Hotels in Carnelian Bay

Tahoe North Shore Lodge

Tahoe North Shore Lodge

Tahoe North Shore Lodge Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.1/10
201 Carnelian Bay Drive
Carnelian Bay CA 96140

Hotel Guest Rating for Tahoe North Shore Lodge in Carnelian Bay

# 1 of 1 hotels in Carnelian Bay
Based on 9 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Tahoe North Shore Lodge
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.1.0
6.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Check Rates and Availability at the Tahoe North Shore Lodge
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Tahoe North Shore Lodge

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Jerry from Phoenix, AZ
November 22, 2013
Solo Traveler
7.0
Location, price,functional

I was looking for an inexpensive place for one night for myself. The TNSL met my requirements. It is out-of-date, but is being slowly upgraded. It is clean, full cable flat screen TV, heat and plenty of hot water. The location is good, next to a great pizza place and convenience store and Garwoods is across the street. There is road noise from the street and the walls are thin so you can hear the next room. It is a basic place to stay. The owners are onsite and a very sweet. ...read more

Senior Travelers
Suzanne from San Jose, CA
July 27, 2013
Senior Travelers
7.0
Location
Road noise

Great central location on North shore. Picnic area on Lake plus Garwoods Restaurant on the Lake directly across the street. Walk to 7-11 for snacks

Group Traveler
Lindsey from Austin, TX
July 14, 2013
Group Traveler
8.0
Small amount of rooms so not a lot of guests. Close to the bay
Having to ring on the owners door for ice. The front desk is basically in their home.
Couple
Jennifer from San Francisco, CA
February 12, 2013
Couple
5.0
Great location, right off the freeway in Carnelian Bay. Beautiful view of the lake - if you go across the street, there's a great walking path that borders the lake.
The room had a powerfully musty odor and the electric blankets were kind of gross.

You get exactly what you pay for. We wanted a cheap room where we could lay our heads between days of skiing and we got exactly that. Other reviews complained about the noise and the lack of amenities, but really - what does one expect in Tahoe for the price? It was serviceable, we were able to watch bad television on HBO, and the breakfast right up the street (less than a mile toward Kings Beach) at the Old Post Cafe was great. (Protip: Get there early; they fill up quickly!) One thing that made me squeamish were the electric blankets. How often can those really be washed? But other than that, the room and bathroom were clean and the 70s decor even somewhat quaint. And waking up to the sunrise on Lake Tahoe? Can't be beat! ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Los Altos, CA
January 29, 2013
Couple
6.0
Location is good, right across from the lake, but quite noisy on the main road. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Very loud - the walls are paper thin and we could hear traffic and other guests. Very basic rooms that are quite old, but we were told that they are going to be upgrading soon.

It is one of the less expensive options in Carnelian Bay, so we didn't expect much. The staff is friendly and it is in a good location. If you need somewhere just to sleep, it is a good and less expensive option. Would probably be very nice in the summer, given the amazing view of the lake just across the street.

Couple
Michael from Woodside, CA
January 8, 2013
Couple
7.0
The price was good and the hotel was perfectly adequate.
If the hotel isn't full it would be nice if they could leave empty rooms between guests. This would cut down on the potential noise you hear from your neighbors.

Good Value. If you have noisy neighbors, the owners/front desk will give you earplugs.

Solo Traveler
Christin from Redwood City, CA
September 25, 2012
Solo Traveler
6.0
Expected a nicer room for the price. Lodge was right next to major road so very noisy. Hotel walls also very thin-easily hear neighbors.
Solo Traveler
Anonymous from Roseville, CA
August 2, 2012
Solo Traveler
1.0
The location was convenient
The walls were paper thin, room was never cleaned during my stay, fellow guests were living there with children in cramped rooms.

Traveler beware. You can hear conversations in the room next to you and they have very old facilities. I got almost no sleep and felt quite threatened by the people in the adjoining rooms as some were living there with children in cramped quarters as a temporary home. Place was not cleaned while I was there (4 day stay).

Couple
Clara from San Anselmo, CA
June 22, 2012
Couple
8.0
The owner was very friendly and helpful.
Small shower stall.

Fine place, old but clean.

Reviews of Tahoe North Shore Lodge
(1 - 9 of 9 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Tahoe North Shore Lodge
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface



Most Popular Guest-Rated Hotels in Carnelian Bay
dg