The Drake Hotel

The Drake Hotel in Chicago

The Drake Hotel

The Drake Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.6/10
140 East Walton Place
Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Guest Rating for The Drake Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 383 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Drake Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Check Rates and Availability at the The Drake Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Drake Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Palos Verdes Estates, CA
June 5, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
great location. classic old grand hotel in Michigan avenue area
Hotel is tired and needs to be updated. Bathrooms are old and need modernizing. Staff is ok but not especially helpful or responsive to your needs. I tried to get my shoes shined but the phone kept ringing and no one ever picked it up

Common areas of the hotel are dimly lit. There is a lack of natural light in the common areas and the decorations are old (probably these were done about 40 years ago and haven't been updated since).

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Jeromesville, OH
May 22, 2014
Couple
7.0
Its a Chicago icon.
I was misinformed at the front desk about parking which resulted in extra fees (which the Drake did not offer to refund). Furthermore the front desk did not know how to work the parking card they issued me when they "validated" my parking ticket.

It's expensive. I paid $17 for 2 eggs (over easy) for breakfast in the cafe. Not sure how they justify that.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from New York, NY
May 17, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from North Nyrtle Beach, SC
May 2, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
Absolutely beautiful, historic hotel. Very upscale. Great location at the top of the Magnificent Mile. Staff are attentive and extremely courteous.
Nothing

Furnishings in the room and public spaces are gorgeous. Many great shops in the hotel and a fabulous LaVazza Coffee Shop!

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Flandreau, SD
April 29, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
The feel as soon as you walk in the door
No

The decor is very nice! The rooms aren't as nice as the hotel itself but still very nice!

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Colorado Springs, CO
April 27, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
No question one of the best hotels in Chicago.
Nope

Great price in the the top location in Chicago.

Solo Traveler
Andrew from Louisville, KY
April 12, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Edward from Hammond, IN
April 12, 2014
Couple
10.0
Old world charm & character.
No

Some public spaces not open for guests.

Group Traveler
Sarah from Plainfield, IN
April 1, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
Great location near Hancock building and WaterTower Place; excellent staff. Wonderful historical hotel.
Because of the historical layout very easy to hear noise from other rooms. However, nothing excessive or raucous.

Lovely experience.

Couple
Brandy from Chicago, IL
February 13, 2014
Couple
10.0
When I check in the hotel I ask for a late check out around 8:30 the next morning a man open my room door and said he was sorry so I laid back down so around 10:45 a woman did the same think so I put the chain on the door so 11:00 another man try to open
the door. when I check out I told the young lady at the desk but the only thing she could tell me was I prepaid for the room and that she could not give me my money back I told her I understand but if I ask for a late check out why did three different

people try to come in to my romm she told me she did not know and that they have a list for all the late check out.

Reviews of The Drake Hotel
(11 - 20 of 111 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Drake Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg