Hotels in Garden City

The Garden City Hotel

The Garden City Hotel

The Garden City Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.6/10
45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Garden City Hotel in Garden City

# 1 of 5 hotels in Garden City
Based on 103 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Garden City Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Check Rates and Availability at the The Garden City Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Garden City Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Robert from Old Lyme, CT
April 5, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Kathryn from Washington, DC
March 25, 2014
Couple
2.0
The staff was great and the hotel was lovely, but we were given no heads up to the fact that there was construction going on and that there are loud events with music that go past midnight.
I didnt like the fact that one floor below where I was sleeping there was a very loud party going on past midnight. I paid a lot of money to get a good nights sleep, I did not sleep well at all.
Couple
Richard from Incline Village, NV
March 25, 2014
Couple
4.0
good location, room service was spot on time.
walls are paper thin. the renovated rooms, which the staff bragged about, were poorly lit, poorly laid out, and needed kinks worked out of them. telephone system bad also, and was only answered sporadically.

calling this a 4 star hotel is a stretch. also, when we booked the hotel(through priceline), we were not told about renovations that were going on. alot of noise all weekend.

Couple
Miron from Massapequa, NY
January 27, 2014
Couple
5.0
Large, retro-style hotel that probably hasn't been updated since its heyday in the 1970s.
Staff exhibits low morale. As such, things were overlooked. There was a used soap left in the bathroom. The remote control batteries were dead. When the room was made up, they forgot to place a trash can liner. We left a day early.

This hotel is definitely three stars. It might have been four stars when it was last updated in the 1970s, but since then the quality has clearly gone down. The wallpaper was peeling, the beds were too soft, the pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable, the staff overlooked things as mentioned above, and overall it was disappointing. In addition, the hotel didn't deliver what the booking promised: We were given two full beds instead of a king and told there was no other option as the hotel was under construction (probably untrue), and there was no complimentary bathrobe as described in the booking. That explains the low price. It's not that the experience was bad per se, just not what was promised. ...read more

Business Traveler
Donna from St. Petersburg, FL
January 1, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0
THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND THE LOBBY WAS AMAZING. THE DOOR MAN WAS WONDERFUL.
NOT REALLY.

THE FOOD WAS GOOD. I WAS ABLE TO SPEAK ON THE PHONE IN PRIVACY. THE GIFT SHOP WAS AMAZING AS WELL.

Couple
Robert from Andover, MA
December 29, 2013
Couple
2.0
location
room had spots all over carpet, the carpet was lifting at the threshold to the bathroom, the floor was not level, mattresses were old and worn and also not level, bathroom was not well lit

this was once a four star hotel, no longer. I believe it is scheduled for renovation. Priceline should bring the star level to 2 stars. There are much better options in the vicinity.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Saratoga Springs, NY
December 23, 2013
Couple
7.0
Housekeeping does a pretty good job keeping the room clean.
Asked 3 staff members pool hours and nobody had a clue, was told they would call my room to let me know but didn't so went to find the pool to find out closes way too early which is 9:00 pm. Didn't want me to take my own luggage to my room.
Business Traveler
Joseph from Ballwin, MO
December 20, 2013
Business Traveler
8.0
The lobby and restaurant are newly renovated and absolutely gorgeous. The staff was friendly and eager to please. Location great to get into NYC or around central Nassau county.
The rooms are large but dated-I know the new owners are actively renovating. LOUSY Wifi connection, and they charge for it. The maid couldn't seem to remember to leave coffee for me so I could use the in room coffee pot.

Once the "jewel of Garden City", the prior owners let things go a bit. That said, the staff is (see exception noted above) very attentive and eager to please and it's clear the new owners are moving things in the right direction. This is a great location for travelers who need to easily access NYC via train or navigate around Nassau County. The train station is right across the street. There are also many shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. At the Priceline price, it was a very good value compared to other LI properties. The rooms are a little dated, but large and clean. The day I was leaving, it appeared that they were installing new TV's in all the rooms on my floor, or maybe new furniture. As far as the WiFi, I think they need to get with the times - just put in a new system and give it away for FREE. Why would a traveler pay for internet access when they can get it for free at any number of coffee shops or other public spaces, or access it via their phone. Make it an amenity that is part of the overall property value. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from New City, NY
December 11, 2013
Solo Traveler
10.0
The staff were very pleasant. Dining experience was very nice.
Some of the furniture was worn. When I arrived front desk did mention that they will be doing updating. Clock radio was not set to correct time.

I liked this hotel very much. I was there by myself and the staff in the restaurant made me feel very comfortable. Food was very good. I highly recommend this hotel.

Couple
Matthew from Bellmore, NY
December 10, 2013
Couple
6.0
WiFi, upscale
Loud air conditioner, weird valence arrangement above the bed, sparse decoration, sparse amenities in room.

A 'cougar" hotel - getting on in years but still trying to look good. Needs some upgrade and modernizing, bathrooms old looking, rooms are sparsely decorated and the decoration that was there was strange. (Some sort of strange valence-thing above the bed, looks incomplete) Decent King-size bed, two pillows provided, should have been more. No refrigerator. Ice is not readily available on every floor. Air conditioner retrofit was annoyingly noisy, drowning out the television. No music station available free of charge on in room television. An OK place to stay if you want to experience "faux elegance" on Long Island. ...read more

Reviews of The Garden City Hotel
(1 - 10 of 77 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Garden City Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg