The Moderne

The Moderne in New York City

The Moderne

The Moderne Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.7/10
243 West 55Th Street
New York, NY 10019

Hotel Guest Rating for The Moderne in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 46 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Moderne
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Dining
user rating 3.0.0
3.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Moderne
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Moderne

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Omaha, NE
July 18, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0
Staff was fabulous - beds were very comfortable - place was quiet despite being in the middle of everything.
AC didn't work. They had a repairman look at it and he couldn't fix it.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Minesing, Canada
July 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
The staff here are fantastic! Great recommendations for dining and really helpful for figuring out how to get to various attractions. The location was perfect! Minutes to Times Square & Central Park
The room was rather small and faced a brick wall which really sucked. The air conditioning didn't quite work and the toilet was noisy (the pipes were noisy at night)

The beds are comfy and the staff friendly, while not your typical hotel this is a fantastic choice for someone who wants to stay off the beaten path. It was quiet and comfortable and a fantastic location - just don't expect it to be like a major hotel!

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Stratford, CT
June 8, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Excellent location, stellar customer service, round the clock coffee/tea/hot choc available in the 2nd fl guest lounge, big shower with Bigelow toiletries, soft duvet & comfy beds. 2 queen beds with ample room to move in a NYC hotel room is quite nice.
Limited counter space in the bathroom, noticed a big stain on a pillow on the bed(was sticking out of its case). Fabric chairs in the guest lounge could use a good steam cleaning.

I was travelling w/my teenage daughter and her friend. Called ahead to ask if we could have 2 beds instead of 1 king. Not only were we given 2 beds, but we were not up-charged. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Robbi at the front desk. He could not have been any nicer. He asked where we were headed for dinner, then he recommended a dessert place that he thought the girls would like. The following AM, we were greeted by Penny at the front desk. Penny was lovely and very helpful. Upon checkout, my parking voucher for the garage next door was validated. The Moderne has an arrangement w/the garage: $25/24hrs. UNHEARD OF IN NYC. PERIOD. Penny said she would have our bags stored while we shopped, ate lunch, etc AFTER we had checked out! Upon our arrival to retrieve our luggage, Penny asked us if we wanted to go up to the 2nd fl lounge for a cup of coffee and to relax if we had time. So hospitable, especially since I had already checked out!!! I respectfully declined, so Penny called for our bags, and even took my ticket next door to the garage so my car would be ready to go. I think this may be our new go to for a night out in the city. ...read more

Couple
Cecil from Mesa, AZ
May 18, 2014
Couple
7.0
Excellent location. Staff was very friendly. The room was small but clean.
The size of the room was small.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Delanco, NJ
May 16, 2014
Couple
9.0
Very colorful decor. The staff was very helpful with all of our needs. The room was clean and very spacious for NYC.
No.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Told us everything we would need to know at the front desk. Even brought a bucket of ice to our room when we asked about the missing bucket. The room even had a 'loaner' umbrella if needed. The entire hotel had been recently renovated, and was very clean. I liked the quirky modern decor. The bathroom had a shower that had no borders. Which was interesting, but was a great shower (good pressure, and had a wand if you don't like a rain shower). They offered $25 per 24 hour parking right next door, and for NYC, you really can't ask for better than that. Overall, a great place to stay. We really liked it. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Thomas from Chester Basin, Canada
April 27, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Staff were welcoming and very helpful. The location couldn't have been better for us- 2 mins to Central Park and five mins. to Times Square.

A very small boutique hotel . The rooms are modern and beds very comfortable.There is a lounge that has coffee etc...24hrs and in the morning has cake between 7 and 10 am. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

Couple
Marsha from Windsor, CT
November 20, 2013
Couple
8.0
Staff were very nice & the location perfect for Lincoln Center and MOMA.
The bathroom in this room was weird. There was no separation between the shower and rest of bath (not even a curtain). Shower made a flood as drains did not work right. I was afraid my elderly husband would fall and had to stand by...Avoid room 804

Good location and adequate room (a bit small we kept bumping into the corners of the platform bed. Otherwise OK.

Business Traveler
David from District Of Columbia, DC
November 8, 2013
Business Traveler
9.0
Friendly front desk staff, good location, and nice accommodation.
Business Traveler
Mark from Philadelphia, PA
November 2, 2013
Business Traveler
7.0
Location, efficiency, style. it was simple but modern, in great condition.
Mattress very very soft. HVAC very noisy.

Hotel was a bit more compact than I had imagined from the online photos and descriptions. Small room and bath, but its NYC so not overly surprised, esp at this price point. No real public spaces so you're limited to your room. Good amenities in the room, nicely done. Small but nice bath except missing some shelf space in critical locations. For the location and price, definitely a good choice. ...read more

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Austin, TX
October 28, 2013
Business Traveler
5.0
Location was good with nearby access to subways, shopping, restaurant choices. The rooms were nicely appointed and modern. Beds comfortable and linens clean.
Tiny room. Would have preferred a queen bed over a king to create more space to move in the room. When I checked in I had to request further cleaning of the room. One day the room was not cleaned despite the sign being left on door.
Reviews of The Moderne
(1 - 10 of 29 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Moderne
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg