The James Chicago

The James Chicago in Chicago

The James Chicago

The James Chicago Image
4 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.8/10
55 East Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Guest Rating for The James Chicago in Chicago

# 23 of 164 hotels in Chicago
Based on 399 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The James Chicago
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.6.0
9.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Check Rates and Availability at the The James Chicago
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The James Chicago

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Thornhill, Canada
August 15, 2014
Couple
8.0
Great boutique style hotel with an excellent staff who are more than helpful. Rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. Room service was among the best I've had.
Valet parking at $60/day. There's also a $45/day self park option but it doesn't have in/out privileges.

Fantastic location, service and room.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Jeremyh from Lapel, IN
August 15, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Great hotel, all the employees were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel!!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Houston, TX
August 15, 2014
Couple
7.0
The services (concierge, bell staff) was great. Everyone was very friendly, and went out of their way to help. We also enjoyed dining in the restaurant. Food was excellent.
Our room was very noisy. We were on the 8th floor and we heard alot of noise from the street. Also there was a lot of noise from the surrounding rooms and hallway that kept waking us up throughout the night.

Friendly staff, great location, great restaurant. Lower level rooms are not desirable and bathroom was unimpressive (chipped, rusted, shallow tub). I was surprised when we asked to move up to a higher level we were denied. Front desk said our selected room was on that floor and they weren't willing to offer an upgrade (I would've paid, but was never asked!). After staying at various other hotels in Chicago I don't see us returning to The James. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Warrenville, IL
August 5, 2014
Couple
5.0
The gym and location were the best part of this hotel. Everything else was below expectations.
The bed was uncomfortable, the room was sparse and decor was boring. Fixtures were loose, numbs were out and it was noisy.

I'm not sure if it was because we bid on this room but what we heard and read about this hotel was completely contrary to what we experienced and saw. Was quite disappointed and fell we definitely over paid. This is not a 4 star hotel. Not even close.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Park Hills, KY
July 25, 2014
Couple
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Eric from Colorado Springs, CO
July 25, 2014
Couple
6.0
Great gym, great decor and clean.
Too many things were broken in my first room. They switched me to a different room, and things were broken there too. Details are important, for a luxury hotel, the little things should work.
Group Traveler
Wilfredo from Cupertino, CA
July 16, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
The room was quaint, which provided enough room to relax. The staff was superb with their service.

The hotel is very beautiful and very close to Michigan St, which is the main tourist attraction area. Also it was near good places to eat and hang out.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Dyersville, IA
July 15, 2014
Couple
10.0
The location and the staff was excellent.
The room was not huge.
Business Traveler
Matthew from Washington, DC
July 12, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Teens
Victor from Solon, OH
July 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Reviews of The James Chicago
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The James Chicago
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg