Hotels in San Diego

The Declan Suites San Diego

The Declan Suites San Diego

The Declan Suites San Diego Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.5/10
701 A Street
San Diego, CA 92101
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Declan Suites San Diego in San Diego

See Most Popular hotels in San Diego
Based on 303 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Declan Suites San Diego
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Check Rates and Availability at the The Declan Suites San Diego
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Declan Suites San Diego

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Group Traveler
William from Lakota, IA
February 20, 2014
Group Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Tempe, AZ
January 6, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Elmer from Panorama City, CA
August 22, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
Great room.Small suites
25 dollars a day for parking.unnecessary.Bar was closed.
Group Traveler
Nicole from Yorba Linda, CA
July 31, 2013
Group Traveler
6.0
The location was great, easy and fast walk to restaurants. The Lobby was really pretty, valet parking was really easy. The bathroom was nice and clean.
The bedrooms don't match the upscale lobby. The living room part of the room seemed old and outdated, The lamp shade was broken, one of the drawers was broken, the ice bucket was disgusting with food in it.fixable things, seemed like they didn't care.

It was a pretty nice hotel, way over priced for the quality of room. LIttle things in the room were broken and not cleaned. The staff was great and the lobby was beautiful. The valet parking was easy. The location was great, walking distance to restaurants and the mall and other attractions. Easy to get to off of the freeway. No noise from the airport or downtown action. Overall, very nice and I would stay there again, when it's not so expensive. ...read more

Group Traveler
Lesley from Victorville, CA
July 30, 2013
Group Traveler
8.0
The room was great with a view of the water through the city. We loved having a separate living room space.
The pool area is more of what we'd expect at a one star hotel. It is indoor and small but definitely needs updating. The pool towels are more like work towels/rags. Definitely not what's expected at a Sheraton. They could also spruce up area with plants!

Overall, our experience was pretty good. Downfalls... $29 parking fee, refrigerator in room didn't work so they had to bring another one to sit on floor. Small Pool area needs much updating with plants/decor and larger/nicer pool towels. Good points... Living room space, large interior, overall quite nice view, close proximity to Seaport Village and other areas.

Group Traveler
Robert from Las Vegas, NV
July 25, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
The rooms are comfortable and spacious.
The parking fee is too expenisve ($29/day) and the swimming pool is too small for doing laps.
Group Traveler
Marisol from Redlands, CA
June 25, 2013
Group Traveler
8.0
I liked how nice it was from the interior to the room that I received and all the fact that they allow pets in the room.
It was difficult to get to the area where we needed to park which was on the 11th floor, we had to go up a long winding way to get up there, it was inconvenient. I also didn't like the fact that they charged us $26 to park per hotel night stay.

I think this was a very nice, elegant, upscale hotel. It has great views and sure is a nice upgrade if you're used to staying at the cheaper hotels. I did not like the way the parking is and the price you pay for it. I feel that for the expensive, per-night price that one pays to stay at this hotel, they should at least include free parking. I also did not like the fact that there was no free continental breakfast. Come on, the cheap hotels have free breakfast, free parking, and a fridge in the room, and this upscale hotel, had none of them ! You must pay for these things. I feel it's a bit ridiculous, they've already taken your money for the XXX+ night stay there, can't they throw in some free breakfast at the very least? Overall, if you have money, feel free to come here and spend it all on a $14 dollar breakfast that you can get delivered to your room and $26 dollar parking every night fee. To be honest, if it wasn't for the priceline deal I received (and was still kind of ripped off for since I ended up paying 100+ anyway when they threw in the $26 parking fee) then I would not be staying here. I would not stay here again, I would rather stay at a nice, cheaper hotel with FREE parking and FREE continental breakfast. Breakfast is one of my favorite meals, don't mess with it !!! :) ...read more

Group Traveler
Kelly from Lindale, TX
June 24, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
The central location to attractions
Having to pay for parking.
Group Traveler
Kathleen from Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2013
Group Traveler
10.0
Great location, beautiful room, great price
The $28 parking fee was an unpleasant surprise. Hotel customers should be able to get parking validated. Same for expensive WiFi fee.

Although it is advertised as having a restaurant, it is an upscale one and probably not appropriate for families. However the hotel is within easy walking distance of plenty of options so it turned pit to be just fine. Also unhappy about the high fee for WiFi. Did not use.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from La Palma, CA
April 12, 2013
Group Traveler
10.0
The hotel is very nice, rooms are very spacious.
Parking is a surprise because not knowing the hotel, you have no idea of the parking costs.
Reviews of The Declan Suites San Diego
(1 - 10 of 13 group traveler reviews)
See all 184 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the The Declan Suites San Diego
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg