Hotels in New York City

The Empire Hotel

The Empire Hotel

The Empire Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.2/10
44 West 63Rd Street
New York, NY 10023

Hotel Guest Rating for The Empire Hotel in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 459 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Empire Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Check Rates and Availability at the The Empire Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Empire Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Kenneth from Kensington, MD
April 19, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Business Traveler
Michelle from Bridgewater, NJ
April 5, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0
Close to Lincoln Center. Close to Columbus Circle which has a first class mall with great shopping. The hotel restaurant is 5 star. Breakfast was expensive but the best I have ever tasted. Nick, who checked us in was very friendly and accommodating.
Room didn't have 2 double beds so needed to upgrade for $60 more per night. Lobby & room smelled like smoke even though hotel is smoke free. Moved to another room and upgrade fee was waived. Hotel blocked $793 on my card which will clear in 10 days??

Staff were very accommodating and gave us a late check out. We missed the late check out (long story) but were not charged for an additional day which was very nice. Food at hotel restaurant was 5 star!!

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from E. Orleans, MA
April 4, 2014
Business Traveler
4.0
Location is close to Lincoln Center and the 1,2,3 subways at w 66 street. restaurants, pharmacy, and grocery store very nearby.
Room size small but adequate for a single traveler. Bed size same. (or for honeymooners) Check In staff cordial; check-out staff much less so (perhaps because they hear more complaints?)

Most rating systems are subjective. That being said, the Empire Hotel did not meet my standards for a four-star hotel. It seemed that Priceline customers were given least preferred rooms - mine was next to the elevator shaft (noisy)with a window overlooking an air shaft. Noise carries easily from hallways and other rooms. When I asked about internet, the front desk staff first said it was free, then noted that since I was a Priceline customer, internet access was $15/day! Most of the other guests seemed to be solo, students, foreigners, and seniors - all with a budget in mind. Speaking of budgets, there is a wonderful minimart, Gracefully, with a breakfast and sandwich bar at very low prices, at the corner of W 66 : 101 West end Ave! I would stay at the Empire again, considering it a 3 star hotel. However, I suggest you consider the NYLO Hotel at Broadway and W 77. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Matteson, IL
March 30, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
Staff
The heat did not work well at all.

Enjoyed the stay and location. Will stay there again but not when cold.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Charlottetown, Canada
March 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
6.0
Location
Shabby Lobby, Door staff very casual. A bit run down in places.

We were very happy with our room which was upgraded to a mini suite. However the view was of rooms across a small courtyard. It was a little noisy at 3 am on Friday night with some party goers in the hall shouting to get into a room. Luckily it didn't last long but disrupted sleep for the night. Fabulous location!

Couple
Seymour from New York, NY
March 18, 2014
Couple
10.0
Chuck bass?

Room was small but it was well decorated! Elegant

Michael from Independence, KS
March 17, 2014
6.0
Location was great.
Room was way too small. Bathroom was size of a closet.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Antwerp, Belgium
March 11, 2014
Couple
7.0
location
No free WiFi Room: expensive WiFi Lobby: free WiFi not working Coffee machine in room charged $3 per drink!
Solo Traveler
Courtney from Utica, NY
February 7, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from New Lenox, IL
February 2, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0
Very close to public transportation
Room was SO SMALL and the bathroom you could barely close the door while you were inside it was so small
Reviews of The Empire Hotel
(1 - 10 of 202 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Empire Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg