The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel in Honolulu

The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.7/10
2863 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96815
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel in Honolulu

# 18 of 121 hotels in Honolulu
Based on 19 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Check Rates and Availability at the The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Sumter, SC
October 11, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
Friendly staff, location was convenient but not in crowded part of town, right on nice beach
Family Traveling with Young Children
Karl from Chicago, IL
February 22, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
Kaimana beach is right out the side door. Best family friendly beach in honolulu.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Houston, TN
September 9, 2013
Couple
4.0
Location is good. Just by the beach where great sunset can be watched.
1) No free guest parking, it is $24.00/day valet parking which is a lot of money. It is difficult to park on the street because of the timing and crowd to the beach. 2) Rooms are really small for the money. No coffee maker in the room.

Great location. Small rooms. No coffee-maker (to get that you need to read the fine-prints). To get other amenities one needs to read all the fine prints. Somewhat friendly staff. The attendant outside on 09/07/2013 morning shift did not open the taxi door for us, and our taxi driver got mad at the guy for not opening the taxi door. It does not matter to me, but they are supposed to do it as they advertise, or do for other people who wear flashy clothes. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Gilbert, AZ
May 13, 2013
Couple
4.0
The tree restaurant had very good food and it had a very nice ambiance.
I did not like how the bathroom had a door with slits in it and that you could see through it and hear the other person going to to the bathroom. I also did not like how the bathroom did not have a fan inside to help with airing it out.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Campbell, CA
May 5, 2013
Couple
7.0
Great location if you don't want to be in the busy Waikiki area. The restaurant in the hotel was on The beach and had a beautiful view. You can't see Diamond Head since you are located at the base, but you are across the street from the park.
It was a little dated, but very pleasant. There was also a lot of people and you were required to make a reservation A day in advance for the on site restaurant, which can be difficult if you wanted to eat there when you first arrive.

Park across the street to avoid parking fees. A great deal, since there is very limited and expensive Parking in the heart of Waikiki, ($20-30 a day). That Really saves some money! Also, as soon as you arrive make a reservation at the restaurant so you are able to eat on site for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Chevy Chase, MD
April 28, 2013
Solo Traveler
10.0
The location of the hotel was perfect for my needs--right on the water but away from the crowds at the other end of Waikiki (ground zero). The hotel is right next to a lovely park and a pleasant walk along the beachfront to downtown. Great staff and food!
No, I'd come again any time.

The hotel is right on San Souci Beach, which is a marine conservation area. Snorkeling and swimming open to all. The Honolulu Aquarium is practically next door and bus service takes you downtown or to Diamond Head-even to the airport if necessary. Staff is very helpful and friendly and the restaurant very popular. Food was fresh and delicious. Just a perfect base for exploring Honolulu without getting swept up by the crowds on Waikiki beach half a mile away. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Arlington, VA
January 6, 2013
Couple
9.0
The location was very good. It's out of the hustle and bustle of main Waikiki traffic, but still within walking distance.
The restaurant, although highly rated,wasn't as good as expected. It does have a nice ocean-front setting.

The hotel location is in a nice peaceful part of the city with a great beach. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I look forward to another return one day!

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Davis, CA
December 26, 2012
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
Out of the hubbub of central Waikiki, lovely beach, pretty setting, helpful staff for the most part
On our arrival we were shocked to find that our room was not at all as described on the website. We brought it up with the reception desk and they were able to relocate us. The hotel has a section that is old and right on the street with outdated and sort

This is a lovely hotel if you want to be slightly set apart from the hubbub and you enjoy walking about a half mile to the edge of main part of Waikiki. Beautiful beaches surround the hotel. Close to aquarium and zoo. Dining options limited at the hotel itself (and we found the coffee to be like the kind you would find at a bad cafeteria--not good for this level hotel) although the high-end japanese restaurant is outstanding and the main restaurant has a beautiful setting. Dining for children is very limited. If you are facing the parking lots being situated higher up yields beautiful views of Diamond Head (otherwise depressing). Bathrooms are dated and small but clean. Staff mostly extremely friendly and helpful. ...read more

Couple
Gubees from Sharon Hill, PA
December 6, 2011
Couple
10.0
They had a tour assistant in th main lobby, which was very helpful.
The room seemed a little smaller in person.

It's a beautiful hotel! The room was smaller than I had expected, but the friendly staff/people made up for it. Beautiful view from the room. A good distance from the airport and a shuttle is provided to get back to and from the airport.

Couple
G. from Burnaby, Canada
November 16, 2011
Couple
7.0
the beach access was excellent and it was at the end of Waikiki (another bonus)
staff did not compensate us for having to put up with the smokers next to us even though it's a non-smoking hotel

If you have to stay in Waikiki (and I would advise against this since the rest of Hawai'i is much more beautiful than the gross consumerism and overall homogeneity of the Waikiki "strip") then the New Otani Hotel is as good as any since it is at the far end of Waikiki and so that much further away from the omnipresent ABC stores selling so-called Hawaiian goods made in the Philippines. The hotel staff were pleasant but I would have preferred if they were slightly more solicitous when it came to accommodating our request to change rooms due to a smoker in the next room over drifting cigarette smoke into our room via the balcony. The hotel is supposedly a non-smoking environment. It was a high-priced hotel with a mediocre restaurant and average rooms. I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family mostly because I wouldn't recommend Waikiki to them. If you want to experience Hawai'i, stay away from Waikiki. ...read more

Reviews of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg