The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel

The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel in New York City

The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel

The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.7/10
135 East Houston Street
New York, NY 10002

Hotel Guest Rating for The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 39 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 3.0.0
3.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Schenecatdy, NY
January 31, 2014
Couple
3.0
The maid staff was very friendly and awesome
The front desk girl ignored me for 15 minutes when i entered to try to check in because she was on the phone. She was talking to someone about a potential modelling gig and was talking about her breast and butt size... SO UNPROFESSIONAL!

I was ignored by the front desk staff while she called friends, discussed non-work things with someone about a potential nude photoshoot and continuously put people calling in on hold so that she could finish her non-work -related phone calls first. She completely ignored me and refused to put the phone down at all in order to attend to checking me in and was talking about the most inappropriate things (her breast and butt size, gossipping about other people etc.) while she was on the phone at work. I was literally left standing there in disbelief... I have never seen ANYONE behave so unprofessionally at work before.. ...read more

Business Traveler
Sarah from San Francisco, CA
January 26, 2014
Business Traveler
8.0
The staff was very friendly and the location was fabulous! Right across the street from whole foods and the F line
My room did not get cleaned the second day there.

Rooms are small, but comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bedding is nice and so are the toiletries...no conditioner, though!

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Toronto, Canada
January 25, 2014
Business Traveler
6.0
Location was great
The room was much smaller than expected, and not what I would consider to be a 3-star hotel.

Helpful and friendly staff, average room fine for someone who isn't too picky but cares about location.

Family Traveling with Teens
Heejoon from Chapel Hill, NC
January 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
5.0
I liked staff. Because he changed better room for my familiy. First room was really bad. The room smelled bad and my family was three people but there was only one bed. Furthermore, it was really small. Fortunately, the staff changed the room.
First room was really bad. The room smelled bad and my family was three people but there was only one bed. Furthermore, it was really small. Fortunately, the staff changed the room.

The hotel's stars sholud be down.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Jamaica Plain, MA
January 5, 2014
Couple
1.0
Nothing
seedy, needs refurbishing, ingrained stains & dirt in bathroom, room in general.

Handicapped/luggage lift out of order for the full 5 days we were there; had to carry heavy suitcases up a flight to the lobby. No bellmen, small, grimy lobby.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Sterling, VA
December 23, 2013
Business Traveler
6.0
Its closer to many attractions and a decent place to stay if you are a visitor or on a 2 to 3 day business trip
This hotel is a little outadted that requires some remodeling. This hotel also is tiny and cramped. Usually its normal to get that feeling if you are living in a hotel thats in Downtown... But this hotel is not in Downtown...

You pay top dollars for location. This hotel is 4 to 5 blocks away from everything that is considered heart of New York city such as Canal Shops , Little Italy Shoho distric .. etc .. etc. Its also not located in one of the best areas. If you dont mind the walk and dont care to be exactly where the action is then this hotel is good.

Verified Hotel Guest from Sunnyvale, CA
November 11, 2013
1.0
The hotel put my wife and I in a room on the basement the has a window on the same level with the sidewalk, on top of that the our room was on East Houston street. So, all night we didn't sleep because cars, buses, and pedestrains were passing our windows
Front desk told us that because I paid through a third party, Priceline, so this what I'd get for that price, he assumed that I paid less than the hotel list price. This is not a good practice. As a priceline frequent user, I was very disappointed.

The worst hotel we ever stay in my entire life. Stay away if you are thinking of booking in this hotel. It doesn't deserve 3 star rating. I would give it 1 star. If you book through Priceline, beware that the hotel will put you in a room on the basement, they call floor number 700's. All the room on this basement was window that right on the sidewalk, you will hear people walking, cars, buses, all kind of noise. All rooms are very small. One working small elevator that is loud. The hotel highest floor is on the 6th floor. There is no place in the lobby that you can sit or wait. No printer or fax for guests to use.Stay away, We checked and moved to Holiday Inn Express on 29th street. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Berkeley, CA
October 31, 2013
Couple
9.0
Well thought out storage under bed and desk.
We had a room over the street, which was very noisy, although we slept surprisingly well.

For visiting our daughter, who lives on the Lower East Side, the location was excellent. Near public transportation, Yonah Schimmel knishes, a movie theater, and Katz's. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and convenient. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the street.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Pittsburgh, PA
October 21, 2013
Couple
9.0
What a bargain! Convenient location, clean, attractive room, we had a lovely park view and the staff were all friendly & helpful.
If you need a huge room, big bed and lots of closet space this hotel is not for you.

I'd definitely stay there again. Quick walk to subways and wonderful restaurants and shops. Every staff member was friendly and our minor television trouble was fixed immediately.

Couple
Bruce from State College, PA
October 13, 2013
Couple
10.0
The staff was fantastic. Our room was very clean and larger than expected for NYC. I can't say enough about the staff. They were exceptional.
Reviews of The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel
(1 - 10 of 25 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Gem Hotel-Soho, An Ascend Collection Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg