The Donatello

The Donatello in San Francisco

The Donatello

The Donatello Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.9/10
501 Post Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Guest Rating for The Donatello in San Francisco

# 10 of 363 hotels in San Francisco
Based on 41 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Donatello
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Hotel Dining
user rating 9.6.0
9.6
Check Rates and Availability at the The Donatello
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Donatello

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Mt. Shasta, CA
August 4, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
everyone was very helpful and friendly. the hotel was clean and orderly.
upon checking in a lady trying to sell us timeshares. didnt feel comfortable having to be in that situation.

a very nice hotel would stay again.

Family Traveling with Young Children
James from Wellesley, MA
July 31, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
6.0
The hotel is located close to Union Square and within a 20 min walk of Fisherman's Wharf. Public transportation is conveniently located to the hotel as well. The room is spacious, especially if traveling with children. The mini kitchenette was a bonus.
This is a "Club" and not a hotel per se, so some pressure to buy timeshare. Not explicitly stated upfront. Beds were made and trash removed each morning, but that's it - had to ask repeatedly for basics, e.g., toilet paper, towels, etc. No pool.

Some staff are clearly for timeshare guests and others are for "hotel" guests. Often, you ask someone for assistance and they tell you to ask someone who deals with "hotel" guests, e.g., concierge in lobby is for timeshare and concierge on 14th floor is for "hotel" guests but we had to figure this out on our own.

Family Traveling with Teens
Jan from Kaneohe, HI
July 3, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
TV stations were excellent, so were staff.
No laundry services available

Could of used a sundry store on site.

Couple
Duncan from Edmonds, WA
June 18, 2014
Couple
10.0
Nice large clean room. Good location near Union Square.
I was only there for 2 nights. We were very happy with our stay.
Business Traveler
Andrew from Scarborough, Canada
April 6, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
Location was ideal
Noise - walls and windows didn't insulate street noise Housekeeping - didn't clean my room for two days and after I called too

I was a bit disappointed especially after check in which was a routine of get your information for "time share" like club All kinds of club this and club that which turned out to be free coffee on top floor if it was open. My room wasn't cleaned for two days and I was there on work so left hotel at 5am and came back at 10pm or 11pm - plenty of time to clean room. I called down and a man came with towels and shampoo but sheets weren't changed. I thought after my call to front desk a manager would deal with situation and I'd go for dinner and come back to a clean room however I was advised that I was checking out tomorrow so towels and shampoo should do the trick. A shame as location and rest of features were good and I had booked 35 hotel room nights. Maybe this feedback will help ...read more

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Phoenix, AZ
March 24, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
The staff was very friendly at the front desk and the bellhop was really helpful.
The cleaning crew did come into our room while we were still in it several times. I don't know if they knocked first and we didnt hear it or she just came in.

Fairly easy to find and pretty close to everything I needed to walk to in San Francisco. Easy to book. Easy to pay for. Absolutely no hassle whatsoever from the front desk.

Business Traveler
Yi from Scarborough, Canada
December 7, 2013
Business Traveler
Room is good
No self parking, offer is not good from price.

Hotel is good, but service is not what I need....dirty street and looks not safe and quit.

Couple
Gregory from Hazelwood, MO
November 7, 2013
Couple
9.0
The staff was very friendly and the room was nice size.
The street noise was very loud in the room.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Sebastian, FL
October 17, 2013
Couple
8.0
the room was decorated beautifully, was new and clean
the bathrooms were horrendous - complete disconnect from the rest of the room. Rusty door hinges, toilet from turn of the 20th century, missing and moldy grout, cracked sink and tub that would not drain. XXX/night is a joke for this quality of bathroom.

hotel has a great location and great staff. public areas were beautiful and clean, room with the exception of the bathroom was beautiful and clean. bathroom even seemed overall clean, just in serious need of repair.

Group Traveler
Arthur from Sacramento, CA
May 15, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
The staff was super helpful and very professional. I am definitely interested in going back again.
Reviews of The Donatello
(1 - 10 of 17 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Donatello
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg