Skwachàys Lodge

Skwachàys Lodge

Skwachàys Lodge Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 9.2/10
31 West Pender
Vancouver, BC V6B 1R3

Hotel Guest Rating for Skwachàys Lodge in Vancouver

See Most Popular hotels in Vancouver
Based on 19 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Skwachàys Lodge
Overall Quality Score
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Check Rates and Availability at the Skwachàys Lodge
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Skwachàys Lodge

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Elizabeth from St Paul, MN
June 13, 2016
Couple
10.0
This hotel did not have anywhere near as many stars as we thought it should have. It's a fabulous, artsy hotel in a thriving metropolitan area of Vancouver. Every room is unique and there is a gallery attached that is full of original First Nations art!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Oroville, CA
December 15, 2015
Couple
9.0
The hotel's decoration is unique and there is an art gallery of 1st Nations' art as part of the first floor. It is a very relaxing and welcoming place that I will return to in future Vancouver visits.
The location was a rough area just outside the historic Gastown/Chinatown districts.
Couple
Janine from Richmond, Canada
April 17, 2015
Couple
9.0
It's a cultural experience
Walking in the neighbour hood at night. Stay in a group
Family Traveling with Young Children
Karen from Hudson, Canada
March 29, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Loved the ambiance of the place. And everyone was really nice there.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Lynnwood, WA
December 30, 2014
Couple
8.0
We loved how helpful the staff was, how clean the hotel was and how secure it was despite being near a not so excellent area of the city.
I would only complain about the location. But by location I mean near a not so nice area of the city. I did love how close it was to restaurants, shopping centers, stadiums, and even a liquor store!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from San Francisco, CA
December 27, 2013
Couple
10.0
The friendly and helpful staff. The location is close to some great restaurants and brunch places. In walking distance to Gasstown and Chinatown. Close to airtrain. Lots of things to do nearby.
The hotel room had a faint smell of fresh paint. It was also a little noisy Friday and Saturday night since night club half a block away. Some sketchy looking people hang out nearby since there is a clinic a block away. They didn't bother us though.

I would recommend staying here for the location and the great staff.

Couple
Alfred from San Diego, CA
September 26, 2013
Couple
The staff was really helpful and friendly. It is located near to Chinatown and Gastown, convenient for walking. However, there are no carts for hauling luggage to your room. Their security is one of the best I've experienced.
This is a minimalist hotel. There are no frills,no furnishings in the lobby, and is part of a museum/gallery. I did expect more, but it served our purpose.

Convenient to public transportation. Has a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. If you do not need anything but the basics, this hotel will serve you well.

Couple
Melissa from San Antonio, TX
September 3, 2013
Couple
9.0
The hotel was in a pretty centralized location. It was adjacent to Chinatown and walking distance to the Gastown district and Canada Place.
Did not experience any issues.

It is a fairly small hotel, which was nice. It was overall relatively quiet. The room had a balcony and while it was garden view and not mountain view it was still good having an outdoor space. The location is not in the best part of Vancouver, but at no time did we feel unsafe. We picked the location because it was the closest to the venue for the concert we were attending. The room was clean, bright, and simple. I would stay there again on my next trip to Vancouver. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Kamloops, Canada
August 26, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Staff were very friendly and informative. I think because of the location and residents that also live the adjacent building they have taken appropriate steps to ensure security for guests.
The neighbourhood is on the fringe of the Downtown Eastside which in terms of its proximity to Chinatown, Gastown and the rest of Downtown is great. Having said that because it is so close to the Eastside their are more undesirable people living there.

If you are looking for an affordable, clean, and safe building that is close to amenities this would be a good location. The neighbourhood is to be desired because of the street people. I didn't feel uncomfortable at all but my husband did. The lack of an entrance into the hotel from the parking garage means that you are walking into the alley with your luggage which didn't present an issue for us but there were street people in the alley. We brought our young daughter and it was fine. The room we had had stairs so you will want to check if that presents an issue. We liked being close to Chinatown and the Friday night market. The room was clean although the beds were quite soft and we prefer a firmer mattress. Also it was very quiet...no street noise or hotel noise. Make sure you contact them after your booking to make a parking reservation as they only have 7 stalls. I definitely appreciated that my money was going to a non-profit organization that supports the neighbourhood aboriginal street people and provides them with a space to embrace their culture and art and live. ...read more

Senior Travelers
Jimmie from Seattle, WA
August 1, 2013
Senior Travelers
10.0
I must mention Rodrigo Pessoa the young man who served as our desk clerk and guide. He was efficient, courteous, and extremely helpful in orienting us to the area and its amenities. With his guidance we felt very comfortable and enjoyed our stay.
There was nothing to dislike.

The hotel is located in a transitional area wedged between the gate to Chinatown and the edge of Gastown. It is centrally located with easy access to public transportation. And if you like to walk, there is much to explore. Our room was clean, the beds very comfortable. Guests I noticed represented a broad cross-section of ages and countries. The gallery of aboriginal artwork is beautiful. Works are reasonably price. I would stay again and again on visits to Vancouver, B.C. ...read more

Reviews of Skwachàys Lodge
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Skwachàys Lodge
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.