Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel

Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel in San Diego

Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel

Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.5/10
435 6Th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel in San Diego

# 11 of 289 hotels in San Diego
Based on 382 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Landon from La Habra, CA
July 4, 2014
Couple
6.0
Doorman was awesome
We were there for a special occasion and the desk help didn't even ask the nature of our business nor could they help us with dining suggestions.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Sudbury, MA
July 4, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Room is spacious and relatively clean. Staff is courteous. Location is great, right in the san diego downtown area. Free drink 5-6 in public area. Tea/Coffee in the morning and cookie in the afternoon.
parking price is excessive at $41. No free water in the room. Fridge is full of drinks that you have to pay for. (you can remove the content and replace it later, but it's an annoyance).

For parking, suggest not using their valet parking or using the parking lot across street, instead use the lot just after the hotel on the 6th.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Diana from Saugus, CA
July 2, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The service at this hotel is absolutely phenomenal! This is the best service I have ever received at any hotel I have ever stayed in.
Everything was fabulous.

The bell service, valet service and front desk service is outstanding. The only real option for parking is to use the valet service but they are so awesome I didn't shake my head at the cost. In addition, if you have a hybrid vehicle, the valet fee is only $20 per day instead of $41 per day. The self parking lot across the street is $30 per day.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Ventura, CA
July 1, 2014
Couple
8.0
The location of this hotel is excellent. Staff was very friendly.
Construction was occurring outside our hotel window. Woke us every morning.
Group Traveler
Kris N from Walnut, CA
July 1, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
I enjoyed everything about this hotel. I am a fan of the Kimpton hotels because they are modern, family/dog friendly, and provide lots of great treats! I absolutely loved The Happy Hour! What a great touch to the ambiance!
I found that the rooms were a little too small and that it didn't provide enough towels.

Had a great experience!

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Apple Valley, CA
July 1, 2014
Couple
5.0
Parking was INSANELY expensive! $82 for the weekend and with no other options for parking! Not very awesome.
Couple
Jorge from Los Angeles, CA
June 27, 2014
Couple
7.0
Perfect location. Near most clubs and downtown area.
$41 parking?!! What? Upon entering our room, we found male bodily fluid on the table lamp stand. Guest services came, cleaned it with a wet towel and left. They didn't bother giving us a new room or offer something complimentary.

Overall, it was an ok experience. Wouldn't pay regular price to stay here. Price has to be right to stay here again.

Couple
Charles from Carlsbad, CA
June 24, 2014
Couple
10.0
The hotel itself was beautiful. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Everything was as good or better than expected.
No free wifi
Group Traveler
Jerrod from San Jose, CA
June 24, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
Location and public amentities
The bathrooms had no lock on the door

Awesome Bar and pool. Great staff, friendly, always greeting people and opening doors. Very nice experience!

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Claremont, CA
June 23, 2014
Couple
8.0
Staff was amazing
Thin walls, parking fees over $40

Perfect location for the Gaslamp district

Reviews of Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Solamar, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg