The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel in Minneapolis

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.8/10
615 2Nd Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Hotel Guest Rating for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel in Minneapolis

# 19 of 77 hotels in Minneapolis
Based on 129 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Check Rates and Availability at the The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Elk River, MN
January 24, 2015
Couple
6.0
Polite, friendly staff. Room was clean, comfortable, spacious, well appointed, and tastefully decorated with a deft combination of nostalgic old world grandeur and modern touches. The hotel is connected directly to the Minneapolis downtown skyway
Room wasn't ready at check-in time. New room had sub-standard view compared to room that was booked. Clogged bathroom sink, broken mirror defogger, no coffee in room and coffee in lobby ran out. HBO cut in and out and was unwatchable.

Room was not available at the designated 3pm check-in time. We were on a tight schedule and needed to check in at 3pm to get ready for an event. We had to decide between trying to book another room at a different hotel or accept a different room here. We chose the later. The room we originally booked had an exterior view but the new room had an interior view of the "Atrium." Calling the dank, unlit, barren cement hole in the middle of the hotel an atrium is putting on airs, to say the least. We chose to keep the curtains closed rather than stare across the desolate blight of this "atrium" into another guest's room a scant 15' away (and, presumably, they into ours). The bathroom sink was clogged. The timer for the mirror defogger was broken. The HBO cut in and out and was unwatchable (not a big thing for us, we didn't come to watch TV... but still). There are no coffee makers in the rooms. There is coffee in lobby but when I went down to get some at 0830 there was no creamer left. I would have informed the desk but they were overwhelmed with guests checking out. Overall we enjoyed our stay but between not getting the room we booked, the minor annoyances with the maintenance of the room, and the lack of coffee -- a basic staple of any luxury or boutique hotel -- we don't think we would stay there again, especially when there are so many other comparable choices nearby. ...read more

Business Traveler
James from Idaho Falls, ID
January 15, 2015
Business Traveler
10.0
Downtown location and right off the skyway. Studio apt style rooms with a good work stationwith several plugs. Great bedding and comfortable. Great room service for a reasonable price.
No ice machines but you call for ice and they bring it to your roomfree, all four times they were there in under 5 minutes. No vending machines. They have your typical over priced candy bars and water a la carte. But short walk to skyway, there's a store.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Winnipeg, Canada
January 7, 2015
Group Traveler
8.0
staff, room and location were excellent
that we had to pay extra per night to have separate beds. ($20 extra per night)
Family Traveling with Young Children
Amy from Mankato, MN
December 28, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Everything was flawless from check in to checkout with all in between. Our daughter questsed the correct number of candy canes in a mason jar at check in and we were upgraded to a suite for our entire stay. Simply outstanding!
Business Traveler
Elizabeth from Chicago, IL
December 21, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
Cool rooms, great bathroom, cool bar with great drinks, intimate feel at the hotel
Everything was great
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from League City, TX
December 10, 2014
Business Traveler
6.0
Room was a reasonable size and well appointed
The food was terrible. I ordered a fish taco and literally spit it out. No coffee/tea in the room was very annoying. Parking was a pain or $30 a night.
Couple
Constance from Rochester, MN
December 9, 2014
Couple
10.0
Everythin
No pop machines

Excellent location, food and service.

Couple
John from Indian Rocks Beach, FL
December 3, 2014
Couple
10.0
Great room with great location to downtown.
Restaurant and bar overpriced

Expensive but if you want to be near downtown, a great location and value'

Couple
Geoffrey from Fort Mcmurray, Canada
November 2, 2014
Couple
10.0
Great fitness facility and the room was huge. I would definatly recommend .
Couple
Richard from Warr Acres, OK
October 21, 2014
Couple
9.0
Downtown. Easy parking across the street. Easy drive from highway system to the hotel. Easy to find. Big room. Big bathroom with separate tub, walk-in shower, and toilet area with door. Free coffee in the lobby. Safe with ample room for valuables.
Had to go to lobby for (free) coffee each morning. No refrigerator for your own refreshments (full of charge-able items). Had to keep curtains drawn most of the time - both windows just (guessing) 30 feet opposite taller business skyscraper's windows.

Local area seemed safe enough - no issues at all. 0.9 mile from Arch Bridge and locks. Four (4) elevators which required key-card to access all floors. Bed was not most comfortable, but few are ever as nice as your own. Nice pillows and comforter. Convenient and ample electrical outlets by bed and on desk for chargers, etc. Strong wifi signal - free if you sign up with Kimpton Karma Rewards before you stay (just authenticate with your email address - no password required or charge agreements). Room was clean and well maintained. Doormen and bellhops readily available at entrance to help with bags. Shortly after check in, their staff brought a microwave to room (without asking for one). Curtains did a good job of keeping room very dark for sleeping. Easy to use digital thermostat that also indicated room temperature (along with desired temperature) and controlled three (3) fan speeds. ...read more

Reviews of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel
(1 - 10 of 62 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Grand Hotel Minneapolis, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg