Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel

Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel in San Diego

Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel

Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.5/10
435 6Th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel in San Diego

# 10 of 329 hotels in San Diego
Based on 459 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Teens
Anthony from Las Vegas, NV
August 10, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Teens
Mohammed from Bloomfield, CT
August 8, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
5.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Teens
Shelley from Dove Canyon, CA
May 19, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
It was clean and the location was great and the staff was very nice
no, we liked everything

The beds were comfortable, the pool area was really good.

Family Traveling with Teens
David from American Canyon, CA
December 29, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Great location, friendly staff that go the extra mile to fit your needs, and the hoel was clean.
Parking for the hotel is $40 a day, but I was able to park in areas where I was able to save money. One staff member clued me in on the "free" parking spots in front, the $15 overnight parking down the street, and when the meter maids come around

The hotel is dog friendly. They even provide a sleeping pillow and feeding bowls for your pet/pets. Social hour serves free beer and wine for guests and it allows foe you to meet other guests. Complimentary coffee is made for the early risers. Great eateries up and down the block, and close to a lot of stuff to see. You can drive approximately 10 minutes in any direction and enjoy the day. Places like Coronado, Balboa Park, USS Midway, Little Italy, and China Town are just a short drive from this hotel... ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from North Las Vegas, NV
August 11, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
5.0
Good location if looking to stay in the Gaslamp District. Friendly staff. Housekeeper left a thank you note for the tip we left on the 1st day which we thought was nice. The coffee bar & cocktail hour was a very nice extra that we appreciated.
Didn't like the bed. Huge dip on 1 side. Felt like you were on a cliff. Don't stay on 4th floor. HATED pool that doubled as a lounge. We (& other guests) couldn't use the pool with the drinking crowd in it. Caused a noise issue at night.

This hotel had some pluses & minuses. The pluses were: the location, the coffee bar & happy hour, friendly staff, nice sized rooms, pet friendly. The minuses were the bed in our room that had a huge dent in it. I felt like I was sleeping on a cliff. And the pool/lounge. The WORST part of this hotel was the pool & noise. The pool doubled as a lounge/bar & it was so crowded you couldn't get into it. My husband said it looked like an episode of MTV Spring Break with the cast of Jersey Shore. (neither a good thing) In fact the people in the pool could only stand & drink their cocktails. We referred to it as people soup - GROSS. If you saw the water the next day - it didn't inspire you to get into it when it was empty. If you get a room on the 4th floor - request a different floor. If you're on the 4th floor & close to the elevator you'll hear all the loud people coming & going from the pool/lounge who have no respect for those who wanted to rest. We asked for a quiet room when we checked in & the clerk referred to city noise but that was never the issue - a quiet room shouldn't be close the elevator that's accessing the pool/lounge/bar. The other big issue - security. We found out that anyone - meaning people who were not guests of the hotel - were able to go to the pool/lounge/bar which meant they had access to a floor with guest rooms on it. They could wander the hall & be disruptive without anyone questioning them. The rest of my family was on the right side of the elevator & they didn't hear as much noise so maybe that side would have been better but since the hotel was full we couldn't switch rooms. We ran into many people who said they wouldn't come back to this hotel due to the pool situation & noise. While the pluses would usually make me want to stay at this hotel again, the pool/lounge/bar situation has me voting no. My husband said he'd consider it if we were on a different floor. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Queen Creek, AZ
July 26, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
Excellent customer service! Rooftop pool is amazing with poolside cabanas & fire pits! Great location!
Room was smaller than expected. No fan in bathroom... had to use towels to defog mirror after showers.

Great location! The rooftop pool and fire pits are amazing! And the friendly, helpful staff will keep us coming back.

Family Traveling with Teens
Thomas from Vienna, VA
July 24, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Location was outstanding. Love the pool area!
Had to pay $40 more per room for two queens. Also valet parking really expensive at $40 per day. We had two cars so it was much more expensive night than planned.
Reviews of Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
(1 - 7 of 7 family with teens reviews)
See all 200 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg