The Athenaeum

The Athenaeum

The Athenaeum Image
5 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.1/10
116 Piccadilly
London W1J 7BJ

Hotel Guest Rating for The Athenaeum in London

# 19 of 1706 hotels in London
Based on 18 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Athenaeum
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Check Rates and Availability at the The Athenaeum
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Athenaeum

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Peter from Warwick, United Kingdom
April 29, 2016
7.0
Great value on a secret deal
The breakfast would have been hugely expensive, but I avoided it.
Business Traveler
Patrick from Zurich, Switzerland
December 4, 2015
Business Traveler
8.0
the room was very quiet
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Cambridge, MA
March 16, 2015
Couple
7.0
The staff very friendly, if a bit disorganized. The hotel is handy to Mayfair, Knightsbridge, and Piccadilly -- really a great central location.
Except for the top suites, NONE of the king rooms is actually equipped with a king-size bed, at least as an American would define it. It's closer to a queen size. This makes it an unfair comparison with "king rooms" in other hotels. Apples to oranges.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Apo, AE
January 5, 2015
Couple
8.0
The staff and location are the best attributes of the hotel.
For the amount of money spent per night, I would have expected my room to be larger. This is in comparison to other hotels, to include four stars (ex. The W Leicester Square and Como by Metropolitan). Also, the bathrooms should be renovated.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Birmingham, AL
September 11, 2013
Business Traveler
10.0
Location, Staff, All very nice
no

Great and luxurious place to stay.

Business Traveler
Emerick from Sunnyvale, CA
June 9, 2013
Business Traveler
8.0
Excellent location. Staff is excellent and attentive.
While hotel has been recent renovated, the hotel feels a slightly dated. However, this could appeal to some people who want to something less modern and chic.

All in all I would have no reservation recommending this hotel. I was okay with rate I paid on Priceline, but not sure I would have paid a lot more than that for the hotel. The location is excellent with Piccadilly Circle, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, Harrods, and Hyde Park all within walking distance (10 - 20 minutes or so). Easy access to Mayfair, the West End, and Knightsbridge. The hotel staff are attentive and you would expect in a five star hotel. When I checked in, I found I had a room facing the central core as well as a fairly small room. I went back down stairs and requested a room facing outwards since I would be there for 5 days. The manager on duty offered me two alternative rooms at a very reasonable upgrade rate and escorted me to both rooms so I could decide which one I wanted. She then came back with the key once the room was ready for me. This was pretty consistent with most of the staff. My only real complaint was the the maid servicing the room did not make sure the shampoo, body wash, etc were full each day. Rooms were nothing special, but perfectly serviceable. I wound up in a room with a partial park view which is sunny and decent size, especially for a European hotel. There is a small, but nice bar area just off the lobby. Fairly intimate with nice comfy couches. One nice touch was a fruit plate when I checked in. Also, you can expect turn down service each night. Also, WiFi is free. This can save you $100 over 5 days which is what I would expect for a 5 star hotel. Also, water and soft drinks are free from a in room fridge. I really have no significant complaints about my stay. I have stayed at nicer hotels in the same category in London, but I don't think anyone will be unhappy with the rooms. If you can get a decent price on Priceline, i think you will be happy with the hotel. ...read more

Couple
Nikhil from Bloomfield Hills, MI
January 4, 2013
Couple
6.0
Helpful check in staff Ms. Betty.
It's nota 5 star...
Couple
Greg from Smyrna, GA
February 18, 2012
Couple
10.0
Extremely warm and friendly staff. Excellent location.
Solo Traveler
Roby from Tarzana, CA
December 18, 2011
Solo Traveler
6.0
I liked it´s location.
The room size and it´s floor. I expected wooden floor in the room. Also Internet was not accessible to me, this is too bad.

Well located, and friendly staff. Small rooms with difficulty getting Internet connection.

Couple
Bryan from Houston, TX
February 24, 2011
Couple
10.0
Excellent customer service. Nice amenities (free WiFi, drinks, fruit).
Room was on the smaller side.
Reviews of The Athenaeum
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Athenaeum
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.