The Holbrooke Hotel

The Holbrooke Hotel

The Holbrooke Hotel Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.9/10
212 West Main Street
Grass Valley, CA 94945

Hotel Guest Rating for The Holbrooke Hotel in Grass Valley

# 2 of 8 hotels in Grass Valley
Based on 24 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Holbrooke Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Holbrooke Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Holbrooke Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
David from Covina, CA
March 2, 2015
Couple
8.0
My wife and I enjoyed the historic look and feel that the hotel had. The staff was great! The hotel was also centrally located to the rest of the town. There was also plenty of parking.
My wife and I did not enjoy the shower/tub. Granted the tub was of the correct time period, but we felt like the shower curtains were attacking us. The TV in the room was also lacking. It wasn't much of a TV. The iron also needed some updating.
Solo Traveler
Alan from Oakdale, CA
February 11, 2015
Solo Traveler
6.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Austin, TX
August 27, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Charming, central location, beautiful bar - great piece of history. Had a fantastic steak in the restaurant, loved the molding and other period details. We had a beautiful balcony (Mark Twain room) and my son enjoyed the breakfast.
The desk said they could handle the heat of the room "from outside," but we ended up with a fan in the window facing the loud main street. The clawfoot tub (I hoped to soak) was rough and torn, with a rusty plastic mat. Cable TV had very limited channels.

If you want period charm and a central location in historic Grass Valley - look no further! Just don't expect a fully updated modern hotel.

Business Traveler
Gladys from Madera, CA
July 13, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
Charming and full of history
Parking a little tough for a pickup

All inclusive with in house restaurant, bar, live music and antique charm of a time long gone

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Watsonville, CA
July 12, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
You must keep in mind that this is a Historic Gold Mining Era Hotel. It's from another time and must be judged as excellent in it's age.

The night clerk took surpassingly excellent care of us as we arrived late. Service is everything. Great job.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Sausalito, CA
July 7, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0
Historical character and central location.
The presentation of the breakfast was not good. There were flies hovering over the uncovered fruit.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Yuba City, CA
April 24, 2014
Couple
7.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Ventura, CA
March 27, 2014
Couple
9.0
The live music at the bar the old building was cool
room needed one more trash can. The window could have used a period latch. Maybe update the tv as well.
Couple
Patrick from Bakersfield, CA
January 21, 2014
Couple
1.0
It was downtown walking distance to places we wanted to go
Old musty smell, dusty, TV remote did not work so than couldnt manual change channels, heating temperature set out in hallway for 3 rooms at same time! dust filled filters that blew down on bed, bathroom faucet not attached well to sink!
Couple
Marilyn from San Jose, CA
October 19, 2013
Couple
7.0
The historic ambiance
The music from the bar downstairs was too loud and went on too late.

It's a nice historic hotel and bar. The location is great for a nice walk through the downtown. The dining and service was very good. If you go to bed before 11pm ask for a room that's as far away from the music in the bar as you can get.

Reviews of The Holbrooke Hotel
(1 - 10 of 13 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Holbrooke Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.