Hotels in New Orleans

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.8/10
936 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Guest Rating for The Hotel Modern New Orleans in New Orleans

See Most Popular hotels in New Orleans
Based on 113 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Hotel Modern New Orleans
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.5.0
6.5
Check Rates and Availability at the The Hotel Modern New Orleans
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Arlington, VA
April 9, 2014
Couple
6.0
The location was good right on the trolley
Our linens had some stains and we only had a very small window.

The hotel was great for what i wanted. It was in a good location and the staff was nice.

Couple
Christopher from Jonesboro, AR
April 1, 2014
Couple
4.0
The air was on motion sensor. When you went to bed it shut off--how does that make sense for a customer?

This was an average stay at best. There was loud music most of the night coming from the bar easily heard from our bed. Once again, air conditioning on motion sensor, I suppose to save a buck(and the room was too expensive to cut a few pennies a room over!). We had to get up 5 or 6 times a night to get it to turn back on. Overall details not quite to where I would expect for the price range. ...read more

Couple
Brian from Baton Rouge, LA
March 11, 2014
Couple
8.0
My car was hit while in the care of the valet service. I called the hotel, and they weren't really helpful. They gave me the phone number of the valet service mg, and I've called and left a VM. A few days have gone by, and I still haven't heard anything.
Couple
Paul from Chicago, IL
February 16, 2014
Couple
8.0
Attentive, friendly, helpful staff -- they make you feel as if they really appreciate your presence! Public spaces are attractively appointed and comfortable.
For a 3 1/2 star hotel, the room should have had a desk and at least one comfortable chair.

Location excellent for CBD and the Museum district and a 10 minute walk to the Quarter.

Couple
Terrell from Olive Branch, MS
February 5, 2014
Couple
8.0
Good location, close to down town area. Easy check in and check out.
The room was VERY small. Other size rooms are available. The parking deck was 3 blocks away for self parking, but they do offer valet parking. These 2 things are not negatives to me. Just pointing them out.
Couple
William from Cincinnati, OH
January 22, 2014
Couple
9.0
Location to trolley
Not enough towels and pillows in the room
Couple
Stephanie from Austin, TX
January 16, 2014
Couple
5.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
David from Chicago, IL
January 8, 2014
Couple
3.0
The restaurant looked very nice although we were too late to eat there due to weather delay. The interior design was distinctive. Exterior was very classic. Books in the room were neat, but we didn't have time to read them.
Although the hotel had the type of amenities to earn 3.5 stars, the quality was very poor. Weird cleaning chemical odor in the room. Lots of noise from hallway and through the connecting wall. Shampoo containers were empty. Self-park was four blocks away.

The room may have been one of the last remaining due to the Sugar Bowl - if so, I wish that Hotel Modern had decided not to rent the room in the attached building, perhaps the main building was had more sound insulation and was cleaned more regularly. If you book this property ask for a room in the main building. Plan on taking a taxi or driving if you go out late - and then you may want to valet the car as it is a long walk late at night in a deserted neighborhood for self-parking. Convenient for Super Dome though, if attending an event there. ...read more

Couple
Amanda from Suwanee, GA
January 2, 2014
Couple
8.0
Liked the modern design of the hotel common spaces. Staff was very friendly! Very quiet - no disruptions during the night.
I would have liked a bit more decoration/attention to the decor in the room itself, but the room was nice. Surrounding area outside the hotel was a bit rundown, but this isn't the hotel's fault! Hopefully they will revitalize the area in the future.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Vacherie, LA
December 17, 2013
Couple
3.0
Bed small and would not upgrade because booked on Priceline. No tub and shower too narrow. No one to be found at front desk and when asked any question had to run to the back to check with someone. Parking garage has no elevator

After staying at about every 4 star hotel in the city booked through Priceline I have never been slighted because of it. I have always received the bed choice requested and I have never been charged an incidental fee up front. Front desk not knowledgable. Room very small, bed very small. Bedding dull and dingy, mold in shower, no tub, no counter space in bathroom, tampon on the floor in closet, dying cactus on window sill, no elevator in parking garage. ...read more

Reviews of The Hotel Modern New Orleans
(1 - 10 of 27 traveling as couple reviews)
See all 69 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the The Hotel Modern New Orleans
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg