The James Chicago

The James Chicago in Chicago

The James Chicago

The James Chicago Image
4 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.8/10
55 East Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Guest Rating for The James Chicago in Chicago

# 19 of 173 hotels in Chicago
Based on 470 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The James Chicago
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.6.0
9.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Check Rates and Availability at the The James Chicago
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The James Chicago

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Peoria, IL
January 21, 2015
Couple
7.0
location

Hotel is fine but not a 4.5 star as advertised.

Couple
Philip from Chicago, IL
January 21, 2015
Couple
10.0
Convenient to everything we wanted to do on NY Eve. The free lift to our first destinationis great - car holds up to 8 people - so all 8 of us could ride together!!!
Solo Traveler
Shannon from Fort Smith, AR
January 7, 2015
Solo Traveler
10.0
The service was amazing! The rooms were amazing!
The wait for drinks at the bar, but the staff was friendly
Couple
Thaddeus from Highland, IN
January 6, 2015
Couple
7.0
The $25.00 breakfast buffet was the biggest rip-off!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Naperville, IL
January 5, 2015
Couple
5.0
Comfortable beds. Well designed rooms. Plenty of places to sit.
Site indicates option to choose room preference but preference wasn't honored.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Houston, TX
December 30, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
Very close to shopping and dining (Magnificent Mile). Literally walking distance from everything. Friendly and courteous staff.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Robert from Louisville, KY
December 25, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
This hotel is located with steps of many restaurants and great shopping. It is also close to many of the tourist sites and museums.
The rooms were small. The amenities are few. The bathroom was poorly cleaned (mold in shower) and the low flow toilet constantly backed up. There was thick layers of dust on the cabinet in the room. Furnishings showed signs of wear and moisture damage.

This hotel tries to be a hip, contemporary oasis in the city. Unfortunately it falls terribly short of its goal. It is an average hotel in a city of above average competition.

Couple
Scott from Marquette, MI
December 25, 2014
Couple
10.0
Love this hotel. Great access to the michigan mile. Staff was amazing and very helpful
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Davenport, IA
December 22, 2014
Couple
10.0
Customer service was beyond excellent! We would stay at The James Hotel again because of this (as long as we would get around the same price point we got online for our stay)
Nice hotel, but room could use a few touch ups (paint, ceiling paint in bathroom) and the sink in bathroom could definitely be smaller or need to change to the newer sleek round sinks, as there was absolutely no counter space to use when getting ready.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Iowa City, IA
December 17, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
We arrived early in the day, just expecting to drop off our bags--but our room was ready and we checked in early, even getting an upgrade! Very nice and efficient staff. Cool room.
Reviews of The James Chicago
(1 - 10 of 202 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The James Chicago
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg