The Fairmont Southampton

The Fairmont Southampton in Hamilton

The Fairmont Southampton

The Fairmont Southampton Image
4 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.4/10
101 South Shore Road
Southampton SN02
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Fairmont Southampton in Hamilton

# 2 of 13 hotels in Hamilton
Based on 29 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Fairmont Southampton
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 9.5.0
9.5
Check Rates and Availability at the The Fairmont Southampton
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Fairmont Southampton

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Ocean, NJ
September 10, 2014
Couple
5.0
The restaurants on the resort were fair. They were not anything special. We ate at Jasmine and the Ocean Club. We found that the food off the resort was much better.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Martin from Atlanta, GA
September 7, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Private beach was one of the nicest I've ever seen. Beautiful room.
Having to take shuttle to beach and breakfast was a bit annoying. On-site restaurants were ridiculously expensive. Overcharged upon checkout and front-desk staff was not particularly helpful.

This was my second trip to Bermuda and the first for my wife and 3-year-old daughter. When we arrived, we were two hours before check-in time and were told simply that our room was not available yet and to come back later (with no estimate on when our room would be ready). Fortunately, we came back 45 minutes later and our room was ready. The room, a suite, was very nice but the living area/sofabed were only separated by a sliding partition with holes in it so there was no truly private space in the room (other than the bathroom), which was disappointing. We were overcharged on checkout and I was told the clerk would have to check with someone else who was in a meeting and would then e-mail me a corrected invoice. I got an invoice a few hours later but it was the same (and still incorrect). The beach was absolutely wonderful and the stay was worth it just to be able to go to that private beach. Overall, the hotel was very nice but I'm not sure I'd do it again. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from New York, NY
September 3, 2014
Couple
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from New York, NY
August 28, 2014
Group Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Teens
Diane from Ancaster, Canada
August 19, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The welcome staff was unbelievable.
I wish there was at least one, more reasonably priced option as well as more options after 10 pm

The beach was beautiful and the proximity to the other beaches was amazing. The snorkeling available right off the beach was perfect

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from East Brunswick, NJ
May 29, 2014
Couple
5.0
Shuttle and Ferry service was very convenient. Private beach was very pretty. The Jasmine Lounge had live music in the evenings. This was one of our favorite spots in the evening.
Hidden fees that were unannounced. Maid Service was poor. Food prices are extremely high.

I know many people have raved about this resort. However, my experience was not so great. Three separate times I had asked for replacement items in the room. I even went so fas as leaving a note for the maid service two days in a row and the request was ignored. We were promised a newspaper every morning and only received it 3 out of the 5 mornings. Immediately after booking I emailed the reservations department to ask for additional pillows. They confirmed via email that it was added to my reservation. When we checked in, the front desk had no notes about additional pillows. They said they would bring them up that day. The pillows never arrived. I had to remind them on the second day (for a third time) that I needed extra pillows. I was unimpressed with the service given that this was a 5 star resort. My husband and I travel a lot and have stayed in resorts and hotels all over and this experience ranks towards the bottom. I was very surprised by this. On the last day I had spoken with the manager and voiced my dissatisfaction as well as my surprise at hidden resort fees and maid service fees that were added to my bill. The manager was gracious and apologetic and credited us the extra charges that were supposed to be explained to us up front(and never were). It was a very nice gesture on her behalf but after 5 days of disappointment, it was too little too late. Unfortunately, I did not have a fantastic experience at this resort. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Briarcliff Manor, NY
April 17, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
Hotel complementary ferry to The Princess Hotel in Hamilton, which provides a convinient way to visit Hamilton; The Gold level is worth it; All rooms have good views
There is a mandatory per person per day gratuity additional to the per person resort fee one has to pay to the hotel. For a family of four there will be---per night additional cost. Food in hotel very expensive.

Most staff were friendly but encountered a few cold faces. Some staff were friendly but not quite helpful

Group Traveler
Shariah from Toronto, Canada
March 15, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
The staff were so friendly. Finding help, ask questions was never a problem. The manager John as well as the rest of the staff at front desk were informative and always asked how they could be of assistance.
No.

The location of this hotel was great. We were able to travel the whole island using the bussing system. So close to the best beaches, allowed us to explore by walking. We always felt safe! Day or night it felt like we were home in Toronto. The food at the resort was amazing. In Bermuda food is expensive no matter where you go, including the restaurants at this hotel....but the food was great. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Kailua, HI
March 15, 2014
Couple
9.0
The location was fantastic. We had the cheapest room, so the view wasn't the best, but we didn't spend much time in there anyways. Our room was very nice overall.
DON'T USE PRICELINE TO BOOK! I was charged extra fees at the hotel which made priceline more expensive. It would have been cheaper for me to book through the hotel , which advertised the same rate and included the fees. PL customer service didn't help.
Couple
Robert from Mechanicsville, VA
March 12, 2014
Couple
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Reviews of The Fairmont Southampton
(1 - 10 of 22 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Fairmont Southampton
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg