The Hotel Saranac

The Hotel Saranac

The Hotel Saranac Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 4.3/10
100 Main Street
Saranac Lake, NY 12983

Hotel Guest Rating for The Hotel Saranac in Saranac Lake

# 2 of 3 hotels in Saranac Lake
Based on 70 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Hotel Saranac
Overall Quality Score
user rating 4.3.0
4.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 4.2.0
4.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 5.8.0
5.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 1.4.0
1.4
Check Rates and Availability at the The Hotel Saranac
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Hotel Saranac

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Teens
Tamara from Toronto, Canada
October 15, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
1.0
Hotel is very bad

This hotel is so run down. This was the worst experience I ever had in the hotel in North America. I paidxxx for deluxe room with two beds, no smoking (we were travelling with a daughter). When we arrived there was only one room left - standard with one king bed, previous guests smoked in that room. people in the neighboring room were smoking too.

Couple
Andrew from Auburn, NY
October 14, 2013
Couple
3.0
Good price and location
Our room smelled funky, our bathroom had tiles missing, the tiniest toilet I've ever seen, and a shower that you wouldn't want to stand in without flip-flops. I didn't expect deluxe, but I expect clean and in reasonable repair.

Good location, good prices, old, small, smelly rooms, and terrible bathroom accommodations. Spend the extra money to stay someplace nicer.

Couple
Donald from Albany, NY
October 9, 2013
Couple
10.0
It is an outstanding example of an updated fine hotel from the mid 1800's. If this hotel was in Mackinac Island, Michigan, it would cost $200.00 per night.

We loved the charm of the lobby, the neighborhood, the lake, and the surrounding area.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Wellsville, NY
September 28, 2013
Couple
2.0
The only positive thing about the hotel is that in 2 days, I only saw about 6 other unfortunate visitors.
The young counter agent was courteous and respectful, but the gentleman who seemed to operate in the "manager" role, who was identified as part of the family of ownership, was rather unhelpful and disrespectful.

One look at the exterior of the hotel, and it is clear that the advertised image is one of a "age past". Rooms are very outdated and poorly maintained. The gentleman at the counter enthusiastically offered, that the hotel has been sold. (present ownership obviously cares little about your experience.) Even though this was the lowest priced option on the PRICE LINE site, for the area, it is not a value! Even if it were half the price, it would not have been a positive experience. This is an extremely bad representation for PRICE LINE. ...read more

Couple
Douglas from New Castle, PA
September 27, 2013
Couple
7.0
Walking distance to food, shops, and bars. It was also a nice driving distance to Lake Placid and activities.
The shower was very old and was acceptable but could have been cleaner

The hotel was ok small room very dated but fairly clean.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Amsterdam, NY
September 3, 2013
Couple
1.0
Helpful and very friendly staff
It smells like 100 year old cigarette smoke. Our first room didn't have a lock on the door and the toilet kept flushing on its own. We got moved to another room which was not much better. There was a cigarette butt smashed inbetween the window and screen.

Awful. I do not recommend. Smells awful. Rooms are small. Bathroom disgusting, tub was filthy. Room hasn't been dusted in years. Lock on door was broken. Walls stained. Elevator only works If you slam your finger on the button as hard as you can. Vending machines only tke change both dollar slots are broken. Only one ice machine on the 2nd floor. Doors held open by crushed by bud lt cans. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Canandaigua, NY
August 14, 2013
Couple
1.0
Nothing
The entire hotel was a rundown broken, stale, dirty, unkempt place. There was no water or sewr for hours after checking in. Tried to cancel reservations d/t conditions. Older guy at desk stated no problem, yet charged me, refusing to credit days later

I REPORTED TO SARANAC DEPT OF HEALTH, which they stated they had many complaints on. When I checked into the hotel around 2:30pm on 8/9/13, the older man of Indian decent was at the front desk. He took my name, asked for my credit card, then had me register my vehicle information with them on a form, and then sign off at the bottom acknowledging the reservation and fee. After I signed, he informed me there was no water in the entire building, and it would be 30 minutes until it would be available. At that point I wouldn¿t have sign anything if he had told me that first. The card reader for the door was not working properly, the handle fell off the door latch. Finally did get in the room. Once in the room, the room smelled like the hallway which smelled stale, moldy and musty. The room was terrible, linens did look freshly washed, sheets were stained, our queen size bed I booked, was a full size, the adjoining room door had no working lock on it, the bathroom was gross, mold was halfway up the shower wall (which we have pictures of), the sink was not secured well to the wall, half of the lights and or light bulbs were not operating. At this point my wife and I left a couple of our bags in the room, and went out to find another place to stay, which was difficult due to large sporting event in the area that weekend. We meet another couple on the way out from the fourth floor who were worse off than us with their room. We did eventually find a better place to stay, went back to the hotel Saranac around 4:30pm, and got our bags to leave. I went to the gentleman at the counter, gave the key back to him, explained this was not acceptable, water and plumbing was still not available, explained the room and hotel conditions, no where near the advertisement, and asked that he cancel my reservation and not to charge my card. He said ¿I am all set, he will cancel my reservation¿. I asked for a receipt for cancellation, he would not provide one and just said ¿you are all set¿ ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Geneva, NY
August 12, 2013
Solo Traveler
2.0
Everything was very old and dingy. The room was in poor shape with ripped carpeting and patched up holes in the wall.

I will never stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone. The "historic" downtown was squalid and felt unsafe. The hotel was in even worse shape.

Family Traveling with Teens
Anna from Fall River, MA
August 12, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
1.0
nothing horrible
i did not like a thing horrible

the place is a dump.dirty .. the walls had chipping paint,chair in room stained and filthy. the hotel from hell. never again will i stay there. hotel run down room are dirty

Family Traveling with Young Children
Monipa from Rochester, NY
August 11, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
Nothing
No parking for hotel, room was dirty, beds unmade,female underwear in drawer. 2nd room dirty,sheets and pillow was stained, bugs on walls, beer can, fixtures falling down. Staff was rude; refused to give me clean sheets and pillow.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!! It's not worth $5 to stay in this nasty, disgusting, dump of a hotel..It took me 3 hours for the manager to finally give my money back so I can check out. And my family were not the only one to check out on the same day of checking in.

Reviews of The Hotel Saranac
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Hotel Saranac
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.