The Moderne

The Moderne

The Moderne Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.7/10
243 West 55Th Street
New York, NY 10019

Hotel Guest Rating for The Moderne in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 85 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Moderne
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 3.0.0
3.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Moderne
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Moderne

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Chestertown, MD
March 3, 2015
Business Traveler
9.0
Staffs were very friendly. There was a guest lounge which had free coffee and banana loafs in the morning. The room was clean and spacious.
It's hard to avoid the noise from the NYC street. I was at the top floor but I could still hear the sirens and honking from the street.
Business Traveler
Kay from Texarkana, TX
February 9, 2015
Business Traveler
10.0
The complementary cake and tea was the best. The staff was wonderful and helpful. They made you feel like they really cared that you had a good time. Super friendly and personable.
There were a few little house keeping glitches like no bar soap or a washcloth. Had I asked I am sure they would have given me what I needed. I just didn't ask. The rooms were clean.

What a great hotel in a great central location. I will recommend this hotel again to others.

Business Traveler
William from Stevenson Ranch, CA
October 26, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
Great location and staff (Robbi).
wifi could have been stronger.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Rogers, AR
October 1, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
Great little hotel.
If you are looking for a swimming pool, exercise room or a lobby bar, this is not the place for you.
Business Traveler
Pete from Englewood, CO
September 9, 2014
Business Traveler
6.0
Good Location, Easy Access.
The room clearly had some negatives. The desk lamp didn't function properly, there was no accessible wall outlet by the desk, the key holder which activated the room lights and A/C did not work properly, the A/C was not efficient (77 degrees at lowest).

Hotel was nice - well kept, clean, etc. No cell service in my room, which was not convenient. Wifi was strong thought.

Business Traveler
Terri from High Point, NC
July 31, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
The employees were fantastic and so helpful! The location was wonderful!
Was worried about the big sign on the front door of the hotel that says VACATE!Seems when they did renovations in the basement, the city gov't refused them an occupancy permit because they did not install a window in the office!Sign is 14 yrs old!

Even though there is almost NO reception area when you check in, there is a guest area on the second floor which is very nice. Coffee, water, ice, snacks, etc.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Omaha, NE
July 18, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0
Staff was fabulous - beds were very comfortable - place was quiet despite being in the middle of everything.
AC didn't work. They had a repairman look at it and he couldn't fix it.
Business Traveler
David from District Of Columbia, DC
November 8, 2013
Business Traveler
9.0
Friendly front desk staff, good location, and nice accommodation.
Business Traveler
Mark from Philadelphia, PA
November 2, 2013
Business Traveler
7.0
Location, efficiency, style. it was simple but modern, in great condition.
Mattress very very soft. HVAC very noisy.

Hotel was a bit more compact than I had imagined from the online photos and descriptions. Small room and bath, but its NYC so not overly surprised, esp at this price point. No real public spaces so you're limited to your room. Good amenities in the room, nicely done. Small but nice bath except missing some shelf space in critical locations. For the location and price, definitely a good choice. ...read more

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Austin, TX
October 28, 2013
Business Traveler
5.0
Location was good with nearby access to subways, shopping, restaurant choices. The rooms were nicely appointed and modern. Beds comfortable and linens clean.
Tiny room. Would have preferred a queen bed over a king to create more space to move in the room. When I checked in I had to request further cleaning of the room. One day the room was not cleaned despite the sign being left on door.
Reviews of The Moderne
(1 - 10 of 11 business traveler reviews)
See all 49 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the The Moderne
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.