The Red Lion Inn

The Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge

The Red Lion Inn

The Red Lion Inn Image
3 Star
30 Main Street
Stockbridge, MA 01262
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge

Check Rates and Availability at the The Red Lion Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Red Lion Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
June from Lawrenceville, NJ
September 17, 2014
Couple
10.0
Charming with large rooms.
The floors squeak when people walk by and traffic was noisy outside our room by 6am.

It was beautiful, well located in town and the restaurant was excellent. I would ask for a room not facing the main street in the future.

Couple
Steve from Norwalk, CT
September 1, 2014
Couple
10.0
Very much what I would expect of a New England country inn. Comfortable, relaxing.
Cell service in the entire area is extremely poor.
Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Greenwich, CT
August 28, 2014
Senior Travelers
10.0
It would have been lovely if it had been centrally air-conditioned instead of using noisy room a/c's, but I know that would have been impossible. I wanted a distinguished old hotel and that is exactly what I got.
Thomas from Henrico, VA
August 22, 2014
4.0
Outside appearance
Room was small. It was like staying at a relatives guest bedroom.

Staff were as nice as could be. Noise between rooms was requested to be quiet between 9pm - 9am. If no voluntary compliance it could be an issue. No coffee in room.

Couple
Dawn from Wakefield, RI
August 21, 2014
Couple
7.0
Location in Stockbridge and parking; and the fact that it had functioned as a hotel or boarding house since it first opened back in 1700's.
Being period correct is a lovely idea in concept; however the bathroom had few modern updates. Taking a shower in a claw footed tub with no space for a bar of soap, much less shampoo an conditioner was beyond annoying.

Parents with children take note: water can come out of the sink and tub faucets scolding hot! Most homes an public building are required by law to have special mixing values that correct this problem. However as some of you DIY'ers know local codes do necessarily require you to update an area like a bathroom every time the code changes. I did not in investigate this issue further, so other rooms may have more modern facilities. My last comment would be regarding breakfast, I was under the false allusion that I would have a complementary Continental type breakfast included with our room. The only thing that was complementary was a cup of coffee offered in their tavern from 6 -8 am; when I went after breakfast to pick up a cup of coffee for my husband after my breakfast at 8:55 am I was told about that the service ended at 8:00 am, but thankfully the waitstaff accomidated me with some coffee in a styro to-go cup. The Farm to Table restaurant had a lovely menu, although the offerings for me were more limited, my husband loved his prime rib at dinner an the service was great. ...read more

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Bristol, RI
July 17, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
Location and attention to the historic nature of the area.
Nothing

Lovely decore, comfortable seating, center of the town with all its charm and activities.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Basking Ridge, NJ
June 8, 2014
Couple
8.0
Location
Too expensive

Good location, fun bars, restaurant okay.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Oakland, CA
May 18, 2014
Couple
10.0
This hotel has a lot of history and character, has their own cat, the food was delicious, and staff was great. We loved sitting out on the veranda with our drinks in the evening. Would definitely stay again.
We were here in the off-season, and so it wasn't that busy and our hall was quiet -- being an old building with creaky floors and thin walls, I could see that it might be noisier when it is a busier season.
Group Traveler
Karl from Branford, CT
March 24, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
Old world charm, good food, cozy, pub

This is a great getawy spot , less that two hours from New Haven Ct, very lelaxing atmosphere . Even in winter , fire is lit in the cozy lobby all day , loved it

Verified Hotel Guest from East Setauket, NY
January 16, 2014
4.0
Very quiet location (we were in "Stevens House," across the road, behind some private homes), though in some ways too quiet; it felt a bit deserted and isolated. The bed was very comfortable, the wifi was good and reliable, windows opened for fresh air.
Felt dowdy for 3 stars; room did not feel secure, and no services in this "cottage"; everything was inaccessible, across a busy road. No safe in room, flimsy lock on door, deserted building.

This is clearly an old "inn" aiming for the colonial feel, and generally achieving it. The ambiance, though, was a little too old-timey, with old twist button locks on the room door, which anyone could open by lust leaning hard, or by sliding a credit card into the gaping space between door and jamb. The lobby was furnished with the requisite chintz, overstuffed furniture and "colonial" knick-knacks, with a heavy (too heavy) overlay of Yankee-candle that couldn't disguise an undercurrent sour smell that couldn't be anything but a sewage smell. Staying in the "Stevens House" was quaint, but basically meant that we were too far away (about 500 feet, across main street and through the main building) to use any of the amenities, from the health club to the outdoor heated swimming pool (it was January, but 40-50 degrees outside, and I've swum in salt water in December, so I might have swum here, if it had been feasible). Maybe the other rooms are nicer, and we got the low-end because we booked on Priceline, but it's hard to see how this rates more than a 2-star rating. Some things were good: nice to have a blu-ray player in the room (but were there dvd's to borrow? didn't find any information about that in the hotel brochures. who brings their own on a trip?) and the TV was big and clear, if incongruous among the 18th Century decor. Why were there amateurish paintings in the room? One a supine nude woman and the other an unframed (!) painting of a cellist. Anyway - not a bad place to stay, but not three stars. Right "downtown" in Stockbridge, but there's just the two streets... ...read more

Reviews of The Red Lion Inn
(1 - 10 of 15 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Red Lion Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg