The Citizen Hotel

The Citizen Hotel

The Citizen Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.6/10
926 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Citizen Hotel in Sacramento

# 3 of 80 hotels in Sacramento
Based on 201 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Citizen Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Check Rates and Availability at the The Citizen Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Citizen Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Stefan from Pismo Beach, CA
April 14, 2015
Couple
10.0
Entry and lobby is beautiful. Room was small (the room size was reflected in the room prize though) but the room was nice and clean with everything one may need in the room.
No

This is a old office bldg. converted to a hotel. Very classy with beautiful entry and lobby. Rooms are nice decorated and equipped with all the latest technology. We really enjoyed staying here. We chose this hotel over other well known chains nearby and we were not disappointed.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Sacramento, CA
March 30, 2015
Couple
7.0
We were in town for a concert, and arrived back at our hotel at 11 p.m. Restaurant was closed, room service ends, the closest restaurants become nightclubs, so we were not able to simply order food and drinks (just sodas).

We also had no access to our car because valet stops at 11 p.m. The restaurant was closing and my fiancé asked if he could just purchase a pitcher of coke to take upstairs and they said no, just a glass. I think there does need to be more options. We have stayed here several times in the past few months, but now see it's best to be there for business or a scheduled event. For a night when we finally got to be out late, it was disappointing to have no options. Also, there is a charge for wifi, and the valet parking is almost $10 more than the 4 star hotel down the street. We loved this boutique hotel for so long but now think we would choose the one down the way that has a pool, 24hr room service, spacious rooms, and free wifi instead. Staff here is friendly, and the free newspaper is appreciated. ...read more

Business Traveler
Jaimie from Atlanta, GA
February 27, 2015
Business Traveler
9.0
Great location, excellent restaurant, and nice accommodations.
Charged for Internet.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Peter from Woodland, CA
February 11, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The location is perfect, fantastic coffee shop on the same block. The service was outstanding! From the bellmen to the Valet guys: awesome!

I went to the hotel 2 weeks in advance and they let me scope out some different room floor plans and views to pick the perfect room. I got just the room I wanted. Their view of the city are incredible!!! There is so much history in this area, you can easily get the sense of it all from a comfortable room in this historic building. The building was designed by California's first state architect, George Sellon and opened in 1926 as and office building. Don't miss an opportunity to stay at this hotel!!! ...read more

Couple
Elizabeth from Houston, TX
January 21, 2015
Couple
9.0
Love the Citizen! It was clean, has very unique decor, and the staff was excellent. We loves our time here and if you have time make sure you eat in the resturant- The Grange- it was excellent!
my only complaint was that towells were fluffy- other than that- it was great!!
Couple
Scott from Poulsbo, WA
January 14, 2015
Couple
10.0
nice comfortable room. Awsome staff. good location.
nothing
Couple
Travis from Salt Lake City, UT
January 5, 2015
Couple
10.0
Staff was extremely accommodating. The bar and restaurant were fantastic. The overall vibe and decor were more enjoyable than any hotel I have previously stayed. Makes me want to stay there again.
The heat in our first room quit working. They put us in an upgraded room that was much much nicer. Great staff!! Events held there were loud until well after 3 am. Just a warning (good thing I'm awake naturally that late)
Couple
Lottie from San Jose, CA
January 4, 2015
Couple
10.0
I love the period detail of the Citizen Hotel. I love the way the detail is carried throughout the entire hotel, including the Christmas tree! The hotel is really beautiful.
One of the guests put their room service tray outside the door next to us, and it stayed there for 24 hours.
Group Traveler
Cheryl from Reno, NV
December 1, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
Beautiful room, comfortable bed, great view, friendly staff, doormen cheerfully opened the door every time we went out or came in... loved it.
Nothing
Solo Traveler
Graham from Emeryville, CA
November 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
9.0
Staff was helpful and genial. The ambience is great.
Even with do not disturb sign on the door, housekeeping still knocked and tried to come in. This is probably my least favorite thing about even really fancy hotels.
Reviews of The Citizen Hotel
(1 - 10 of 21 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Citizen Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.