The James Chicago

The James Chicago in Chicago

The James Chicago

The James Chicago Image
4 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.8/10
55 East Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Guest Rating for The James Chicago in Chicago

# 23 of 164 hotels in Chicago
Based on 399 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The James Chicago
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.6.0
9.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Check Rates and Availability at the The James Chicago
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The James Chicago

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Howell from Boiling Springs, PA
August 29, 2014
Couple
10.0
Very modern, very clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We asked a lot from them and they delivered with a smile. I was given a room upgrade when the front desk saw that I was in the military. I was very impressed.
It was one of the hottest weekends of the year and the air conditioner in the room did not work very well. The room was hot and uncomfortable.

Overall, this was a great hotel. I would stay there again.

Family Traveling with Teens
William from Katy, TX
August 27, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
It was our first time to Chicago, the staff was very helpful, let us know were the restaurants were. Didn't mine getting wet when it was raining to load our car. My sister-in-law has been to Chicago several time and was very impress with The James Hotel.
no
Kurt Reuss from Toronto, Canada
August 27, 2014
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Teens
Alan from Ringwood, NJ
August 25, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Great location close to Michigan Ave and lots of restaurants. Walking distance to public transit and Navy Pier.
The windows, even when closed, let in a lot of outside noise. Even six floors up, there were plenty of street sounds coming in.
Group Traveler
James from Bradenton, FL
August 21, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Christopher from Brooklyn Park, MN
August 19, 2014
Couple
9.0
Amazing Staff.
Incredibly small bathroom.

Amazing staff. Neat hotel, but not very big. Great location.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Thornhill, Canada
August 15, 2014
Couple
8.0
Great boutique style hotel with an excellent staff who are more than helpful. Rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. Room service was among the best I've had.
Valet parking at $60/day. There's also a $45/day self park option but it doesn't have in/out privileges.

Fantastic location, service and room.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Jeremyh from Lapel, IN
August 15, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Great hotel, all the employees were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel!!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Houston, TX
August 15, 2014
Couple
7.0
The services (concierge, bell staff) was great. Everyone was very friendly, and went out of their way to help. We also enjoyed dining in the restaurant. Food was excellent.
Our room was very noisy. We were on the 8th floor and we heard alot of noise from the street. Also there was a lot of noise from the surrounding rooms and hallway that kept waking us up throughout the night.

Friendly staff, great location, great restaurant. Lower level rooms are not desirable and bathroom was unimpressive (chipped, rusted, shallow tub). I was surprised when we asked to move up to a higher level we were denied. Front desk said our selected room was on that floor and they weren't willing to offer an upgrade (I would've paid, but was never asked!). After staying at various other hotels in Chicago I don't see us returning to The James. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Green Bay, WI
August 12, 2014
Couple
10.0
Welcoming staff throughout our stay; location couldn't be better; pleasant room.
Outside noise carried up to the 14th floor.

The hotel is situated perfectly for shopping and restaurants and main walking routes. The room was minimalistic but it served our purposes. I also appreciated the attention to environmental concerns with shower supplies (shampoo, conditioner, body wash) on the all. No unnecessary little plastic bottles. And loved the glass bottles of filtered water, free. As a water drinker I totally appreciated it and and real glasses, no plastic. ...read more

Reviews of The James Chicago
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The James Chicago
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg