lack of free cancellation when booking through priceline.com. Great trip overall. ...read more

Reviews of The Westin Ottawa
(1 - 10 of 31 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Westin Ottawa
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg