Hotels in Portland

The Mark Spencer Hotel

The Mark Spencer Hotel

The Mark Spencer Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.6/10
409 Southwest Eleventh Avenue
Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Guest Rating for The Mark Spencer Hotel in Portland

# 16 of 133 hotels in Portland
Based on 89 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Mark Spencer Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Check Rates and Availability at the The Mark Spencer Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Mark Spencer Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Mary from Siletz, OR
April 9, 2014
Couple
10.0
Staff is wonderful. Location to get to Keller Auditorium, Powell Bookstore, etc. is excellent. Several good restaurants in walking distance. They allow small pets with $25 fee a night - something we just learned this trip.
Parking garage has TINY spaces if you come in Jeep or SUV - but parking is free!

Feels like historic old building remodeled- lovely atrium for breakfast and wine in afternoon. Nice meeting rooms added on first floor. There is annex full of more rooms you can walk to around corner.

Couple
Lani from Tacoma, WA
April 4, 2014
Couple
10.0
Perfect location to walk to Powells Books, the riverfront, the Portland Art Museum, etc.
WiFi was a little slow, but it was free.
Couple
Katherine from North Vancouver, Canada
March 27, 2014
Couple
9.0
Comfortable hotel, welcoming staff, and breakfast and daily wine reception was a nice touch. Also really enjoyed the coffee/late machine available 24 hours a day!
I wouldn't say we didn't like it, but some of the rooms haven't been renovated yet, and although these rooms were a bit dated, they were still very comfortable. The hotel staff said they are hoping to have all rooms renovated by 2015.

Fabulous location. Easy walking distance to the brewery district, downtown, and the waterfront. Transit system easily accessible too. The hotel is a lovely small boutique style hotel, and the staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely return!

Couple
Sallie from Goldendale, WA
March 9, 2014
Couple
10.0
This is the perfect hotel. So elegant. Love the white-on-white-on white (plus dark furniture) decor of the rooms. Simply elegant. Very quiet too. Love the carefully restored old building. Elegant in its careful editing; not one unnecessary doo-dad.
The doorman is a very nice person. I just wish that he would tone down the friendliness. It left me feeling obligated, and it didn't fit the character of the hotel.

I first stayed in this hotel in 1999 (?) and it was love at first sight. I recently looked up hotels in Seattle, looking for the equivalent to the Mark Spencer, but all the hotels fell short. We ended up choosing to do our vacation in Portland because we wanted to stay at the Mark Spencer. Seriously. It out-classes all the rest, even the expensive ones with all the silly frou-frou and designer ego. (I hate that stuff.) It's also in the perfect location, couldn't be better: Powell's Book Store, Whole Earth grocery, and marvelous restaurants, bars, and shops so close, easy walking distance. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Corvallis, OR
February 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
9.0
The Mark Spencer is a wonderful hotel with excellent staff. My room was impeccably clean ann the staff was attentive. The room I was given had a complete kitchenette.
The bathroom had lose tiles around the shower. The continental breakfast needs a protein added. Yogurt doesn't cut it in my option. I wish they had in room coffee.

All in all this hotel was great and is a superb 3 star establishment.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Sioux Falls, SD
February 25, 2014
Couple
10.0
The bed was awesome. The room was clean and had lots of great amenities.
No

Great location for exploring the city by foot.

Couple
Carrol from Otter Rock, OR
December 28, 2013
Couple
8.0
convenient location in downtown. walking distance to Powell's, Jakes and just about everything else.
No.

Includes lovely breakfast and cookies, coffee and tea all day.

Senior Travelers
Leslie from Astoria, OR
December 27, 2013
Senior Travelers
9.0
The location and staff are superb! I also like that this property has been modernized from apartments to a hotel.
For rooms near the street, they should have ear plugs for guests to use.

Beds are wonderful!

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Anacortes, WA
November 17, 2013
Business Traveler
3.0
Great location, competent staff
There was significant construction/remodeling of the rooms going on inside the hotel, which the hotel and Priceline should have made clear on their respective web sites.

Lovely old hotel with a perfect downtown location. Just make sure that they are finished with their room remodeling before you book!

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Meadow Vista, CA
October 12, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
6.0
Location
For the price the room seemed old , not up dated.

We stayed here back in March and the room we had was beautiful! So I was expecting the same this time . Not so , the room was old and the hide a bed lumpy. For XXX!

Reviews of The Mark Spencer Hotel
(1 - 10 of 45 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Mark Spencer Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg