The Declan Suites San Diego

The Declan Suites San Diego in San Diego

The Declan Suites San Diego

The Declan Suites San Diego Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.3/10
701 A Street
San Diego, CA 92101
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for The Declan Suites San Diego in San Diego

See Most Popular hotels in San Diego
Based on 386 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Declan Suites San Diego
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Check Rates and Availability at the The Declan Suites San Diego
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Declan Suites San Diego

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Yiling from Taipei, Taiwan
July 11, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
the room is clean and big enough for us.
parking fee is too expensive.

very comfortable.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Rick from Las Vegas, NV
July 7, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
The rooms have a cool set up with the two seperate rooms. Privacy doors are on the room with seperate entry doors into the bathroom.
This hotel's entrance leads into a room with an elevator. You must take the elevator to the 7th floor where their lobby is located. Then you must take another set of elevators for your room. In the morning and during checkout, there were long lines.

When we visited at the end of June, the hotel was going through renovations. The pool and workout room were closed, the restaraunt area was getting new carpet and the internet area was out in the open. Without seeing these areas at all, I cannot comment if they will be worth it once renovated. (one would assume they would be better). The rooms were neat in their set up. The TVs are outdated and so is some of the furnishings. But it was clean and everything was functional. The bathroom had a seperate shower and tub. The shower was small, so bigger people may have a claustrophobic experience. The tub doesn't have a curtain, so if you take a bath, certain family members still can't use the bathroom. Overall, the room worked for what we needed as we had 2 adults and 2 kids. However, the kids had no area to hang out after coming back to the hotel (pool, workout room, outside area). Maybe when renovations are completed, I would recommend for those with kids. The manager Boyd did accomodate us with free parking ($35 a night valet/$29 for self park) and a free breakfast for our inconveinance with the no pool/workout area. Thanks Boyd, but I will not be back. :( ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Erika from Calexico, CA
July 7, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
The location.
It is over priced, NOT a suite just a regular room, pool was not in service. I had the staff comp my parking fees because they weren't offering what they originally stated on their hotel amenities.

Their parking is over priced $29. The bathrooms are outdated.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Neha from Des Plaines, IL
July 4, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
3.0
The view from the room was fantastic because we were upgraded to a premium king suite.
The area where the hotel is is a little shady. The staff was rude. When I asked for some cream and sugar at room service, I had to call 3 times and still did not get what I wanted. I was so mad but the staff did not respond.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Jed from Sierra Vista, AZ
June 21, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Close to Gas lamp district and Petco park
The elevator system was weird and parking was $35 a night ; Ouch
Family Traveling with Young Children
Toni from Rancho Santa Margari, CA
June 17, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
The suites and the layout. The view was amazing. The staff was very accomodating
The check in was strange. On the 12th floor. It wouldn't have been so bad, but there was just a wall as you walked in the front doors. And some elevators to the right. No signage as to where to go to check in.

When I walked out of my room I could hear a baby crying in the next room, but I could not hear the baby cry while I was in my room. This is a huge plus! The beds and bedding was very comfortable. I am picky about clean sheets in hotels and they smelled very clean and fresh. Not stale or old.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Laguna Niguel, CA
June 3, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
That it was all suites
Everything...poor service, rooms need updating, wifi for only 1 person, parking ver expensive, pool/ hot tub not operational and no warning before we came.

I ran the 1/2 marathon and needed extra time in the room to rest and get ready since I had a later flight but hotel was not easy to work with. It was very hard to entertain kids with no pool or hot tub.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Erin from Henderson, NV
April 27, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
Location.
The hotel was under construction. Everything was very old and unkempt. The carpets were dirty, bathrooms were falling apart. The service was inconsistent.

We had two rooms. One room had a soap dish, the other didn't. One room had three trash cans, the other had one. In one room we were never stocked with wash cloths or coffee. The beds were uncomfortable. There sheets were rough and scratchy.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Pleasanton, CA
April 26, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Loved the fact that there was a suite and we could put kids to bed at night and chill.
We used the glasses in the room and expected that they would be cleaned when the room was made up the next day but they weren't. Called and asked for a spoon and were told we would be charged $3 if it was brought to the room.

The price was good but I think it was due to the renovation going on during our stay. It was an alright hotel I wouldn't get excited about it and maybe try somewhere else next time. It maybe nice when all the renovation is complete. The fact that the glasses were not washed and a $3 charge for a spoon put me off a little.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Krissie from Camarillo, CA
March 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
Location
The hotel rooms are dated and not well-maintained. I reserved two rooms. In one there was mildew on the ceiling of the bathroom and in the second, the tv didn't work. Most people I worked with there were helpful EXEPT for the person checking me in.
Reviews of The Declan Suites San Diego
(1 - 10 of 46 family with young children reviews)
See all 200 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the The Declan Suites San Diego
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg