Hotels in Scottsdale

The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Image
5 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 9.2/10
34631 N. Tom Darlington Dr.
Carefree, AZ 85377
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort in Scottsdale

# 2 of 65 hotels in Scottsdale
Based on 77 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Overall Quality Score
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.5.0
9.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.5.0
9.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Check Rates and Availability at the The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
John from Beaufort, SC
March 29, 2014
Couple
9.0
Attentive friendly staff and beautiful grounds/setting
Main pool could use some ongoing daily maintainence to keep sunscreen and pool debris from building up in corners of the pool. It got fairly thick and disgusting as the afternoon went on. Skimmer alone could not handle the job on a busy day.

Very quiet resort setting more suited to adult golfers/tennis players rather than families with children needing to be entertained.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Bexley, OH
March 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Service-oriented - staff goes out of their way to make things perfect.
Solo Traveler
Joseph from Prescott, AZ
December 6, 2013
Solo Traveler
10.0
Unique and beautiful property. Professtional, courteous staff. exceptioal food service.
I dislike "resort fees" added to bill. Why not just offer a room rate inclusive of these add on bogus charges?

Charming southwestern flavored property with fine restaurants staffed with trained chefs, beautiful golf course, professtional and courteous staff, all worthy of five star rating.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Muhammad from Albuquerque, NM
December 3, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The no gratuity policy with resort fee makes it excellent. The setting, maintenance and cleanliness is outstanding.
Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Lake Havasu City, AZ
November 12, 2013
Senior Travelers
9.0
Location and scenery¿¿. Staff professionalism was refreshing. Food was tasty! In room coffee maker is keurig which was great to use. Two bottles of water and paper daily delivery. Fireplace burns real wood! Wonderful !
Parking was v awkward. Cannot access car without bellhop help. I went shopping and it was difficult to sort what should stay in the car and what gets transported to the golf cart to take to the room. I believe the parking issue was serious enough for me.

The Boulder takes you to a time when grand resort pampered the guests. It tries to carry on that tradition and I appreciate that. However times have changed and efficiency is valued over languid relaxation. I don't know if the parking problem can be resolved. This place is for people who desire the latter style of holiday. Greatly appreciated and enjoyed a quiet relaxation at the Boulders. All the best to the staff at The Boulders. ...read more

Verified Hotel Guest from Huntington Woods, MI
November 10, 2013
8.0
It has beautiful grounds but i was just looking for an overnight. plus they close all restaurants at 9pm. So the whole property goes to sleep early. Would be a nice place if i were a golfer with a lot of time on my hands. Was my fault to book for my purpo
It was just not ideal for my overnight stay. The room is a 6 minute golf cart ride away from the lobby, which is a to minute drive to the property front gate, I arrived after dusk and left before morning so couldn't take advantage of the property.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Paradise Valley, AZ
October 18, 2013
Couple
6.0
The location and the beauty of the desert.
We did not like that when we went in for our "80" minute spa treatments at the sign in desk we had to sign our bill and the gratuity was already added on before we were even given the service! Was not even worth xxx. for the massage! Wish I coul

This was our second time at this resort-we live in the area. No complaints the first time but this last visit wasn't as nice. My husband's dinner in the restaurant was inedible, the manager asked him how it was (as it was a new menu) he told him how tough the duck was and that it was too spicy. The manager offered another dish which my husband declined but the manager also still charged him for the uneaten meal. The Spa was offensive in making you pay for your service and the gratuity when you sign in and then telling you if you want to give more in the way of the gratuity just stop by the desk and she can change it!! That was a big turn off and even if I wanted to give more I would not of just because of that!!! The 80 minute massages my husband and I had were both the worst we had ever had and certainly were not worth the xxx. each we paid for them. In fact my husband complained his masseuse kept his neck at extension without putting a towel underneath until he mentioned it and she spent most of the time arranging the sheets like she was afraid something was going to be exposed. I have had better massages at day spas at strip malls in the valley! Then when we checked out we were here on a special with a $50. a day credit--which of course was not subtracted off our bill when we checked out. My husband caught it and the girls excuse was she was "new". I would think that would be on our folio. There happened to be someone else with the same last name as ours but spelled slightly different and their home address is on our receipt so I am assuming my home address is on their receipt and I really don't appreciate that. So obviously lack of attention to detail here. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Glendale, AZ
October 2, 2013
Couple
9.0
Romantic and secluded just like the reviews stated. It was a beautiful setting.
I did not like the $30 per day fee for tips and services. The grounds are huge and the golf cart valet service is a necessity and should not be an extra daily charge.

We would definitely stay here again. Our room and view were tremendous. The staff was above exceptional. The grounds were breathtaking and we are Arizona natives! This is not a kid-friendly setting. This resort is best suited for couples, business executives, or golf enthusiasts.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Montrose, CA
September 12, 2013
Couple
9.0
The grounds were lovely. It was a great place to relax. The room had a fridge, so that made it easy to keep snacks on hand.
The fixtures in the bathroom were dated, but overall they had done a nice job of making it a great room.

Went here for a relaxing few days away and really enjoyed ourselves. The $30 resort fee was high, but it included gratuities for things like parking and luggage transportation, so it was kind of ok. Also, be aware that there is an additional almost $5 per day for tax that is added on the resort fee, so it ends up being more like $35.

Couple
Glenda from Conroe, TX
September 8, 2013
Couple
10.0
Loved the fitness classes and the spa. Also loved not having to drive The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Reviews of The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
(1 - 10 of 41 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg