The Driskill

The Driskill in Austin

The Driskill

The Driskill Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.9/10
604 Brazos Street
Austin, TX 78701

Hotel Guest Rating for The Driskill in Austin

# 5 of 191 hotels in Austin
Based on 101 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Driskill
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.5.0
9.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Check Rates and Availability at the The Driskill
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Driskill

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Phoenix, AZ
August 29, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The Driskill is authentic. Gorgeous, historical and luxurious.
Restaurant under construction.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Dallas, TX
August 28, 2014
Business Traveler
6.0
It's an old hotel so it has great character and decor.
THE SMELL. It's not unpleasant, it just smells old. Like your grandmother's house that was built in the '40's smell. It's just weird.
Couple
Gail from Austin, TX
August 26, 2014
Couple
9.0
The public spaces - entry, restaurant/bar and spacious lobby are an elegant tribute to the early 20th Century with its beautiful dark paneling, stained glass and marble floors. And the hotel is well located for enjoying a night in downtown Austin.
The staff did not seem to be communicating well with each other. Our room was not ready when we checked in, so we stored our luggage with the bellman. It took several calls over the next hour, after getting access to our room,to get the luggage delivered
Family Traveling with Young Children
Patty from Lewisville, TX
August 26, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
The age and beauty of The Driskill
No pool

Wifi was tricky to connect but once we figured it out it was great.

Senior Travelers
Ron from Irving, TX
July 23, 2014
Senior Travelers
9.0
Location, food & beverages
No coffee maker in room

Stayed here many times

Couple
Mark from Gresham, OR
July 4, 2014
Couple
10.0
Historical relevance, beautiful design and architecture, great food, lovely room and restaurants
No

One should take the time to actually walk through the hotel, read the historical notes to understand how much The Driskill contributed to the Nations history. It's always a delight to find something previously missed. The elegance of the surroundings, close proximity to anything you would want to get to in Austin. Extremely professional staff and wonderful restaurants!

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Lawrence, KS
July 2, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
Great character! For as old as the Driskill is it has been very well maintained through the years. It's a beautiful hotel. Very close to shops, bars and restaurants. If I am ever in Austin again I will be staying there again!
The elevators are kinda old and scary but I also have a huge fear of elevators so I might be being bias :-)
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Spring, TX
June 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
9.0
The location was excellent for my trip. The bed linens were soft and comfortable too. I also liked the fan in the bedroom.
It's was hard to find the elevators.

Great character and history with this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Nancy from Raleigh, NC
June 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
Location, elegance, friendly staff
No gym. $38/day parking fee was also a bit steep (with no other options)
Group Traveler
Eva from Houston, TX
June 18, 2014
Group Traveler
6.0
The room was beautiful. The lobby was beautiful. All, in all a very nice hotel with alot of history.
Our view was of a brick wall. Basically, we had no view. Parking is $38 per day - that's alot of money when you're already paying alot for a room that you're not even allowed to stay in for 24 hours. Will not be returning!
Reviews of The Driskill
(1 - 10 of 41 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Driskill
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg